We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was "fine"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was "fine"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best part of the stay was the fact that everyone was so tolerant and kind. They were so happy and nice. The breakfast hash was the best thing on the buffet, especially with hot sauce. The whirlpool lacked luster. I was hoping for a "hot tub" effect...not there. Our bed was comfortable, thankfully.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    95
    77
    25
    28
See reviews for
86
125
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The beds are fabulous & nice to have free FULL buffet breakfast every morning. Disappointed no frig or micro in room. Pool was hard to get in, no steps leading in, was like above ground with ladder. They have a whirlpool which is a joke, the water wasn't even hot. I really mean whirlpool, a small pool that has a small whirl in it. They told us it was not allowed to have jacuzzi's or hot tubs in NC. WOW! That was was a let down. All in All it was a great place to sleep & eat! Better value than most in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGOOD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed 2 nights over Mother's day weekend. I wanted to stay in Dillsboro, but did not realize it was also graduation weekend, and since I was booking last minute, most everything in my budget was already sold out. Stayed here for around $90/night, which was a great price considering most of the places that still had vacancy were $200+.
It is a motel-style, with rooms opening to a breezeway or the parking lot, not an interior hallway. The rooms are basic, small bathroom area, no fridge or microwave, just a hair dryer and coffee maker. The room was clean, though seemed a little rough around the edges - some fraying carpet, stains on the walls/ceilings, cracked tile in bathroom, stains in the tub, scuffed furniture. They offered minimal toiletries, and needed to ask for extra towels for everyone staying in the room.
Breakfast was included in the room, but was "restaurant style" where you had to be seated by a hostess, and a waitress took your drink order. We needed a ticket to make sure the breakfast was free, but only one ticket for the entire room, which meant everyone in the room had to eat together. I prefer a continental style where you can come and go as you please - so one person can eat breakfast while someone else is showering, etc. The breakfast was enjoyed by others in my room, but not to my liking. It was a hot buffet, with scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits & gravy, french toast, pancakes, bacon, hashbrowns, etc. I had to ask for oatmeal, and there was no fruit, yogurt, etc. available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was here for one night. The staff are very friendly and breakfast was amazing. The room was clean, but the bathtub was very small. I liked that it had some Cherokee flair in the lobby area and didn't look like a typical cookie-cutter chain hotel. All over a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lovelythorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Better than many other economical choices in Cherokee this property has friendly helpful staff but can't really hide the fact that its basically an upscale Motel 6. Large but cozy lobby invokes an Indian motif with lots of paintings of bears and eagles. The rooms are strictly second rate, but if you're just looking for a place to crash between trips to the casino this place will do fine. There is a restaurant on the property (I only sampled the free breakfast buffet, which was pretty bland with tasteless sausage and undercooked hash browns) plus an indoor pool (which was full of kids, as was the hot tub). Just down the road from Harrahs and downtown Cherokee, you could do a lot worse at many unknown-name properties in the area. All room doors open to the outside so you don't have to walk past the front desk coming and going. While the front desk staff were efficient and do a fast check-in, the housekeeping staff left a lot to be desired., every day something else was missing, one day wash clothes, the other plastic drinking glasses. Leaving wet towels in the bathroom for me crosses the line so they could definitely stand some improvement in this area. I would not mind staying there again, but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Chestnut Tree in the first week in April 2013. We chose it based on ratings & the indoor pool. We were very happy. The room was nice & clean. The indoor pool was amazing. Large & very warm. My kids loved it! The free buffet breakfast every morning was out of this world! Eggs, sausage, biscuits, oatmeal...you name it! Super friendly staff. Great location. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: For families with kids, ask for a room near the indoor pool on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room was dirty and falling apart. There was so much dust on the vents that they were blocking the airflow. The sheet rock was falling off the walls and littered the rug. I'm an average size mail and in order for me to get into the bathroom I had to jump into the bathtub then close the door and jump back out, That's how small the bathroom is. There is a newer hotel across the street and next-door I advise to use one of them instead.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.7 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#9 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 29 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Property: Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing