We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrah's Cherokee cheats you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 16, 2005

I went to Harrah's Cherokee last weekend. What a terrible experience! I think they have a scheme to purposefully cheat the customer out of money. For instance: the slot machines stay set at the previous gambler's bet; if he was betting four dollars per spin, it will remain that way until manually changed. Of course no one bothered to inform us of that. Also the slots are marked .25, .50, $1, etc but the minimum amount of money the machine will accept is $5.00!! When I asked an employee about this, she didn't even know about the $5.00 minimum. Twice a poker machine read that I had won $2 on a hand, but it only credited $1. The only time I won, I won $22 in coins and the coin counter at the cashier's cage only read $21 so that was all I received. Biloxi, please hurry up and rebuild!!!

22  Thank CamilleMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16,575)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,530 - 16,536 of 16,580 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2005

We stayed at Harrahs in early March for my husbands birthday. The room was great: large size, very clean and had a huge bathroom. We had a few meals at the steak resturant and snack bar on site and were pleased with both, especially the snack bar pizza. the free Drinks were great. It was the first casino trip for either so I dont have much experience with payout and what not but we both broke even and could play video poker all night on $20 but there were 2 or 3 $1,000 + winners while we were there. Free valet for hotel guests was also great. Only downside is there isnt a lot to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank monkie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2005

We were given a comp room only because someone else had used my card the last time we were there and she lost a lot of money. The room was lovey but I would never have paid 209.00 dollars for it. The staff is very friendly but having just moved to NC from Ct we are used tor eal Indian Casinos ie. real payoutts, real comps and edible food. We enjoyed the mountains and local trout fishing but as far as gambling It is more satisfying online. Example I won a 25.00 jackpot and everyone around me was cherring lol

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank mrsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

I just returned from Harrah's hotel and loved it. It's the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. I can't say much for the casino since I'm not much of a gambler. I went with my mom who goes about once or twice a month. The room was huge and the bathroom enormous. The tub had a jacuzzi and more than two people could fit in it. The beds were wonderful. Everyone was so friendly. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lisadental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

I could have stayed at home alone and done this, the whole thing is computer games, at least online you can play with someone else! They advertise "Live Dealer BlackJack", yeah, right. The only thing the dealer does is rake in your chips, the game is still computerized. It's nothing more than an arcade! It was a total waste of time, the biggest vacation let-down I have ever had, I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy! (And no, this is not a sore loser lashing out, I didn't even play I was so disgusted!) On the up-side, you do get free soft drinks and free parking shuttle.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank galndixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2005

I cant speak about the hotel , i went to the casino on a bus trip. The bus company was great BUT dont take a bus trip here you will be a prisoner for 6 hours or however long the group is there . There is nothing else to do within walking distance .Almost everything is video slots and video poker only a few vegas style slots .I cant find a word to describe how pitiful the slot payouts are at this place between the pay schedules and how tight they are OMG. Harrahs should considwe taking their name off of this one . If this place was in vegas it would be outta bussiness . I will fly back to vegas next time to a REAL casino.

Stayed: June 2005
39  Thank Hedo2dreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fitzgerald, Georgia
120
Reviewed April 12, 2005

My husband and I love to play the slots. We are not rich and can only afford to once or twice a year. When the Harrahs in Cherokee first opened we each won $500 once in two years or so. But now we never win We are planning a trip to the area, for other reasons the end of this Apris. I even e-mailed them to see why we had not been receiving any offers and they replied that after 6 months they are not allowed to make those offers. Funny we still get offers from other casinos that we have been too over a year ago. You would think that with gas being so high that they would make more offers to get people to go there. Like others we have been sent offers for a free room and I have called the same day that it arrived and there were no rooms available - ANYWHERE. We will most likely play this month as we will be in the area and we do enjoy the excitement, but come on. Where are the comps, the offers, we very seldom get enough to even get one meal or a few bucks off. There are many other places not any further that we can go too - Tampa, Tunica, New Orleans. I think it is because they have the corner on the market up there and don't have to think about what the customer would like.

Stayed: April 2004
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $105 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing