We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“school trip”

Oconaluftee Indian Village
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A guided tour of the Oconaluftee Indian Village; a replica of a 1750s Cherokee Village. See Cherokees making traditional trades using centuries old techniques. The Village Square Grounds is a place of ceremony where you will learn about traditional songs and dance, our clan system and beliefs. Inside the Village Council House you will learn of our government, family and structure. We welcome you to our home.
Sapphire, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“school trip”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We did we all seemed to have learned a lot, it was very interesting to watch how they lived back then, I enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank LizR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    147
    53
    26
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is fun for children & adults. Learn how the American Indian lived before & after the settlers arrived & screwed up everything. Watch crafts such as basket weaving, bow, arrow making, working with beads, how they got their dyes from roots & trees. Watch a blow gun in action. Learn about the different types of arrows. The only thing that got me was about 200 children showed up for field trip. Wait them out. After tour you are on your own. You can go back & watch some more & ask questions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive, Limited, Maybe for Kids”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We wanted to learn something of the Indian heritage and culture. The Indian Village was expensive at $18 per adult, the dances were average, exhibits were limited and a bit staged. I'd take kids if it was cheaper, but overall wouldn't recommend .. Save your money and go to the Cherokee Indian Museum which is close by.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fergus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent the afternoon going on the tour and watching the dances. It is well done and very informative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Misleading and expensive for what you get”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

During our multiple USA trips we've seen and visited lots of Indian sites e.g. on the Western side , the Canyon tribes and even the Everglades in Florida, but the Oconaluftee Indian Village did not meet our expectations at all. There was nothing left of the " real past ". Very dissapointing was their performance of " native dances ".....It's not to be taken serious if Indians perform the
" chicken dance " or making a " polonnaise "....
When we asked one of those guys afterwards what we had to think about that, the answer was : we may not show our real lifestyle , but get some entertainment for the tourists in place ..... Funny ?...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank reyntens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oconaluftee Indian Village also viewed

Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
Cherokee, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Oconaluftee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing