We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but NOT Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Greensboro, United States
1 review
“Good, but NOT Great!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Travel to CLT frequently for business and have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month. The first time I stayed out of curiosity and the second only because neither Homewood Suites or Hampton was available. This hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly, the cookies are great, and it's conveniently located for airport access. The building layout is circular with a small outdoor courtyard pool and work out room. The problem I have is the "cost" to "value" ratio. Wine or beer is about $8 a glass and breakfast is $13. The Hampton is $20 cheaper and offers all the same amenities, including indoor pool, manager's reception, beer, wine, and breakfast for FREE. Bottom line is hotel is nice and offers a good overall experience, but is not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ron S K,
Thank you for your past two stays and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate all the positive comments regarding our hotel, and are pleased that you find our hotel and services to your liking. We will certainly keep your comments in mind when we are evaluating our pricing strategies in areas such as food and beverage and internet. We do appreciate your Hilton loyalty and hope that you will continue to visit our brand. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    194
    137
    90
    40
See reviews for
117
109
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Californie, États-Unis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and will come back again. The rooms are large, current decor and soft goods, clean and very convenience to the airport. Food services are good quality and reasonably prices, especially for a hotel. It is always a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank louisz905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for visitng our property several times. We appreciate loyal customers like yourself and are pleased that you continue to return time and time again. We are happy that you enjoy the amenities of the hotel and we appreciate you letting us know. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lees summit, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you need to a place to stay cause your flight was cancelled/missed - this would be a place to stay, if you get by 9pm. You will have a chance to get a bite to eat. Never seen pool or any other parts of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cornelius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Cornelius B,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also our food and beverage outlets. We hope to be able to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a clean comfortable hotel that caters to business travelers and perhaps Airline employees for overnight stays. The front desk staff was attentive and friendly. If you are a family looking for free wifi or breakfast, this hotel isn't for you, because they know business travelers will expense those costs. We stayed 2 nights and got a good price on priceline. If I was making reservations I would probably try some place geared toward couples or families. One negative (at least for me) is we stayed Saturday and Sunday night. We were gone from about 9am until 3pm on Sunday and when we returned the room had not been made up. Housekeeping finally showed up about 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hate2stayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Hate2stayhome,
Thank you so much for visiting our property on your recent visit to Charlotte. We appreciate the positive remarks and will pass them along to our staff. In an effort to keep our room rates as competitive as possible, we are constanting reviewing which amenities to offer complimentary and which to charge for, and surveys such as yours, are taken into consideration when making these decisions. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was expecting a decent experience, midnight arrival before driving out the next morning. Happy that my wife, daughter, and I were upgraded to a suite with separate sofabed area. The usual cookies were good. The major problem was that the air conditioners, the old variety built into the wall under the window, made a horrible furnace-like racket that prevented a decent sleep. Windows and carpet were a bit run-down, but the bathroom was extremely clean (no lighting around the shower/bath though). The other problem was that there was no blanket for the sofabed. The blanket was sent up a while later (it's now 1 AM so a brief wit is expected), but when we opened it up after a couple of minutes, a medium-sized roach jumped out! Ugh.

Employees at desk and in breakfast lounge were friendly enough, and the breakfast was decent.

Some of the things could have been fixed by a room change, but late in the night and unpacked we weren't up for it. Overall, would not stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Uncle_Lars,
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to the area. I appreciate your honest remarks and please be assured that we will use your information to improve the services that we offer. I am pleased that you enjoyed our staff and restaurant, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

As an option for being close to the airport and business meetings, it seemed fine. Once there I got the smelliest room just on the side of the vending machine. Not only the non-smoke room smelled like an ashtray, but it was noisy and had no cell phone signal. Surprise! they charge for wi-fi! I've had less noise and smells in some basements. Staff is friendly and helpful as you cannot imagine. What this staff needs is a new hotel to work at. Next time will check twice for previous comments. If you need a place to become friends with the staff, this is the one. If you're more into connectivity and neutral smelling rooms, run, Forrest, Run!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank EliasRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear EliasRobles,
Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At our property, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We have reviewed your feedback with our hotel team and are takeing steps to freshen our guest rooms. However, we would like to apologize for the other issues as well. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Avoid this Hilton property and stay across the street at the Homewood Suites
It is showing its age
Service was poor
Not reflective of a Hilton property
My room had been flooded from above st some point
It smelled

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jght_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear JDHT_2000,
Thank you for stayng at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. However, we apologize for all of the inconveniences you encountered. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time as we continually work on ways to improve upon our hotel and the services that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Residence Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#62 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing