We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
South
1 review
“DON'T STAY HERE”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed during October. First night killed roach and spider in room. Light did not work in room; asked front desk to fix. I had to ask again the next day to have it fixed. It took 24 hours for the hotel to fix the light. Ordered room service on first night around 8pm. My 3yr old ate chicken fingers and became sick around 2 am with vomiting and diarrhea. She was sick for over four days. Our pediatric office said it was probably food poisoning and put her on a special diet and medication. The hotel management (Mat) told me that kids get sick and would not refund my meal. He would not even look into the food complaint and informed me that the hotel had a good food inspection. We had to leave early due to her sickness. The bathroom had mold covering the ceiling and the tub kept dripping. The tub had rust stains. We were not able to visit Santa’s Land due to our child becoming sick after eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoe6167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    86
    29
    31
See reviews for
94
137
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Casino gave us a free room for the weekend. It was very nice. The indoor pool was a little cool but ok. the view of the mountains was great. The hotel now offer a FREE hot breakfast with homemade biscuits, gravy, bacon, eggs,french toast, and much more. I really enjoyed the extras.Barb is great. On Saturday, we enjoyed the Prime Rib buffet for $15- you get 15% off w/ HOliday Inn card- It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Motel type room accomodation with parking facilities in front of the room. Friendly staff. Food in restaurant could be better (they try to sell you the buffet, which is not top quality).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPRubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We arrived on a Sat. at 2:30 pm. I went to the desk to check in. After a very unfriendly front desk clerk finally ask if she could help me....she checked her computer. I was told my room wasn't ready and i could go some where and come back at 4:00 as that is check in time. Not wanting to GO somewhere I ask if the 2 girls ages 10 & 11 could go to the restroom, change into bathing suits and use the pool. OK. We were given direction to the outdoor pool; as it was so hot and and I did not have sun screen with me, where is the indoor pool? I was told you have to have a key for that. She finally gave me a key with a "you have to return it to me". When I did check in at 4:00 she was off duty. Returning key was not needed,all room key cards fit the lock.
We ate dinner and breakfast there as kids eat free. The food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue&nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We were book this hotel thru the casino. We actually thought we were going to be staying at the Holiday Inn Express across the street from the casino so we were kinda disappointed when they told us we had to come here. I am not a fan of exterior door hotels at all but it was clean. The room steamed stuffy. The best thing about this hotel was you got a free full hot breakfast just for being a guest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This seems to be one of the better Motels in Cherokee. Very friendly staff, nice restaurant (though you shouldn't expect too much of the food there, but it's nice if you don't have enough time before you go and see the Indian outdoor drama). The rooms very really clean, you can't complain about a single thing here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panic_in_Detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Harrah's comped us for 2 nights. Place was ok. No towels at pool. TV's are old, no input jacks for kid's games. Beds are not real comfy. It was free so I guess it served its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvmywifecrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Property: Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing