We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving Weekend Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi in the Smokies
Certificate of Excellence
TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Weekend Stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This was our first camping trip to Yogi and we enjoyed it. We arrived on Saturday and stayed til Monday. There weren't too many people there so we virtually had the whole place to ourselves. Our site was right along the river. Very peaceful. Did some trout fishing which is great in the area. The bathrooms are fairly new where we stayed and really clean. They are completely enclosed and are only for one person at a time so there is plenty of privacy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
79
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here during our summer vacation trip, 5 states, in 5 weeks. Love the campground, the workcampers that helped the kids in the crafts pavillion were fantastic! The full time workers in the office were cold, rude, and terrible inefficient. Other than that we had a great time, the tubing down the river was fun. Cherokee is about 7 miles down a narrow road, so don't expect it to be next door.

Room Tip: the cabins looked ok but I think they were pretty pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickO1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We enjoy staying at Yogi's in the Smokies every year! Beth and the staff are always great and friendly! Our kids are older but we all enjoy the campground! Peaceful, quiet, relaxing. Ranger riverside cabins 102 and 103 are where we stay and love the decks overhanging the river! Always look forward to vacation every year at Yogi's!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgegirl868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Resort in Cherokee, North Carolina is a wonderful place for a family vacation. The "resort" is not luxurious by any stretch, but it blends nature and family fun in a beautiful setting. On the banks of the Ravenfork River, families can choose from 3 levels of "roughing it.". There are tents for those with a true camping spirit; RV sites for those requiring more creature comforts; and for the luxury traveler, small cabins which have kitchenettes, air conditioning and heat, and TV and cable. For the campers, the site has 2 bath houses and bathroom facilities. There is also a 24-hour laundry room for all guests. No matter how primitive you want to get, wi-fi is available throughout the resort. Prices range from about $30/night for a tent site to $140/night in peak season for a cabin.

We had traveled to the Smoky Mountains in the past and rented vacation cabins from private owners. What makes this type of accommodation different, is the community spirit that forms among the vacationing families and the on-site activities which guarantee that everyone has something to do. Jellystone provides plenty of activities such as arts and crafts, an arcade with over a dozen games, a playground, a large swimming pool, a basketball court, and family movies shown in their pavilion each evening. Twice a day, Yogi Bear takes the kids out on a hay ride. There are many children of all ages, so all of my kids were able to make friends.

In addition to staff-organized activities, the setting provides plenty of opportunities to commune with nature. Guests can go fishing and tubing on the river. From the property, you can take a 2.5 mile hike to Mingo Falls which are the tallest falls on the Appalachian Trail. It is an easy hike most of the way. Although there was some whining, even my 4 year old completed it. Each site comes with a fire ring for cooking and making the all-important s'mores every evening.

The staff at Jellystone is very friendly and it is clear that this is a well-run establishment. Reservations can be made easily online or on the phone. My family, consisting of my husband and myself and 3 kids, ages 4, 11 and 16, chose a cabin for our 5-day stay. If I had to name a down side to the resort it would be that even though we rented a cabin, we still had to bring our own linens and supplies. The cabin came with 2 rolls of toilet paper and a bottle of dishwashing soap. The cabin was clean and the staff was quite responsive in fixing a wobbly ceiling fan, but some linens, a bath mat and a couple of pot holders, would have been nice.

Below are some tips for making the most out of your stay at Jellystone:

The resort is located about 10 minutes from the center of Cherokee so you should plan on cooking most meals on-site. There are very few (about 3) restaurants in town that are not chains or fast-food.
If you are driving to the resort and have extra room in your car, you should pack a box or two of basic supplies: laundry soap, condiments, spices, sugar, coffee, maple syrup, mac n cheese, pancake mix, tin foil, cleaning wipes, shampoo, soap, etc. If you have additional room, consider bringing a cooler of cold cuts and frozen meat. There is one main grocery store in Cherokee, Food Lion. It seems to be the only one around for miles and it is probably the most expensive grocery store I have ever known. If you don't bring some of your own supplies, prepare to spend $200 plus to buy a few days' worth of basics for your stay.
The resort is located in a "dry county," i.e. you have to drive 25 miles or more to the next county for some booze. However, alcohol is permitted on the premises, so next to your box of supplies, throw in a couple of bottles of Chardonnay.
If you still have room, you may want to hitch some bicycles to your vehicle. The resort has bike rentals, but they are $10/hour. This was the only thing I thought was rather pricey.


We had a great stay at Jellystone, not because it was luxurious or had vast cultural offerings. The beauty of a place such as this one lies in its simplicity. It's about kids making instant friends and going off to play in a safe environment. It's about watching my 3 city kids get excited about fireflies. It's about sitting around campfires, breathing the mountain air, eating every meal as a family and seeing my children bond because they have to sleep in one room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Duke89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We just returned from Jellystone and had a GREAT time! The campground was clean, the staff was so friendly and the cabin we stayed in was perfect! We can't wait to go back next year! They have lots of activities for kids (our son is 10 years old and had a blast). We went tubing down the river, which was a lot of fun, swam in the pool and just relaxed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alliekat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Campground was quiet since many of the activities do not start until after Memorial Day. We did tour the entire campground though. The bigger cabins are toward the back of the campground. The campsites right on the river are the best. The cabins are directly behind them. The staff however in the front office need some customer service skills. Because the weather was rainy and cold during the night (we were in a tent), my little one (3yr) got sick. We explained and said we were going home. She advised that because we signed for 2 nights were going to be charged. (since they could have rented the site to someone else). It was only after they realized that we had only signed for 1 day not 2 and my husband noting that the campground was virtually vacant...so how were stopping anyone from staying did they agree not to charge for the 2nd night. These folks are TIGHT about refunds and not charging. BEWARE. but the campground is great for summer for little ones (mine 5yr & 3yr). Clean.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brants421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Yogi Campground labor day weekend and had a great experience. The staff were very friendly, the bathhouses were clean and nice and warm in the early hours of the morning, nice clean pool area. We didn't use the laundry room or game room, but heard they were nice as well. The kids activities were great and the staff helping was super nice.
The tent sites were somewhat small I thought, but according to other folks around us they were average. This was my first time camping in a tent in many, many years. Overall, we had no complaints. It was a great campground and will visit again.
For families with small kids this is a great place to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakehartwellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
4.5 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
6.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi in the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi in the Smokies

Property: Yogi in the Smokies
Address: 317 Galamore Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-5515 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Cherokee Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing