We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service from Front Desk Staff, Left and Checked In Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service from Front Desk Staff, Left and Checked In Elsewhere”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I am a Hilton Hhonors Diamond member. I have stayed at this hotel before and had fairly good experiences. This time I booked the "Government Gas & Go" rate of $100 per night as I had multiple times before. This rate shows up on the normal rate page, I had not checked government rate. When I tried to check in this time the guy at the front desk asked to see my government ID. I showed him my drivers license. He told me that I needed a government employee ID. After a few moments of discussion, I asked to speak to the manager. She was like talking to a brick wall. After about 10 minutes she told me she would be happy to rebook me at the prevailing rate of $170 per night. I told her where to put her $170 per night prevailing rate and walked out. I quickly called Hilton reservations to cancel my reservation only to find out the manager had been kind enough to do so for me. A side note, a gentleman had arrived on their shuttle bus from the airport and stated he had been waiting an hour in the rain for their shuttle. After some issues with the front desk himself, he walked to the Hyatt Place next door. I will never stay at the Doubletree Charlotte Airport again and will take any business away from them that I can. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crappy_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCharlotte, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your reservation at the government discount. it is our policy to request government identification from all travelers booking the government per diem rates or packages. We also request AAA cards and AARP cards from our travelers utilizing those discounts as well. In regards to our shuttle; we are the only hotel that runs complimentary airport transportation 24 hours a day and as a result we are very busy, but we do our best to try to ensure that the wait at the airport is a short as possible. Charlotte Douglas Airport does provide a covered area to protect travelers from the weather while they wait. We would be happy to assist you with future reservations. Should you choose to stay with us again, we offer a variety of discount packages on our website for our travelers to take advantage of. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    194
    137
    90
    40
See reviews for
117
109
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Spent alot of time looking for a nice hotel prior to long trip. Doubletree is in a great location for spending the night before a trip and their shuttles run 24 hours unlike many hotels in the area. Staff was friendly (did not get a cookie though) and very efficient in meeting needs and answering questions. Room was on ground floor and very convenient to go to the pool which is alot smaller (width) then it looks on pictures. Could be very crowded with more than 10 people using it. Great work out room and for being close to the airport, the planes were not loud passing over. Will definitely use again when flying out of CLT as the cost of the room is about equal to parking for 7 days. Business center was small and was shared with hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reliabilityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

From the moment I walked in the door the staff and accommodations welcomed me. Check-in was quick and efficient and the cookie was an added treat. The hotel was full, so the room upgrade I requested wasn't available - which was no problem. However, the staff immediately comped the breakfast buffet for the next morning! The room was very nice - seemed to have been recently upgraded and everything was clean and worked perfectly. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the amenities extra nice. The computers in the business center were always available and fast and the grounds were very pleasant. This hotel is located in a safe, quiet business district, yet very close to the airport. It was perfect for my needs and I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agamemnon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I stay here whenever we plan to travel from CLT Douglas Airport. This hotel has terrific rates (especially if you are a HHonors Member) and takes excellent care of their guests.

We were particularly drawn to this hotel as they offer a "Park n Fly" program as well as great rooms and very comfortable beds! Room service is excellent and the staff are very courteous.

Give them a try...the airline flight crews stay here too!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Seldom do you find the quality of service and such a friendly staff at an airport property. I travel 200 days a year and this was by far one of the best properties that I have stayed at. I will definitely stay there again when in Charlotte.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyRaleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, ON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Firstly, I'd like to point out something. I've read reviews on this travel site for years and find that many people's expectations are often far too high; they expect to receive the facilities and amenities of the Plaza for a Days Inn price. You get what you pay for, adjust your expectations for the room and staff accordingly.

My wife and I traveled to Florida for two weeks and used this hotel as our stay on night one. After 12 hours on the road we were happy to be welcomed by a friendly staff member bearing the traditional Doubletree warm cookies. After a seamless check-in we headed to our room (note: odd design of the hotel...the elevators are a bit of a walk from the front desk past some salon rooms and around a couple corners. It's not a negative, just something I don't see that often).

We were given a room with a King bed. The ample size room also contained a desk, sitting chair and floor lamp and flat-screen TV. Unlike many of the comments on this hotel, we noticed no smoke or other negative odors. The room had clearly been redone fairly recently, the telltale sign always being the bathroom...nice new granite counter-top but a few too many coats of paint on the door and trim from years of service...not a big deal to me.

Not being a micro-freak about the condition of every single thing in the room, I found it very pleasant with an exceptionally comfortable pillow-top bed, decent sitting chair, good TV and functional bathroom...my "big-four" of hotel-room rating points.

Check-out was as easy as check-in and we're were gone by 9:00 AM well rested and very happy with our stay...especially since it was a $50.00 Priceline booking.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

I needed to stay one night near the CLT airport after a late arrival. Booked this on Priceline. Check-in was very efficient. BUT I went to my room and immediately smelled smoke --- not fresh smoke, but it was a smoking room. I looked at the door, and sure enough there was a smoking ok sign on it. i called the front desk to see if they had a non-smoking room, which is what I had requested on Priceline. They said i was in a non-smoking room. I said I had checked the door and it was clearly a smoking room, and it smelled like it. She said, well it is a non-smoking room, but I will check on another room. Back to the front desk. On the way out, I got a guest in the hall to smell the room, and he said "definitely smoking."

I got to the front desk and the clerk / manager was on the phone. The other clerk asked if she could help, and I said "She (pointing to the other one) is going to get me into a non-smoking room." The first clerk then hung up the phone and said, "You were in a non-smoking room." I said, "I'm not clear how you can say that when the sign says smoking and the room smells like smoke." To which she replied that they had recently converted some rooms to non-smoking. Ha ha ha. Recent must have been 15 minutes ago. Anyway off to room 2.

Room 2 had a non-smoking sign on it, but when I walked it, it had the same very-smoked-in smell. Not fresh smoke, but clearly a smoking room, too. I didn't even pull my bags in. Another guest, a 30-something well-dressed exec type (which is my normal dress), was passing by and willing to smell the room. He said he didn't even have to go in. It reeked of old smoke. He said he heard some other complaints about rooms when he was checking in at the desk. I walked back up to the desk.

"But sir, that room is non-smoking! "

"Again, I had another guest smell the room with me to have a sanity check, and it has been smoked in and not freshened. I would like a room that has been non-smoking room for a while if you have it."

They gave me a room on the 3rd floor, which had an old-looking non-smoking sign on the door. I went in; it smelled completely normal, and I went to bed and slept well.

In the morning I told the new manager this story, calmly and with no-one else around. I was going to let it drop and not write a review --- BUT she again told me my original room was non-smoking, but they ran out of signs when they converted the room. I told her that the room definitely required a refreshing to be non-smoking.

Know about all those $200-300 fees for smoking in a room. Aren't those for cleaning the drapes, walls, and carpet? They can get a maid for 16-20 hours for that amount of money and give up a night of room rent. But the Doubletree Airport Charlotte had decided to convert these rooms with, apparently, no real work. Just call it a non-smoking room, and VOILA!

The main thing that needs to change, though, is the attitude. Front desk clerks should not try to convince customers that they are wrong when the customer is clearly right.

I would be remiss in not mentioning that the restaurant breakfast was mostly good (only the omlette tasted off), and the manager/waitress on duty was professional and sweet.

  • Liked — Room was comfortable, breakfast staff was nice
  • Disliked — Smoking room hassle - had to change twice and get contradicted by front desk
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Residence Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#62 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing