We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an alright place to stay”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's an alright place to stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My husband and I travel to Cherokee, NC at least once a month, and we've stayed at several hotels in the area. This was the first time we stayed at the Quality Inn (it was a comped room from Harrahs Casino).

Like others stated, the hotel is a little dated, but clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that I actually booked this room on 9/17/09 for a 2 night stay on 11/6/09 and 11/7/09 and told the booking person that I would definitely be a late arrival (somewhere in the neighborhood of 9:00-10:00 pm. On 11/6/09 I called the Quality Inn and told them that I wouldn't be there until around 10:30 pm, and I was told I could check in anytime up to 7:00 am the next morning. GREAT so far.

Upon check-in we were given a room in the main building on the first floor, but when I entered the room I found that the room hadn't even been cleaned. There was trash everywhere, beds were unmade, and there was soiled towels and washcloths in the bathtub. We immediately called the front desk and were told to come back to get a key for another room.

Anyway, just to let you know - the front desk clerk was very apologetic and he gave us what I think was an upgrade on the room. We were put in a much larger room on the river side for which we were more than grateful for the upgrade and the view.

My concern is this. I know that sometimes things happen for a reason. Maybe there were 2 maids working on that floor and one thought the other had cleaned the room, and this was just an oversite. But, suppose we arrived later than we did, and there weren't any other rooms available at 10:30 pm to put us into. Would someone be called in to clean the room, or would the front desk clerk call around (or call Harrahs) to see if we could get another comped room at another "partner" hotel? I guess I should have asked, but I just didn't even think about it.

Another comment - I went to iron my husband's shirt prior to leaving the room, but even though there was an ironing board, there wasn't an iron in the room. I don't know whether you have to ask at the front desk for one, or if the iron is supposed to be in the room. Needless to say, he wore a wrinkled shirt to the casino, but he really didn't seem to mind. It wasn't a big problem for him.

The free continental breakfast was okay too. My husband and I don't usually eat breakfast anyway, but it was a decent meal. There were the normal doughnuts, french toast, cereals, biscuits and gravy, eggs, etc. that other hotels offer complimentary, so it filled and warmed our stomachs.

The Quality Inn is a little distant from the casino, but they do have a shuttle to take guests back and forth.

Based on the experience that we had, overall I have to say that I would stay at the Quality Inn again. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway, only to sleep and then back to the casino again.

We had a great weekend, a free room for 2 nights, we comped our meals, which gave us a little more gambling money, and at least this trip I didn't have to make additional trips to the ATM. I actually came out with just a little less $$ than I began with, and I played at the casino for 2 days.

Again, in closing, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieDGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    89
    43
    16
    27
See reviews for
62
122
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Staff was friendly, room was adequate and clean. I was expecting a balconey overlooking the river however mine just overlooked the street. It was just okay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdzwif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here in September - I am a hotel Manager so stay at quite allot of different hotel chains - I like my rooms to be roomy, tidy and most importantly the bed has to be comfortable and clean - this was all. The hotel foyer is lovely and the staff really helpful we needed a corkscrew - Richard the Manager found one for us - I needed a bandaid - Trip got one for me. The best thing about this hotel has to be the VIEW - it is amazing - handy for the casino and handy to be in a quiet location.
I would definately return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed at the Quality Inn for 1 night. Clean and good to enjoy a short trip to the mountains. It is located by a creek, a little farther from the cheesy Cherokee Downtown, which is a good thing!
Beds were OK and room was good sized. Nice pool . Fred Wi-fi in the room, but I had to go to the lobby to solve a problem with the Wi-Fi and the person there was friendly and solved the problem quick.
Good value, and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Get a room with a running river just off your balcony for +/- $80! This place has the rooms, and despite an exterior corridor, there were no security concerns as there was no window on that side. We loved the room, and the breakfast room, and breakfast was neat too.

The only problem with the place was that the wireless network didn't work well from the outlying rooms: I had to take my laptop to the lounge area to get a signal. I imagine that the rooms close to the office had good reception?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I was very excited about staying here, as I was looking forward to sitting on the porch/balcony in the evening and in the morning with my coffee. We were given a first floor room at the inside corner of the two buildings--thus no view, and in addition, there was a 6 foot tall bush in front of the porch. So, not only could I not see anything, but because the bush was full of bees, I could not even sit on the porch at all. You would think they could trim their shrubs, if for no other reason than to keep people from being stung by bees. This was our first stay here, and for free, it was OK, but the Fairfield is much nicer and closer.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mamalyn27407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed at the Quality Inn for two days and as far as the hotel itself, the staff was friendly and clean. Nothing extravagant but clean. When we left on 7/4/09, after two hours I realized I left my wallet on the bed. I knew exactly where it was and it had my driver's license and money in it. I called when I got home and they said they did have the wallet and they charged me to FedEX it to my home. I did get it but when I opened it up, I had a $100 bill missing. I knew it was missing because I had only one $100 bill in the wallet. I called them to let them know I got the wallet but $100 bill was missing. They said they were sorry. I told them that someone in their housekeeping or staff took it. I gave my number and said if it did show up (I told them I was sure it wouldn't) to call. I hope they will check with who was cleaning my room on that date. I'm sure they could pin it down but doubt they will. My $100 is gone and I'm sure nothing was done to even check with employees. I've learned my lesson. Triple check the room before you leave because you won't get everything back, even if they do send your wallet back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcondcutor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 28 in Cherokee
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: US 441 North Bypass, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Cherokee
Quality Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing