We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Fees?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I asked why they charge resort fees and was told it was a KOA thing, probably because we have a swimming pool. They have a lot of bumble bees. The bees would bore holes in the logs of the cabin and hand rails. It was easy to see 15 to 20 bees on the porch. I have been staying here for the past 10 years, never saw anything like that. There was a lot of paving going on, drove into a hole one night. Don't drink the water. The spigot beside our cabin always had rust or mud in it The plumbing was less than desirable, hot and cold mixed up, loose toilets and sinks. I like Cherokee but I'll be staying somewhere else next time. Our stay was from 4/8 to 4/12/13

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prospecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 3/29-4/6. We arrived on Friday the 29th and everything was fine. Everything was open when we arrived on Friday evening. Saturday was the same but on Sunday it seemed like they forgot they had guests. From Sunday through Friday the store closed early couldn't get Ice or wood as everything was locked up at 5:00 p.m. The bathrooms were a mess. It rained quite a bit and the drives were flooded. On Thursday we went to the store at around noon and there were 2 people working and 7 customers in line. Both employees were on the phone not helping the guests in line. One of the clerks commented " it looks like we're not going to get a break today". If they new what they were doing it wouldn't be a problem. I would definitely not recommend this campground to ANYONE!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Campground is older but so fun. You can tube on the river, fish, watch the movies on a huge screen or play on the jumping pillow. You can rent a golf cart or all kinds of bikes. Indoor and outdoor pool. Bands in season. A great little grill. It is in a dry county so bring any adult beverages you will want with you. People of all ages stay at this campground. Nice shady spots. Bath houses are old and not great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family came from south Florida, Ohio, and Asheville, NC to rent 5 deluxe cabins over the Thanksgiving holidays this year. Our ages range from 11 to 83, and everyone had a great time. The campground was quiet (being off-season AND not located off a major road, like most KOAs), but there were plenty of entertainment options: indoor pool, hot tub, jumping pillow, recumbent bikes, game room, and the rocky river which ran beside all of our cabins. Plus, downtown Cherokee is close by and offers lots of other entertainment options. KOA employees were very kind and professional, the cabins were cozy and clean (with linens and kitchen supplies included), the grounds well-kept, and the Thanksgiving pot-luck, which is a tradition there, was perfect. Our KOA host provided the staples (turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, rolls, drinks) and paper goods. Campers were asked to bring a side dish or dessert. Our 16-member family (the daschund stayed in her crate in a cabin) had a delicious sit-down meal with virtually no prep time and no clean-up time. This KOA is now our go-to Thanksgiving reunion destination. A tradition has begun.

Room Tip: Call to request a cabin on the river. There's not a baqd one. Check out the campground map for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in a one-room kabin overlooking the river. Watching and listening to the rushing water was very relaxing. The leaves were also falling, which made it even more pleasant. I did have some neighbors who chose to play their music continuously while I was there. It was great music (60's & 70's), but annoying and loud enough to intrude on my tranquility. I found it even more annoying to see that the only time I saw them in or around their kabin, was when they returned to refill their wine glasses. Apparantly, they spent most of their time at an adjacent camping area. Another camper asked me if the music bothered me, and when I said yes, she replied that she was going to the office to complain; which is why I didn't. This is a very large campground with enough bathroom and shower facilities to accommodate the crowd; they are cleaned several times each day. The campground sits on the Cherokee reservation, and in addition to the ususal state tax for accommodations (I think NC is extremely high), there is also a tribal tax. The campground was difficult to find at first (their signage needs improvement), and is far off the beaten path. Entrance to Smoky Mtn NP is just outside of Cherokee. If you are only going to the park or Maggie Valley, then it would be very convenient to stay here. I wasn't impressed with Cherokee. When traveling in this area again, I probably would not stay at this KOA, simply because of it's location. It's not convenient, at least in my eyes, to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Cades Cove, etc. I stayed here because I got a free nite through a Hot Deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just took our first camping trip with the kids and I don't think we could have picked a better place. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Kamping Kabin which has no kitchen, bathroom or running water inside but has electric and is cable ready. It was exactly what I expected. We wanted the full camping experience...no bath...no kitchen. The cabin was perfect for our family. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were for the most part always clean and we never had a lack of hot water. Our first two nights the campground was pretty quiet and the last night it was packed. We did eat at the grill a few times and the food was fast and yummy. We never used the indoor or outdoor pool but they looked nice enough. The scenery is beautiful and there is plenty to do on site. Can't wait to head back during warmer weather and enjoy the river and some tubing. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We loved this KOA! It was very clean and quiet. The store had an excellent selection as well as some very well priced souvenirs.

It is definitely a kid friendly campground and we appreciated the fun activities: flashlight candy hunt, tie dye (free if you bring your own shirt) and movies under the stars. As well as the amenities: game room, pools, splash playground, waterslide, mini golf, bike rentals, bounce cushion, and activities program.

The roads are blacktop so kids can (and did) ride scooters & bikes. Moms, please bring light up jewelry of some sort for riding after dark- we had a couple of near misses with kids who were not visible. There are fun bikes you can rent if you bring sneakers.

I loved that there was an air pump near the ice & firewood! The wood was 3 for $11.

There are two laundry rooms. We used one adjacent to the playground. It had a couple of machines for kids to play, a big folding table, change machine and detergent machine. Washes were $1 and dryers were $1 for 45 minutes. It was easy to wash everything while my husband packed up our tents and gear.

My favorite sites for families with independent kids:

T152 tent with no hook ups, under 3 trees, 2 tables, 2 fire pits, visibility to the bouncer, giant chess set, mini golf & bathrooms. Plenty of room for parents' tent and kids pop tent with room to play on the grass. Downside: adjacent to the fenced in dog playground.

115 Standard site with shade near the bathrooms, chess game, bouncer and mini golf.
Downside: very small site with neighbors on 3 sides.

324 standard site adjacent to the playground with visibility to the bathroom.

Ks310 Studio lodge with air conditioning & grill that has visibility to the bathroom & playground.

While there we ate at the Sunflower Cafe and the food was EXCELLENT. I highly recommend them. We did not use it but I was happy to see there is a drop in child care center near the casino for parents who want a date night.




  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy_AGraham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
4.4 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
2.6 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
238 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
3.6 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Panther Creek Resort
Panther Creek Resort
#11 of 13 in Cherokee
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Address: 92 Koa Campground Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6451
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a location! The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA is bordered on one side by the serene Raven Fork River and on the other side by three tribal trout ponds. It lies just across the road from Great Smoky Mountains National Park and one mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. From almost anywhere on the KOA's grounds, take in 360-degree mountain views. The resort campground offers camping cabins, cottages and Deluxe cabins, large RV and tent sites. This KOA is ideal for the biggest group gatherings with year-round indoor and seasonal outdoor pools and hot tubs, food service,an outdoor movie-cinema, a Jumping Pillow and adventure mini golf. Campers enjoy the shuttle to area attractions and events too numerous to count. Check online for special events, theme weekends and seasonal activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherokee / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing