We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue update & pet friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Harrah's hotel is brand new, shiny, sofisticated and is so clean, but it is still attached to the original buildings. So be sure to ask which tower you will be getting when booking. What a long overdue update. The original tower has poorly lit rooms and tired decor. The best part is they are now pet friendly, but the charge per pet is very high and you will be booked in one of the old rooms with poor views.
The new suites in the new tower are much smaller than the old ones, but have a high class look and include a bar and microwave. The linens and bedding make for a comfortable night's sleep.The staff are wonderful and very accomodating. My complaint is that there is no business center for free use of a computer, fax, printer etc. If enough people who check in complain about that, they will probably eventually add that amenity.

Room Tip: End units in the brand new tower are best . Being close to the elevators is noisy at night since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kizzdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,472 - 16,478 of 17,079 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is the first time that I have ever written a review, but I felt that this was the one time that I should!..First of all, we went for a little get away for my husband's 65th birthday celebration. We stayed in the Creek Tower and I was a little disappointed that I did not have a room that overlooked the creek, but everything else made up for it!...We arrived 2 hours early, hoping we could check in early, but waited approximately an hour...not their fault though!...during our wait, we observed staff as they waited on patrons of the hotel...EVERYONE seemed to be concientious in their work....I saw smiles when greeting patrons and their was even someone assisting to make sure that customers were helped by the next available clerk. Our room was very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. I did not hear noise from the next room and the room even had ammenities like complimentary sodas in the fridge!..All of the employees in the casino were most courteous....we even attended a little sale provided by the hotel....which were left behind items that have never been claimed...it seems that they do this as a non profit organization and the proceeds go to help families in need (housefires, etc.)...I was most impressed and will definitely be back!....my only complaint..We didn't stay longer and Lady Luck was definetly not with us at the casino!!!...oh well, can't win 'em all!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbeulah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Horrible casino, it's all video slots.
City is a meth haven with nothing to offer, huge waste of time coming here, go to Vegas, don't even bother

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Clinton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The room was very very smoky and dirty. The shower walls had mildew and the floor looked like it had not been cleaned for a wile. I went to the front desk and was told the PetStay rooms were older rooms on a smoking floor. I told them my conformation was for a non-smoking room, Their attitude was take it or find somewhere else. We left the next morning.
My wife and I haved in many Pet Friendly hotels and never found one this bad. It appeared to me that Cherokee Casino is not really Pet Friendly.

Room Tip: Don't bring a pet to Harrah's Cherokee hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We go to this casino every other month, so we have seen improvement...slowly.
The newer rooms are nice. But I have noticed that even the newer rooms are not cleaned very well. Dusty and some Moldy. Overall, I think the casino and hotel are expanding but employees are decreasing in number. Basically a hit or miss each time. You never know how you will be treated or what kind of room you will get. Varies each and every time. This time we went however, was really nice. Front desk: Friendly: check
Room: pretty clean: check. Chef's Buffet: delicious , friendly service: check
Really cool penny machines to play: check Deal or No Deal machines: check
Really had a good time, this time: CHECK!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleman_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Harrah's Cherokee. We don't like the new set-up of the Diamond Lounge. It is no longer a buffet. You have a menu to order off of and can only order 2 items. Either soup of the day (small cup), feature of the day, salad or sandwich. No vegetables except what's in the salad or sandwich. It was good, but we didn't like having the same menu all of the time, and not having very much of a selection. Also, no desserts!
We tried Paula Dean's again. We ordered off the menu. It was better than before, so they are trying.
Did not go to the new buffet---the food is very good, but they don't have any vegetables except the salad, cream potatoes and cream corn! Would like to see more vegetables there!
Can't wait for the steak house to open!
The trip itself, overall, was very good. Don't like all the walking, but love having such a big selection of slots!!
Everyone is always very courteous and helpful!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Mountain Tower are further away, but rooms are larger. Walk to casino is longer, but when o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb2011Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in the Soco Towers this trip (Creek Tower the time before). The Hotel on both occassions was very spacious and clean. The casino was under some renovation but did not seem to hinder anyone from having a good time. Be ready to do a lot of walking from the hotel to the casino. They do offer a shuttle service for those who may need it. Food at the casino was a little pricey for those who may not have any comps. It snowed while we were there and the view from our room of the mountains was beautiful. It was overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view of the mountains. Pack drinks & snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaGaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $100 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing