We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only restaurant worth eating at is Brio.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tequesta, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only restaurant worth eating at is Brio.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well, I could write a book on our experience at Harrah's. Check-in was fine, room was fine, however, you have to walk it seems like miles to get out of the building and to the casino. Construction has been ongoing since 2007. Restaurants are poor except for BRIO Tuscan Grille. You can always get a good meal there. We reserved 3 nights there and only stayed one night. Noise in the hallways is bad in the evening. Other guests are inconsiderate. Oh, and don't bother bringing your computer. Harrah's charges almost $13.00 for a 24 hr. internet hookup via WiFi. Oh, and bring your own water and soda. $2.00 for a 16 oz water or a can of soda in the machines. If you are lucky you may get a 4 oz. bottle of water in the poorly laid out casino. This used to be a charming fun place to go before greed set in. It was on a much smaller scale, the machines always paid well. Things are changed drastically. It's all about getting your money. There are absolutely no outdoor activities at all. Not like Atlantis which offers an immense array of activities other than casino living. Nice to go for several hours, period. Don;t stay here.

Room Tip: Stay at a hotel close by for a more reasonable experience which is near Sanook Village. More to do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovegoodfood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,862
    3,852
    1,411
    487
    405
See reviews for
3,840
6,590
1,571
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockwell, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've been coming to Cherokee for 7 years and it keeps getting better and better. Staff friendly, starting with Valet, and into the check in staff. Check in was quick, I love my comp rooms. Love staying in the new creek tower, rooms are wonderul, clean, and comfortable. Don't complain because you lost in the Casino, that's why it's called gambling. Yes I lost, that's the way it works sometimes. Can't wait for them to get the real games in soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clambert8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This its the perfect place tho stay reagardless if you gamble. In the middle of the reservation and so much in the hotel to do. The resturants are great. People are gracious and the rooms are heavenly. One draw back the pool. Way to small, temperature was not regulated, hot then cold, then hot. Sooooooo many people im one body of water makes it not clean. But stay here again. Yes.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charigarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louisville, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was very skeptical about staying here after reading all the negatives reviews. I stayed four nights which were comped ( we made this home base for our sightseeing in the area). First of all there are no bed bugs!! Our room was very nice and the staff was very friendly and always willing to help you in anyway.Our room was very spacious and clean. The housekeeping staff does needs some improvement. The first two days we did request our room being cleaned but on the third day we did. Upon returning from an outing, our bed was made ( it looked like a three year made the bed) and our dirty towels had been removed but that's all. They did not leave us any clean towels, empty the trash, and leave coffee etc. I had to make three calls to housekeeping before they responded very promptly and replaced the items. We did not eat at the buffets ( there are two) because I can't see paying 18.00- 26.00 per person to eat at a buffet. There is a food court in the casino area which has any type of food you could want. We did get room service a few mornings and it was very good and the service was excellent. There are also some nice resturants in the area. The casino is very nice and is expanding even more- as far as being tight-- the first two nights we came out ahead and the last two nights we came out pretty even. This resort is very nice and the only thing I can say that's needs improving is providing information in the rooms to tell you all there is in the hotel and where to find all the resturants. You can find this information on their TV station though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is under construction at this time. It is in a beautiful location and the hotel it's self is beautiful. It is very big so expect to do a lot of walking. My sisters are the gamblers and they enjoyed the slots but no one came back a winner. The room was large. The beds were very comfortable with good pillows. They charge you for Wi-Fi and not just one fee, there is a fee for each device you use which was like $11.95 each. You have to sign an agreement about not smoking in a non-smoking room or pay $150.00, no pets in a non-pet room or pay a fine...I felt like I was signing a contract to buy instead of staying one night. There is no free breakfast here. Those pancakes that are free elsewhere will cost you $7.00 here. The pool was small compared to everything else they had. I was disappointed becasue of the size of the pool and the amount of people using it there was no where to get in. There were six kids in the hot tub playing with snorkel gear. We ate at Paula Deens and was very disappointed. The chicken pot pie was no better then what I could buy at the local grocery store in the freezer section. I think if we ever come back to this area I will stay somewhere else and just visit the casino. Forgot to mention there was dust all over the furniture both in the rooms and in the common areas. The floors showed dust around the edges and corners also. We had a non-smoking room but there were ash trays in the hall and elevator areas. Our room didn't smell fresh either, not really smokey, but it had a funny odor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I returned to Harrah's Cherokee after a visit nine (9) months earlier. Things had changed as the construction has progressed. The Casino/Hotel grounds are just as pleasant as before. However our experiences at Paula Deans were not as good as before. Fortunately, the Buffet is now open and it is excellent. The quality of food is superior, the service was much better than one expects of a buffet, and the variety of foods offered was outstanding. The staff is very friendly and always available to help. Although we did not eat there, Ruth's Chris Restaurant is now open so your choices of where to eat have expanded.

Paula Deans is another matter. Our servers were not sufficiently familiar with the menu that during our breakfast and dinner service we were not provided with all of the food items the menu said the meal would come with. My wife's shrimp and grits tasted fine, but the presentation was not as good as our previous visit-the sauce was soupy. At breakfast, our server failed to provide the potatoes included with the dish and she did not serve butter with the biscuits. While these are not major shortcomings, they should not occur in what is suppose to be a fine dining experience. I need to revise my previous outstanding review from our previous visit of Paula Deans to say that the restaurant does not consistently provide a quality experience.

We stayed at the Creek Tower and were very impressed with the accomodations of the room. The large, digital flat screen TV was great. The shower was very large, but the rooms in the Creek Tower do not come with a Tub. That surprised me but the shower was really great so not having a bath tub wasn't an inconvenience.

If you visit Cherokee, NC, Harrah's would be a good choice for your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable. The Soco Tower rooms have bath tubs, the Creek Tower rooms have onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LV2KNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, S. C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The best accomodations are in the new Creek tower. Lots of luck getting a suite unless you're Seven Stars rated player or close too it. Many of the staff are great but some are clueless. The food is fair , the best is the Noodle bar and Ruth's Chris. I thought the buffet was terrible. Mostly warmed over food. The diamond club is cute but very basic. Needs to be more like N.J.s Ceasars. They are landscaping the place very well. The smoke in most of the Casino is appaling during peak times. The machines are definitely one arm bandits. If you find someone thats claiming to be hitting alot of jackpots, give the person a polygraph. The only game in town is supposed to be going to true strictly dealer tables in August , instead of partly electronic. Room service is good if they dont mess up your order. They are chintzy on the breakfast portions for the price. Good luck, you'll need it.

Room Tip: Be willing to lose all of your money spent. Casinos arent built on winners
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1946guitarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#22 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort

Property: Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing