We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loosing it's appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loosing it's appeal”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I usually visit the hotel and casino a few times a year on my way to Pigeon Forge. I don't gamble much but love the area. This visit was using a comp. room my sister had and we stayed in the Soco Tower. The rooms are always nice but they are starting to loose their appeal. The older rooms need sprucing up. They did have signs in the hallway stating they were remodeling. I did like the fact they had warning signs posted about a scam that was apparently going on or happened there. Tried the casino and of course the machines are not forgiving at all. Love the look of the hotel overall and all that they can offer. Food is too overpriced but you are in Cherokee and there is not many good places to eat there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGfromCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,578
    3,745
    1,364
    475
    391
See reviews for
3,723
6,403
1,524
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinez
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Harrahs Cherokee is a gem in the NC mountains. Being a gambler, I heard about the live gaming last fall. I have been to the resort about 6 times since that time. They have a great venue for concerts and are puling in some great acts. I have seen Little Big Town, Darius Rucker, Shinedown, and Blake Shelton in the last few months. I have always been a Las Vegas traveler but with this location only a 3 hour drive, it only makes sense to come here!! The rooms are very large and the new tower (Creek) is very modern. The rooms have a refrigerator which is very nice. I always eat good when I am here. Paula Deens for lunch and you can NOT go eat at Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the evening. The casino is huge and expanding all the time. The only draw back to the casino is the smoke. I wish they could control that. The staff on the tables are incredible calling you by name and making you feel special. If you haven't been here, its a must go

Room Tip: Creek Tower is newest.. Very modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed there and have been back to go to the casino and restaurants. The rooms are clean and nice. The restaurants are the best in Cherokee. It is a large complex and confusing to get around. It's location is hard to get to as Cherokee does not have easy access. I would consider going elsewhere If you are bringing kids . It is not very kid friendly. For example, the food court is in the Casino and children are not allowed in the Casino this where Johnny Rockets Dunkin Donuts and pizza Uno are located

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband received a comp. room offer in the mail so we took advantage of it and stayed for one night in the Creek Tower. We weren't sure what to expect for a free room but we were very pleasantly surprised at our room. It was on the 10th floor and had a king bed, a seating area with a couch that was a sleeper sofa, a small fridge and bathroom. It was extremely clean and well maintained. The bed was amazing, soft, comfy and roomy. The shower in the bathroom was the best shower EVER!! I wanted to bring it home with me. We did not have a tub, but it was not missed. The shower was roomy, well light and had incredible water pressure. It sounds silly to get all excited over a shower but, seriously, it was that good. We never heard any hall noise while we were in our room. The sound-proofing in the room was great.
Check-in was easy and quick and finding our way around the hotel was easy. The common areas of the hotel were tastefully decorated in more of a mountain/nature theme as opposed to Vegas/Neon that you would expect in a casino. It was very pleasant.
We ate at the Chef's stage buffet for dinner and it was good. A typical buffet, not that that's a bad thing, there was something for everyone. I thought the Key Lime Pie was outstanding. For breakfast, we ate at Paula Deen's kitchen. There is a buffet that my husband enjoyed and I ordered pancakes which were huge!! The Chef's stage buffet was a little on the pricey side but the breakfast was reasonable. Make sure to sign up for their "Total Rewards" card, you earn points by playing and you also get discounts in the restaurants and shops. Well worth the 5 minutes it takes to sign up.
I thought the casino was fun. I only play the nickel/penny slots and there was a huge selection of those. They had real, Vegas-style table games that were busy. They also had a smoke free section of the casino that really was smoke free. You could tell when you walked in that area that the air was really well circulated.
Overall, I thought this was a great hotel and will definitely return for another quick getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Harrah's Cherokee sets the bar high in terms of customer service. Everyone, from the hotel and casino staff to the restaurant personnel and custodial workers, makes a point of telling you how happy they are that you came to visit and to let them know if you need anything. Our room in the Creek Tower was immaculate and had a wonderful view of the mountains. The air conditioner, television and room refrigerator worked perfectly. The bathroom amenities were very nice and a in-room safe is always appreciated. The bartenders at all the casino bars were friendly and attentive. Rebecca, Farrah and Albert provided such excellent service that I asked for their names for this review. The pool was still under construction which gave me more time in the casino. There's a great variety of slot machines and the Diamond Lounge provided an excellent variety of food. I didn't think the walk to the casino from my room was too far as mentioned in several reviews of the Cherokee. It might be an age thing. Overall, it was a wonderful 4 night stay and we loved exploring this beautiful area of North Carolina. We'll return again.

Room Tip: The Creek Towers are the most updated. All rooms are a walk from the casino but we didn't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I didn't stay at the hotel, but we did eat there and we spent about six hours gambling at different table games, video poker and slot machines. We had a good time and I felt the experience was on par with many Las Vegas casinos which I've visited many times. One difference is alcoholic drinks are only available for purchase rather than free if you are gambling. I'd definitely recommend Harrah's because it's unique to have that kind of experience right in North Carolina's mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Both the hotel and casino are huge so put on your walking shoes. The staff at the hotel couldn't be more helpful. We were waiting for check in time in the hotel lobby when a staff member came and asked if we were waiting for a room. He took our confirmation for us over to the desk and checked us in. Our room, in the Soco Tower, was much larger than a normal hotel room. We had a small table with 2 chairs and a sofa with a king sized bed with a bench at the bottom of the bed. The bathroom had all the amenities along with a jetted tub. I was also surprised to find a small fridge since I didn't remember it being in the brochure.

We had breakfast at Paula Deen's and can't wait to go back.

The only negative thing would be there were a few things on the carpet that should have been picked up by a vacuum. I was able to pick them up and put them in the trash.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. The view was of the Day's Inn across the street. I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Property: Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing