We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not winning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I enjoy going to Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel, however the last few times we have had to stay in another hotel. The winning is not there anymore and that is really bad. I don't want to have to drive to Tunica, but it looks like if I want to win anything that is where I will have to go. If we can't win at one place, we will have to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrrmnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18,136 - 18,142 of 18,276 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

The Good- Food at buffet was excellent/ Self serve soft drinks/Casino atmosphere was typical/Smoke free casino area.
The Bad- Location of casino not optimum/Construction/Ride buses from lot/
congested traffic/winding curvy two lane road was a bit much to casino.
The Ugly- No alcohol/ Smoke/ No table games per say/ slots were the tightest I have ever seen anywhere/Never had a feeling that I could win here no matter how much I spent. In all fairness, some issues such as alcohol are being addressed by the tribe. The location can not be fixed. It is what it is, a diversion from every day life. Enjoy the Great Smoky Mountain views though. Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Excellent service and friendly staff--enjoyed our stay as always. Ongoing construction work is a minor inconvenience. Love the area and had a good time in the casino win or lose. The stools at many of the machines have exceeded their normal lifespan and need to be replaced and we noticed quite a few machines with varying degrees of problems with the video screens/pushbuttons/etc. Our only true disappointment this trip was the quality of the food at the Freshmarket buffet. We were there on a Sunday night and the Mexican buffet was pretty poor--overcooked in many cases and dried out in others. Certainly not like past experiences at the restaurant. More attention needs to be paid to minor issues like that to avoid souring what is normally a very enjoyable visit.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Grit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I just spent two nights at the hotel. The room was very well appointed and the staff was great. We found that ordering room service was cheaper and better than going to the buffet. The casino was not paying very well, but we play slots and they usually don't. We both had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

**Not our first time there, but they always treat us wonderfully!! The check-in staff was friendly and professional. They told us about the bill being passed to allow alcohol soon, and apologized for the construction, but told us of all the wonderful things to come.
**The creek just outside is beautiful and fun to watch others fishing in it.
**The room was AMAZING. We ordered room service - the price was excellent and the food was hot & very good.
**As for the smoking (comments made by others listed here), have these people ever been to ANY casino??!?Thats how it is at any casino, and they do an excellent job filtering it.
** We already miss the pampering we received while there, and we are not "high rollers", just average joes!!
** Only two suggestions...more MONOPOLY slots and I wish they had the electronic roulette like in Vegas..
Thanks for allowing us to escape from reality, Harrah's!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffman1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Just spent 2 nights in Cherokee North Carolina.
Hotel was excellent as well as staff.
Since letting some of casino staff go, service there
has gone lacking, had to wait for over an hour to
get someone to get money out of machine.They do
need to have adequate staff working. Lost a lot
of my time playing. Agree some of the machines are
getting old but love to play on them anyway, all in all
my stay was wonderful and will return. As opposed to
other comments there were more winners this time than
in most of my other trips. Nice to hear that too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pestycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Two years ago, my husband and I moved from N.Y. State to Hendersonville, N.C. Many times we had visited Atlantic City, Foxwoods and Vegas. You can imagine our shock when we discovered that their was no achohol or bar shows what so ever. The smoking was terrible with very "poor" ventilation. I've received offers for a free room in their hotel but have not taken them up on their offer because with no entertainment or being able to enjoy a drink, their is no incentive for us to want to stay for over three hours. Also, three of our friends that have relocated here with their husbands have the same opinion. Do away with the smoking and have achohol and their would be a great incentive to stay over.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Peggy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $104 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing