We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oconaluftee Indian Village

Oconaluftee Indian Village
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A guided tour of the Oconaluftee Indian Village; a replica of a 1750s Cherokee Village. See Cherokees making traditional trades using centuries old techniques. The Village Square Grounds is a place of ceremony where you will learn about traditional songs and dance, our clan system and beliefs. Inside the Village Council House you will learn of our government, family and structure. We welcome you to our home.
Canton, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Indian Village is full of history. I was such a great place to visit with our children. The Cherokee are so friendly and willing to answer any questions. They are knowledgeable about their own history, but offer a unique look into their world. It is a must if visiting the area. You get an authentic feel of what it was like to live during the birth of a "new" nation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rgcmnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    142
    50
    26
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It had been many years since we visited the village with our children. We brought our 8 year old granddaughter this time. She loved it and so did we. I learn something new every time we visit. The council talks and the dances were so interesting. Our guide was so informative and ready to answer questions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience Every Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I learn something new every time I go! I've gone with friends & family and everyone talks about how it's one of their favorite places they've visited. A must when you're in the area!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodruff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Must See!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you're traveling to or through Cherokee, NC, you really need to take the tour at the Indian Village. Guides take you around part of the village while craftsmen and women make everything from baskets to blowdarts, canoes to arrowheads. Very interesting. You then get to walk around at your own pace and experience how the Native Americans lived and survived. Don't forget to fo to the tribal dance exhibition while there! All this for a low price!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cherokee Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was on my "must see" list on our recent trip. Our tour guide spoke a little quietly and fast so I didn't catch everything she said but I didn't need to, the location itself is so awe-inspiring. You are standing there in the midst of incredible tall trees, smelling the chimney fires of the craftspeople working in late 1700's to 1800's period clothing and you are transported to that time. Some of the workers were very friendly and chatted with us, others quietly worked on their baskets or pottery. One young man very accurately demonstrated a blow gun. The lecture in the council house was very interesting, my ten year old wandered in there on her own. Definitely worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oconaluftee Indian Village also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Oconaluftee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing