We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2005

The hotel room we stayed in was one of the nicest Harrah's Hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The room was very spacious and clean. Most hotel rooms are small and crowded, but this room was 3ft bigger in every direction, which made the room feel very spacious. The furnature was beautiful and comfortable. The indoor pool was big, clean, and well maintained. On this trip, we traveled with our two children (7 and 9). The arcade was clean and unlike most arcades, all of the machines were working!!! The staff in the arcade was excellent!! They talked with the kids and made sure all of the games were working. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The casino had older machines that could use an upgrade. Alot of the machines did not have working sound, which gave the impression that people were not winning, but I don't believe that is the case. I saw multiple $1,000 winners and I played for over 6 hours and more or less broke even. Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel and casino, but don't expect your machine to make much noise, but if your patient, it will quietly pay off.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank IDrinkBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17,102 - 17,108 of 17,145 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
fort lauderdale, fla
19
Reviewed March 21, 2005

just want everyone to know----i have been to vegas msand atlantic cityand by far this is the freindlest casino i have ever been in-- everyone and i mean everyone fromr the security to the drink girls to change people has something nice to say and say good luck-----av fll

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Blairsville
112
Reviewed March 14, 2005

well we go there a pretty good bit, but now the 50 cent machines that used to hit they have got them as tight as the others. it is about 80 miles up there from Blairsville , they really need to loosing the machine up some or at least let you play on the machine for a while b4 you feed them more money . Do they ever read the emails or just other people,
they took in 91 percent last year so younds do the math. that is what a man at N C told us....

Stayed: January 2005
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
221
Reviewed February 12, 2005

Got a free complimentary room. Great room with ironing board, large TV, and refrigirator. Was supposed to have a view, but the only view I saw was of the casino and it's parking lot. Overall It was a great hotel, but I would never stay there if I had to pay for it with so many cheaper hotels right next door.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, Fl
116
Reviewed January 3, 2005

I have been to NC's casino many times and have never really won anything. I realize that you expect to lose money but I find it totally impossible to put 300.00 in a machine and only hit for 50 cents to 10.00 (once in awhile). My husband and I travel quite a bit and love to go to the casino's. At Harrah's if you can get a room it is for only 1 night (even though you will be there 4 days) the food has a lot to be disired in all the eatery's and ALL the machines are so tight it isn't funny. If this happened on 1 occassion I would say bad luck but gee after 5 times I call it a rip off. I will stop there if I am passing through but I will never plan to spend 4 days where you can't even get a room for the entire stay. If you don't need my money then I sure don't need your casino.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
west columbia sc
124
Reviewed November 15, 2004

We have been going to Harrah's since they opened. We used to have good luck there. We used to be diamond players,,,but the machines are so tight now,,,,can't win anything. Used to win and put the money back,,but had fun doing it. Now you can go through 100.00 in a matter of a few minutes. Just can't hardly win 10.00 dollars.
Get free offers for hotel, but never any rooms available. I used to visit Cherokee almost every weekend as I live only 3hrs away. Now it is more like 5 or 6 times a year.
They send coupons for cash back,,,but it is never more than 5.00 or 10.00 dollars. They used to give cash back on the spot,,,but said the people wanted the change.
The worst casino I have ever been in and I have been to Vegas many times,,Biloxi, Tunica and Atlantic City. Save your money and go somewhere else. I wish everyone would do this and then maybe Harrah's would loosen the machines a little like they were when they first opened.

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
sumter, sc
13
Reviewed October 3, 2004

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $100 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing