We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific and that feel at home feeling.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific and that feel at home feeling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our family recently stayed at this wonderful place. The manager Mike and his staff are all so friendly. We received a wonderful hot breakfats the next morning.Wonderful time in the heated indoor pool the whirlpool was fantastic as well.I felt so great after wards. I canm't get over how great the manager Mike was he was so helpful to our family he made sure we received the extra pillows and towels nright away. The office had thge fire place lit where you can enjoy great conversation ,read or just enjoy a cup of coffee. We stay ther nw every time we go the entire taff are awesome.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice and quiet cozy get away go stay and enjoy. The rates were fair but the staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    77
    25
    28
See reviews for
86
124
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have always been treated with professionalism at this hotel. The rooms have been updated and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding with sausage eggs biscuits gravy apples just to name a few. I have stayed at this hotel many times and will continue to stay. Thank you mike for all you do.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toytund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

There were two couples in our group and we stayed two nights (Saturday and Sunday). The hotel/motel is two stories (you enter rooms from the outside) and contains approx 175 rooms in a three building complex on a hill. The exterior is quite dated (70's vintage), however, the rooms have been renovated. We stayed in two rooms with king beds that had very comfortable matresses. Overall the complex was clean but dated. The ice machine in our building was broken and when we requested ice were told to go to the next building (a chilly walk down and back up a hill). They served a buffet breakfast (included with the room). On Sunday morning the buffet line was long and we had to go in the kitchen to ask them them to replenish the food. Front desk personnel were pleasant but not willing to go out of their way to offer service. There is an indoor pool with a hot tub. I would not recommend the workout facility. There were four (4) pieces of workout equipment that appeared to be antiques. We plan to stay at Harrah's Resort on our next visit. Oh I almost forgot, the Chestnut Inn mentions that shuttle service is available to the Harrah's Resort. We found it to be highly unreliable. Overall, Chestnut Inn receives a C-.rating.

Room Tip: Stay on first level (no elevators). Call the hotel for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherokee hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel had the best restaurant in the area. Prime rib and seafood buffet is the best that I have had in a long time. But the housekeeping staff was rude and insulting. The hotel staff members in housekeeping was disrespectful to me and have me that I will not stay at this hotel again. I will give the hotel restaurant a 5 and housekeeping manager -1. Tried to call the manager that I had a pleasure of meeting upon check in and he was not there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not Senior Friendly: We had a bad experience at the Front Desk on during check in. Clerk “Mike” was extremely unprofessional and made my 72 year old friend cry because of his rudeness. Chestnut Inn got our reservations messed up and clerk Mike sent us away to the wrong hotel. My friend was called a liar by clerk Mike and he would not take our confirmation number. He said we were booked at Holiday Inn Express and despite our protests, insisted that we go there. Holiday Inn Express sent us back to Chestnut Inn because we were booked there, per the casino. Upon our return we really expected an apology. Instead, clerk Mike said, “ I will check you in when I am ready” and made us wait 10 minutes. When we told him he was rude, he told us that he would kick us out if we caused any trouble. We left the hotel because of his rudeness. The casino made new reservations at Quality Inn and they were very nice. Holiday Inn Express was exceptionally nice when we were misdirected to them. Clerk David even gave us coffee and a cinnamon roll while we waited there. What is up with this Chestnut Inn?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The stay was okay. The room was clean. The breakfast was very good. The beds were okay just too short and the rooms were a little small. It has exterior room doors and I prefer interior room doors. The indoor pool area is nice. Good economical choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsprop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The friendly staff welcomed us and efficiently checked us in. The hotel room was roomy and comfortable without being luxurious. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful offering biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc. I would definitely stay there again. The room rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpaulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.7 mi away
Stonebrook Lodge
Stonebrook Lodge
#8 of 29 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 29 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Property: Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing