We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tight,tight,tight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tight,tight,tight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Tight is not the word for the machines. And the drawings that they have out ther all seem to go to GA people, 90% of the people are from NC but the drawings always go to GA mainly and then to SC or TN very, very few go to NC people. I just wish that they had some compitation. I win better in Atlantic City, Tunica, Vegas or Biloxi, but Cherokee is just and hour away. And if your a Diamond member is does matter even at the entrance that say Diamond others go throught there also. Cherokee doesn't care. I gret lot better treatment in other places and can always get a comp in other places but you have to go weeks before you can get one at Cherokee even with the offer they send you. We have been going to Cherokee for 12 1/2 years and each year they get tighter and tighter. I't no fun to go any more

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 7Nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,844
    3,110
    1,158
    382
    335
See reviews for
2,980
5,348
1,282
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
conway sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

I love going to Cherokee and playing the slots. Live 6 hours away and the coupons they send to me as a diamond player is a joke $30 which is a insult considering the amount of money and play time that I do. I have played like 36- 42 without going to bed many times. Now the slots will not even allow you to keep playing much less give you a jackpot. I will say that the rooms are nice and with the money and play time that I do I get a comp room and never have to pay for food, which is great because the slots just eat up my money. The new extended casino is very nice and comfortable chairs for playing slots. They should appreciate the diamond players and treat us better with better coupons to make the 6 hour drive along with gas worth our time. I could go much more often with a little help from promotions for better cash coupons for play. Machines are very tight so the comp room and food are really not free at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank carolinagirlConwaySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The slots are way to tight. The valet way to high. The beer to high. The new machines are nice but if you can not win even just enough just to play a little it get old. you do not have enough help. A lot of the machines would not take bills. We really like coming but it getting old not winning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redjeep62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

They are currently under construction on the hotel/casino so the building is a little chaotic in some places. We parked in the parking deck and had some difficulty finding suitable handicapped parking. I assume this will be rectified once all the construction is done.

When we went inside the desk for the players club was immediately in front of us. The line for the players club was a breeze and we didn't have to wait long. The codes and system for comps they use is bizzare and difficult to understand.

The hotel looks very nice and the casino floor reminds me of the Hard Rock in Biloxi a little. I'm looking forward to going back to see what it looks like once its completed.

The casino has been redesigned completely and they have added alot of new machines. They still do not have any actual cards so all the games and tables have video card decks only. I liked the variety of machines they had although I would certainly have to complain about the fact that we played alot and didn't seem to hit as much as I have at other casinos. I would like to see them loosen the machines up a bit although I'm sure its harder to pay for new buildings that way.

We had lunch at the "cafe" next to the market buffet and it was AWFUL. They only offer quick foods like pizza, hot dogs, sandwiches and hamburgers. The bread on the sandwiches was spongy and crumbled. Not good.

For dinner we ate at the "Creek" restaurant upstairs near the hotel entrance. I got a few dollars off this with mystery comps but still came out at about twenty dollars per person. It was a buffet style dinner and everything I had was very good including salmon, prime rib and desserts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulletproofsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

It is a no brainer that they have tightened their machines to help pay for the $685 million upgrades. I have been twice in the past two months and the same thing...little play time for lots of money lost. I never go into a casino expecting to win big...or really win at all. But at Harrah's Cherokee you really don't get much play time for your buck. I mean bankroll only last a fraction of what it lasts at all the other casinos I have played at nation wide. I love the new look and expansion of the casino floor. Tons of new slots. I played several games with winning not ONE credit. I mean not one. I have never seen 20's and 100's go so fast. It is awful! I have never been to a casino where I overheard so many people talk about how terrible their payouts are. You may have a beautiful casino, but if nobody is winning, are you going to have repeat customers. I have been loyal to Cherokee, but after this last visit, it will be a very long time before I return, or if I ever return. Payouts are much better in Tunica, Atlantic City or even Biloxi. If you are a real gambler, take your business to another casino where they drinks are free, they have real dealers and you have a better chance of winning just a little something.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scdude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

I Recently took a trip to Cherokee and could not get a room. I have stayed and played with no problems at many other Harrahs resorts and never had trouble getting a room even if it wasn't comped. THe machines take nothing under a five dollar bill and a great deal of them wouldn't work. Please don't expect to win because you will be disappointed.Thank goodness there is a lot of other things to do and see because you can't afford to play in this casino for a long period of time. I would really like to know who regulates this casino. The staff was alright but they need lessons on how to treat their patrons. My husband and I ate at the buffett at around 3:30 in the afternoon however, the buffett was empty and the staff behind the bar were very rude. Our server kept telling us how sorry he was and while he tried to help it did very little good. I also became quite sick after eating. I would recommend going down the street to eat. Both my husband and myself are undecided as to whether we will return or not and unless they get better we will more then likely return to Las Vegas where they know how to treat their guests even the gold cards.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank farafrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Just returned from a "girls" trip to Cherokee. We go to Cherokee several times a year and have always enjoyed the Selu Restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner. We went down for dinner this time and found it closed, but replaced with a buffet restaurant. The buffet charge was $18, with additional charges for ribs and steak of $6. The food on the buffet was very good but what normal woman eats $18 worth of food on a buffet? We were told they are converting to a Paula Deen Restaurant and the one we ate in was temporary, until December. I'm sure a Paula Deen Restaurant will be good but they have taken away the best thing Cherokee had to offer!! At least you could get a very good meal at a reasonable price, after losing all your money in the casino! I've never seen the machines so tight. Very few winners!! The hotel staff and rooms continue to be wonderful but please bring back the Selu!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.2 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Property: Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing