We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, but extra charges add up fast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but extra charges add up fast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

Hotel is well appointed. Room was very nice. Front desk staff not overly helpful. Beware: internet access in room is a $10 charge per day. Shuttle to airport was wonderful. Breakfast costs and is expensive.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — fee for internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    184
    132
    86
    32
See reviews for
110
102
62
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

I got stuck here for a couple of days due to plane trouble, and was surprised at how little there is around this hotel. It's close to the airport, a couple of other hotels, a few office parks, and that's it... nothing else within eyeshot. In-room amenities are pretty decent, but the video system is buggy, and the telephone system is staticky and dropped one of my wake-up calls.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank hibiyaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Hotel was okay. We did sleep.

However, throughout the hotel, the hallways smelled of cigarette smoke, even on a floor of all "non-smoking" rooms. The room itself did not smell. The hallway carpeting needs replacement.

Hotel staff seemed to be oblivious of guests and, perhaps, of each other. I am sure staff at other area hotels must be friendly.

The airport noise was notable (of course, we purposely stayed near the airport in order to catch an early flight), although there did not seem to be any flights after 9 pm or earlier than 7 am.

  • Liked — Near airport
  • Disliked — Smoke smell in hallways, inattentive staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swiftylazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

Well I recently had a weekend stay at this hotel. I would say that there is nothing special about the hotel, except the fitness area. The fitness room was outstanding in my opinion, there were updated treadmills with attached LCD televisions in the aerobics area and there was a separate free weight section. The fitness area had two flat panel tv's and lots of windows and mirrors. The rest of the hotel was simply an average business hotel, with nothing to make it stand out from the crowd. Upon arriving, I noticed that there was no automatic door or person to hold the door open for persons approching the front desk with lots of bags. Check-in was not very welcoming, but the front desk clerk was accommodating. Next, the carpet, wallpaper, and drapes semed to be a little dated when compared to the updated furnishings. The room service menu was somewhat limited when compared to other hotels with restaurants. Maid service, which begins promptly at 8:00am, can be heard slamming and opening doors in the morning, so if you would like to sleep in, please be sure to put the "dnd" sign on the door. Overall, I would say the hotel is on par with a Courtyard Marriott and the 3 star rating is accurate. I would also say that this hotel would not be my first choice if I were to be in the area again for an overnight visit.

  • Liked — The fitness center
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Game123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Booked for $50 on Priceline for a stay on the way home from Disney. It was a great stay. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was comfy. The cookies were great. The staff was very friendly. The bath was roomy and clean. The only issue I had was since I was traveling, it's not very convenient to the interstate. Our mapquest directions weren't very good (they didn't tell us which way to turn when taking the exit) so I recommend calling ahead of time. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Booked this hotel through Priceline for a one night stay--what a bargain! Check in was fast and pleasant, cookies were fresh and warm, room was clean, beds were comfortable and it was super quiet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Beautiful clean rooms and convenience to the airport
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belgirlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

This hotel is located close to the Charlotte Airport and a complimentary shuttle runs between the two sites 24 hours a day. The shuttle also services the nearby Harris Convention Center on the hour. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant 3 times and found the buffet to be good. There are no restaurants located within walking distance other than the restaurant in another hotel across the street. There are numerous eating places located within 2-4 miles on Tyvola Road as long as you have a car to get there with. The hotel has a pool, conference rooms and banquet facilities. The hotel is quiet even though the airport is nearby. Check in and check out was painless and efficient and the Doubletree cookie was available on check in. There is in room internet but the charge is $10 per 24 hours. There is also complimentary internet in the business center. It is a good travel hotel but for variety in eating you must have a car!

  • Liked — Location near the airport and Harris Conference Center
  • Disliked — Wish there were eating places within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#62 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing