We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with the discount we got!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I were in the area for business. I really wanted to stay in Cherokee but my husband wanted to stay in Maggie Valley at a hotel that was actually newer and nicer and normally the same cost but there was an online coupon for $68 a night. Even the older chain hotels in Cherokee were $100-150 a night. I called hotels in Cherokee to see if I could get any of them to match the coupon. Holiday Inn is normally around $98 a night but they agreed to match the coupon. For $68 a night we were extremely satisfied, I probably would not have been as happy if we paid $98 since there were much newer hotels in the area for that price. It was a little out dated but that was fine with us since we expected that based on the photos online. But the beds are new and updated and we didn't see that mentioned anywhere online. The mattress looked and felt brand new and was very comfortable. Same with the pillows which were plentiful. My husband and I both slept great. Our room was very clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful, they were just great! The lobby was very inviting and decorated in cabin decor, very nice. The free breakfast buffet was a great bonus! You don't expect much from a complimentary breakfast but we really enjoyed ours. It was definitely the best free breakfast I've had at a hotel. They had eggs, sausage, grits, potatoes, fruit, biscuits, sausage gravy, french toast, and more. The restaurant also offers room service and the menu prices were very reasonable. They forgot to mention that on Sunday the free breakfast is over at 10:30 am. The free WiFi and indoor pool were also a plus. We would definitely stay here again if we had the same deal.

Room Tip: Ask if they'll honor coupons for other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitZBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel is divided into two buildings. The one in the lower lot comprises of rooms, the restaurant and check in lobby while the upper lot has rooms and the pool. The rooms are "outside" entry, not via an inside corridor and anyone walking on the 2nd level walkway echoes and sounds like a herd of elephants. Although the room was clean and the bed comfortable, there's really nothing that stands out about this place and I would not recommend it for an extended stay. Our TV was on the fritz, We would have at least liked to catch the news but we didn't even bother calling to complain because from previous experience we know what a chore that can be. Bring your own shampoo, our room did not have any. No fridge or microwave either. Due to all the germ freak nut-jobs out there, the coffee pot is one of those single serve appliances, that's OK if you like sawdust flavored coffee in the morning (not to say that the provided coffee is any better at other hotels), BUT at least if it was the old style pots you could bring your own coffee and filters and drink some decent coffee in the morning. The breakfast is warm yes, but it's buffet style not cook to order. Nothing to write home about here either. It was edible but that's a mouthful at best. The staff that day in the restaurant didn't seem to me like they knew what they were supposed to be doing....very disorganized bunch, but I give them credit for trying their best.
I'm really hard pressed to give it 3 stars as average, it's more like 2 1/2. There are better hotels in Cherokee for the same or less money. We won't be staying there again even if Harrah's comps us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gccsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Room was nice but definitely not worth $95.00 per night. Bathroom had mildew in the tile crevices and on the fabric part of the shower curtain. Hot breakfast was good but got charged extra for milk.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tiaflo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We just returned today from two nights at this really great hotel! I know, I know, you think, Holiday Inn, UGH! This place will surprise you. Its lobby area is very nicely done, the front desk clerks were all very nice. The rooms were spacious, with extremely comfortable beds. They use Serta Perfect Sleeper, Emerald Concierge mattresses. Fantastic!
They have great amenities in the rooms: hairdryer, coffee pot and coffee, iron, ironing board, etc... They hot tub was great and the pool was very enjoyable. I used both on both nights!
The room was very clean and bug free. Bed-bug free, too!
Off the beaten path, and within driving distance to where ever you want to go.
The restaurant was A+ as well. Both places, the hotel and the restaurant provide you with a well earned bargain.
If we ever go back to Cherokee, N.C. and have a need for a room for the night, this will be the first, and hopefully only, place I will check.
The best thing I like about it is:
IT IS OWNED BY NATIVE AMERICAN INDIANS!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was our first Hotel on our trip. the hotel is situated a bit outside of Cherokee. This is good, because Cherokee is very busy. A warm breakfast was included. But be aware that if you want something to drink that is not coffee, milk or ice tea you have to pay. The outside pool is ok. We just took a look at the indoor pool that seemed to be also ok. The room had the Holiday Inn standard and was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This hotel is in SERIOUS need of an update. The room was disgusting...stains all over carpet, TINY bathroom and GROSS shower. If I hadn't already paid upfront to get the lower discount, we would have left. The "free" breakfast buffet is the standard fare you would get at other hotels that offer continental style free breakfast. The rooms all open to the parking lot (very OLD STYLE).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We come to Cherokee several times a year but this was our first time staying at the Holiday Inn. We were impressed! I work as an executive housekeeper for a five star resort so I know a quality hotel when I stay at one. The hotel and restaurant staff were very helpful, polite, friendly and informative. You won't be disapointed with the service. This is an older hotel but it is in very good shape and appears to be recently rennovated. The grounds are well kept and exceed what you would expect from Holiday Inn. The rooms are cozy, clean, decorated nicely and the furnishings were great! The king bed in our room was very comfortable and we slept well every night.

We loved the free breakfast buffet which is included for guests. The restaurant was awesome and was a nice surprise for us since we didn't want to drive around looking for somewhere to eat. We ate there every morning during our stay and was never disappointed. They also serve dinner there which we heard was also very good. It is very rare to find a restaurant this good in this type of hotel!

The two pools were great but the outdoor pool must have just opened because it was still a little green. They did work on cleaning it up while we were there and it was good to go afterwards. There is also a nice little playground next to the outdoor pool that the little ones would enjoy. I would definitely reccomend this hotel for families. It is a great value for the money and we will most certainly stay again. Kudos to the management and staff of the Holiday Inn Cherokee for running a awesome little hotel in the mountains!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBExecHskper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
1.2 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd, Hwy 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719-9104 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $80 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah's Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa's Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls,air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Mini-fridge is available. Microwaves may be available but requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing