We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrah's is 100% Better Than Last Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I can't say enough about the improvement of this hotel since my visit in November. They have done a 180. The new check in desk is wonderful. The clerk at the desk was most accommodating as we were travelling with my partner's parents and she did her best to get us side by side rooms near the elevator. We stayed in the Mountain Tower and the room and bathroom was spotless and it has been renovated which she said all the rooms in the Mountain & Soco had now been renovated. The Creek Tower is open. It does not have bathtubs only walk in showers and for those of you non smokers, it is completely non smoking. I am a non smoker but my partner is a smoker, but I make him smoke in the lobby near the elevators. I truly believe as time goes on Paula Deen's will improve as I asked people who were there that had eaten there and all said they would go back and when the food court opens, along with the spa, it will be a great place for residents in the SE to get away to for some rest and relaxation and gambling/concerts if that is what you choose to do.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MZVikkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18,249 - 18,255 of 18,600 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

Slot machine wouldn't print my cash-out ticket to move to play in another slot machine. Hard to believe this, but I had to wait for ONE HOUR for someone to come to give me a hand-pay ticket.. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonnieDGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

On March 14, my husband and I stayed at Harrahs Hotel. We have been coming there for years. We got there about 4: 30 pm. We were put in the wrong room ,then the one that {we had reserved for 6 weeks in advanced}.We also had to pay for the luxury room that we didn't get. The first thing we did was call the front desk and let them know . They said they would let me talk to a supervisor. She told me we would have to stay in the room that we were in. There was no apology or anything.I love to play the slot machines and my husband does also ,but his favorite thing to do is use the tub with the jets in it. Since we didn't get the right room he was very disappointed because he is disabled and it seems to help him. Also what happen to all the original slot machines ???

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank honeybeeTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My wife & I along with several friends went to Harrahs Cherokee for the REO Speedwagon Concert and to do a little gambling. Our rooms were nice enough, not as posh as I expected but clean enough.They suposedly had 2 queen size beds.If so the Queen must have been extremely petite. Our "spectacular view' (brochure's words, not mine) was of what appeared to be a construction yard behind the hotel.
The concert was really good, better than I expected. However I was not allowed to take my camera because it had interchangeable lenses while other cameras many with the same telephoto capabilities as mine were allowed. They also allowed cell phines.Their main concern seemed to be mine was a "professional camera" (again their words, not mine). I didnt have the heart to tell them that most of the cameras & cell phones I saw folks carrying were capable of making close-ups & videos.
We had visited the casino a couple of times before on day trips while visiting Gatlinburg, the casino is vastly larger than on our last trip a couple of years ago. Back then seemed as if everone playing was having a good time, laughing, talking and enjoying themselves even if they were not winning much.This time seemed different,not as much laughing & smiling and very little winning on anything that I saw.
Our biggest disappointment was the Paula Deen Restaurant. We were terribly disappointed with the dinner buffet. For the price of the buffet which was relatively expensive at $19.95 per person, the food selection was sorely disappointing.Salad bar was pitiful, entrees were ok if you wanted beef, fried chicken, meat loaf of fried catfish, sides were not great and very limited selection.Everything was kept in tiny bowls.We were told it was so the food stayed fresh and hot that way but it slowed service terriby. I suspect it was to keep portion sixes down. Other buffets dont have that problem. Overall, the concert was great & lots of fun, the rest of the trip just ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiacountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel was very nice and clean, long lines to check in (diamond players you don't count and they don't care).
The casino is so tight and has gotten tigher as they have progressed on their building. I have been going for 13 years and for the past two years the machines have gotten tighter and tighers. Played for four hours and not one person asked if you would like something to drink, a machine host called for us a pepsi and thirty minutes laters no one had come. We left the casino just a little while later losing $1000.00 and the most we got was $50.00 out of it.
Statue as a dimanod members doesn't mean anything at Cherokee. They have a place for Diamond and Seven Stars to park but anyone can park there, it doesn't matter. All they want is your money,
I find Tunica, Atlantic City, Blioxi, Vegas more accomandating.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This was my first trip since the renovation started. Stayed from Wednesday - Friday. Drove up to the registration and got the car unloaded and the valet took the car - very quick - friendly and smiling. Next was check in at the beautiful reception area. Stood in line maybe 1 minute. Very quick and easy check in. We took the elevator to our Creek tower room and walked to the very end of the hall. Some reviewers complained about being so far from the evator but I liked it. It was extremely quiet. Our room was stunning and big. It compared to rooms at very modern places like W hotel. I loved the lighting, super comfy bed, gigantic flat screen, sitting area, glassed-in shower, in room coffee maker and frig. We had tons of room for two women and all our stuff. The only problem was a shower door that would not close. The walk to the casino is about 5 minutes but that was ok by me. You get some exercise before you spend hours sitting at the slots. We had $20 food coupons which we used at the buffet. Food is ok with lots of choices. It was not crowded on a mid week night at 6pm. We were in and out and back to the slots. The games were fun but I won the most playing the very old Pot O Gold poker machines. I got lucky on one of my first 25 cent bets and won $250. That carried me the rest of the trip. I love hot hot penny gem hunter and won about $100 on a penny machine in 5 minutes. The rest of the slots are fun but tight. If you like poker machines those seem to be hitting a lot. You play slower and win more. It is much bigger feeling but still needs seating improvement and better air handling. It stinks of smoke really badly. The crowd seems to be older, smokers,overweight women and men. The crowd got younger by Friday. We saw lots of drink carriers and always got free water or sodas from there or at the manned beverage stations. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Our room in Mountain Towers was very nice - and roomy. I am a BIG fan of Paula Deen, however our dinner at Paula Deen's Kitchen was disappointing. We had buffet and there were no vegetables except very hot with hot sauce turnip greens. I love turnip greens but a lot of people don't. Salad bar was low key, and other food was high in carbs - 3-4 meats and 4 pastas. Won't go there again. The hotel is so big it is hard to maneuver around from hotel room to casino and restaurants. In one word - disappointing. And to charge $10.95 a day for internet is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gapeachwinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719-9761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $125 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Cherokee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing