We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children Enjoyed It”

Oconaluftee Indian Village
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A guided tour of the Oconaluftee Indian Village; a replica of a 1750s Cherokee Village. See Cherokees making traditional trades using centuries old techniques. The Village Square Grounds is a place of ceremony where you will learn about traditional songs and dance, our clan system and beliefs. Inside the Village Council House you will learn of our government, family and structure. We welcome you to our home.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Children Enjoyed It”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The children,boys & girls, totally had a good time. They were comfortable asking questions, and interested in the village enough to have lots of questions. They liked the making of the clay pot, the homes, blow gun, and making of the canoe. Learning about the clans and the dances kept their attention. Time spent at the village is self determined by interest.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    158
    56
    31
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“mountain village”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

this village has been here for years and years. The village is worth the price if you get a good guide. more should be involved in telling the history and the guides should take the guests into thought and slow down enough to get our point across and teach them, not hurry them through

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Indian History”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

While in Tennessee, we drove up the road a little ways into North Carolina and found the Oconaluftee Indian Village and decided to check it out. It was really cool the way of life of these Indians. The way they made canoes, their housing, their beliefs and way they survived. We had our dog and they even let us take her in with us. Great people and a great attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cincy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very informative , get your questions ready . Our tour guide took us thru to each site and gave us info, then we could ask questions. They were very patient and didn't rush us. Loved the dancing. We also got to tour around by ourselves. Don't miss it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAMAWSYLVIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Authenic!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Can see a lot without much walking. Loved seeing the Indians making crafts in their own habitat. Would have liked to see dancers in more costume, like head gear and feathers. But what we saw of dancers was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oconaluftee Indian Village also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Oconaluftee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing