We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beware of what you sign at this hotel. I chose this motel because it was pet friendly and booked on a pet friendly site. When I checked in they had me sign a paper stating I would not smoke in room.
When I got home I had a charge of $200 added to my bill. I called and they said it was for having pets in the room and when I signed that paper I should have read the fine print. They said the find print stated a $150 cleaning fee and $25 per day for pets.
Please read all of what you sign for, I had took for $200 because I didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyC474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, revenue manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to make improvements on our Hotel on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Cherokee Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter, her friend and myself stayed there for one night. The room was large enough and clean. At check in, I asked for a rollaway. When we rerturned from dinner, it had not been delivered. I had to call the desk. It was finally delivered around 10:30 PM. You could feel the coil springs through the mattress on the rollaway. There was mold on the shower walls and the water temprature in the shower was either too hot or cold. The included breakfast was okay. There were scrambled eggs, sausage, breads and pastries, a waffle maker, several juices etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments and the review. We do apologize that your stay was less than exceptional. We are currently in the process of renovations and are striving to complete them all in a timely manner and will continue to make improvements on a daily basis. We hope that you do consider us for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our main reason for booking this hotel was because they offered a free shuttle to the casino. When we arrived, we were greeted by very friendly and courteous hotel staff. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the main hotel section. After speaking with some of the staff, the hotel had recently changed hands and the new owners are working really hard to renovate the hotel. Since the hotel is not completely renovated yet, that might account for some of the negative reviews.

The complimentary breakfast was excellent. They offered eggs and sausage, as well as the normal continental breakfast items. The shuttle service was excellent as well. Chip was our driver, and bent over backwards to accommodate everyone.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 11, 2013

We would like to thank you for your review and comments. It is good to hear that our shuttle driver did an excellent job with accommodating the needs of our guest, as well as the rest of our staff. We are glad to hear that your room was just the way you wanted, and you enjoyed our new deluxe continental breakfast. We are continuing with our renovations all in a timely manner, and we do hope you continue to keep us in mind for your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am completely appalled at the room at this hotel. First of all, they show a picture of the hotel that is a newer part. This was not the room we got. There was an area that was very old and out dated on the side not even attached to the new part. The room was musty, smelled of smoke but posted nonsmoking room, The floor was dirty, the bathroom facilities had a paper stating it was clean yet when I lifted the toilet seat it looked like an outhouse it was disgusting!!! The sheets were dirty and when I asked for clean ones they were very thin. They did not even offer to come change the sheets. I had to call to get them to come clean the bathroom. When I went to complain about the room and it was not as advertised they only said "sorry". I was not offered anything else saying "they were sold out". I planned this based on other reviews which it was obvious those persons did not get a room like we had. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone! I traveled six hours and had no choice since it was so late. We didn't even stay the night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjtalorlongpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to make improvements on our Hotel on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were very disappointed with our visit. We were given an adequate room on our first night and then woken up early the next morning and made to leave the room we booked for the weekend and given a dirty, musty smelling, out dated room. The staff was unapologetic and blamed the booking mistake on hotels.com. The room was so disgusting we left that day and drove home. They did not comp us or give us our money back. There are much nicer places to stay, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to make improvements on our Hotel on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Cost was $89 for the room, room smelled old and musty, dirty towels in rooms, signs clearly state no smoking, however there were burns on sink, mold in bathroom, stain on sheets, spider in bathroom. If it wasn't midnight and I didn't have the super sleepy kids, I would have left. Not sure how they got good reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to make improvements on our Hotel on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent one night here on our Blue Ridge trip and really enjoyed our room. It was spacious, very clean and neat, and very comfortable beds. We stayed in the lower section and it's only a few steps from the main hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenfrogtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.2 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Address: 196 Paint Town Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-8134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $78 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing