We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granny's Kitchen Homestyle Cooking”

Granny's Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet
Description: Country Cooking Buffet Style in Cherokee, North Carolina - Serving wholesome southern favorites the whole family will enjoy. Great Southern home cooking your whole family will enjoy — from hand-carved roast beef and fried chicken to a wide selection of vegetables and homemade desserts. We've been a favorite with the local community since we opened in 1984. And since we're family-owned and family-run, you know we stand behind our food and our experienced and friendly crew.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped in long after the lunch hour and there were still many patrons filling the tables and many cars in the parking lot. A wonderful homestyle buffet with a serious salad bar. It is an hour from home, but worth the drive.

Thank TNHillBillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Granny's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for dining at Granny's and taking the time to share your experience with others! We will make sure to share your comments with our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

911 - 915 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Restaurant is buffet only. Cost was $10.50. Standard items, carrots, mashed potatoes, corn bread (cold), Cream of broccoli soup, fish and prime rib. Fried chicken was good, nothing else was great. Had to clean used plates off our own table. Temperature of the restaurant was cold. Air was not on, just no heat. Biggest disappointment was no Amex, and not being told until it was time to pay. Hostess actually became argumentative about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank OpinionGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Granny's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for dining at Granny's. We rarely get requests for American Express, which is simply why we don't take it. We appreciate your feedback on the food and will share it with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great place for lunch, have never tried dinner, and is an all you can eat meat and three buffet. The turkey and dressing is really good. All vegetables are good as well. This is certainly the locals hangout for lunch. They are closed during the winter.

Thank Chet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Granny's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Granny's Kitchen! We will share your comments with our staff, and hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are finding it difficult to find restaurants in Cherokee, and finally wound up at Granny's Kitchen. There is only a buffet, so no other food choices. It offers beef, fried chicken, some type of ribs, baked beans, green beans, cooked apples, red boiled potatoes and cornbread. We thought the meal was just okay, but local folks seem to be more happy with it. I must add that the vegetable salad choices were very fresh, which was the best part of the meal for me. There was a tray of some sort of pudding dessert, which did not look very appealing to us. I don't think this is a place that you would return to often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Granny's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for dining at Granny's, and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sometimes I judge the quality of mom-and-pop eateries by the number of local vehicles in the parking lot, and Granny's didn't disappoint. In memory of my departed but much-loved father, I indulged in fried chicken with all the fixings. Delicious! Better than I could ever fix at home. Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Nothing fancy, but sometimes I don't want fancy. Too much to eat, of course, but my server graciously helped me package up the leftovers.

Worth a stop if you're in Cherokee. Kid-friendly, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Granny's Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with Granny's, and for taking the time to write a review and letting others know about your experience. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny's Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Granny's Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing