We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The room was very comfortable and ac worked great. The only problem I had was the fact that 2 big lights were out in the parking lot. As a solo female traveler, that made me feel uncomfortable. It also have outside corridors. I prefer inside. Didnt try the breakfast. May stay again if I have a partner travelling with me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Easy check in The beds in the rooms are very comfortable !!!!!! Slept well I had left some items in the room, and called and Kim went and checked and found my stuff . Thank you KIM. She was so friendly, told me to call back and she would go and check room. The room and not been cleaned yet and she got my stuff and brought it to the front desk. The breakfast was yummy. Thank you Laurie our server for all the refills on my diet coke. She never let my glass run dry. Thank you for a Great stay. See you next month.

Room Tip: Up stairs in Building 2, facing the mountains beautiful view!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chas29644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was pleasant nice service folks but the rooms were run down and the very bright lights shown in the windows as there were no curtains but sheers in the room. There for no privacy. Also free breakfast with fake eggs just does not do it for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishFlaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The reviews terrified me....but not bad at all! The best bang for your buck! Quick getaway type of place. Breakfast was not bad....best free breakfast I have ever had at any hotel, hands down!! Staff was friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Rosalee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Chestnut Tree Inn and the staff was unfriendly, poor customer service, no manager on duty, general manager never returned my phone call, front desk manager never returned my phone call either. Rooms were very nasty, place is unsecure a well. Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this hotel ever.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotelcritic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We were comped a room by Harrah's Casino Cherokee. We were disappointed at the lack of availability for their main hotel, but had limited choice if we wanted a room that night. Despite the lateness of our arrival, the staff accommodated our needs as if it was during the day. Check in was fast despite being confirmed outside their facility.

The hotel did not localize using google maps, we had to call for additional direction. There is a visable sign, but sitting behind the hamptom inn. Being a cosmopolitan, city couple, the outside of the facility looked like a motor inn/motel. However, the rooms are standard, but clean. There was a "smokers smell" in the room, but otherwise we had no complaints for our free room.

Pros:
-able to be comp by casino, otherwise, afordable
-three miles from casino
-close to village and other tourist attractions
-standard, clean rooms
-nice staff, friendly home like feeling
-there is a free breakfast, but we woke up too late to enjoy :)

Cons:
-not localized easily w Google maps
-you can easily miss breakfast since they are done by 10am
-not walking distance to casino
-pool and other outside facilities were closed despite the great weather

Summary:
*Would I stay again? Yes, if given free.
*Would I pay for this room? Probably not
*Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, to someone w limited budget

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank poodle1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Gatlinburg for several days and decided to spend our final night in Cherokee. 441 was closed for snow, and we had to go around. Not knowing how long it would take, we were early. And exhausted. We stopped by the hotel and asked what the earliest we could check in was, and were told 4. Not a bit earlier. We went to Harrah's, had lunch and back to the hotel..right at 4. We checked in and went to the room. No heat was on. It was FREEZING. We turned the heat on and drew blankets around us. I also had to clean the television screen. The room was in need of updating. We were so tired and just wanted to rest, but it was too cold. We tried to get the heat working for FOUR hours. It was still cold. We finally decide to go to the front desk. They can't move us to another king room (that we paid for). They had doubles to offer us. My husband in 6'4" and doubles just aren't going to cut it. Finally, they agreed to refund our room and we drove all the way back to Pigeon Forge to stay. We have NEVER left a hotel like that. While I gathered our things, my husband waited for the receipt to show we were refunded. Another couple came in with a reservation for a king room and they told THEM they didn't have one for them!! How do you not have someone's room reserved? It was just a terrible experience and I would never ever book there again.

Room Tip: Don't choose one!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.2 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $83 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing