We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Glenburnie
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not a great business hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Hate when you are at the bar and they don't change the snacks in the bowl as patrons leave and others join yucky! My profile says feather free but of course I have feathers. No lunch what is with that. Horrible breakfast buffet, went down at 9 and just a bit of eggs and no bacon. Then went to meetings back at 1:30 and hungry but all is closed until 5. Had to ask for room to be cleaned at 2. I really don't like those air con blowing from the window level. Hotel smells very musty. Staff is nice but scratching this place off my list as a Hilton Diamond member. Power went out and not one staff member bothered to comment while many were in the lobby!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mammo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mamo64,
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are sorry that we did not provide the high quality of services that you derserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experierence a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    194
    137
    90
    40
See reviews for
117
109
67
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was delayed in Charlotte overnight because I missed my connecting flight. The Hilton customer service line as well as hotel staff were extreemely helpful to get me a hotel room and shuttle from/to the airport. The hotel was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sara H,
We are pleased that we were able to make something as frustrating as missing a connecting flight, into something positive for you. Travel can sometimes be difficult and we are pleased that our staff made that a little easier for you. Thanks again for your stay and for your comments. We hope to see you again under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we arrived, we were not given what we paid for and requested. The staff seemed a little rude. Once we got to our room, it smelled of dampness. Come to find out, the AC unit had leaked all over the carpet. When I went to report the incident to the staff, te front desk lady was rude. She moved us to one room over and still didn't grant us our request! As a Hilton member, I expect better. Te front desk lady made the statement that whomever gets to the hotel last could have that room!! How rude. Won't stay here ever again.

Should have known when I read someone else's review about how poor this hotel was. I'm not one to be knit-picky but this one serves itself up with disaster.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Quest Rider,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for expressing y our thoughts and opinions. I apologize that we did not have your request available upon arrival and the inconveniences you experienced while here. I will certainly address your concerns with the appropriate departments and appreciate your honesty. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

It's a standard business hotel. Clean and spacious rooms. We also used the conference room facilities for business meetings. We were well attended to by the staff. Close to airport and has shuttle, so if you are visiting local businesses you can save up on car rentals.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Dinish 1973,
Thank you for your recent visit for your business conference. We are pleased that you found our hotel condusive to business use and that your meeting was well serviced. We hope that you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to the Queen City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a standard hotel - nothing special. The workout room is small with three treadmills and two bikes plus some free weights but at least a little bigger than in most discount hotels. The fitness center overlooks the pool, so you aren't staring at the walls, which is a plus. The hotel has conference rooms and a restaurant. It is convenient to the airport and businesses but not near many restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cjefrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear JPE54354,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We are continually making improvements and we use surveys such as yours to gauge what areas we need to concentrate on. We hope you enjoy the summer and that your travels bring you back to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in June of 2013. I was greeted by two ladies working the front desk, both of them looked extremely preoccupied and very busy. They checked me in very fast and provided me with a bottle of water.
My room was on the 5th Floor and was in pretty bad shape, the wall paper was coming off in several locations in my room, and carpet looked worn and dirty. The bed as in good shape and was comfortable to sleep in.
Returning to the hotel the next night, front desk greeted me and said welcome back, even though they were preoccupied the night before they still remembered I was a guest at the hotel.
I did eat at the onsite restaurant and was not impressed at all. I had to find my own seat and was never greeted by anyone, food was ok, if I stayed here again, I would not eat at the restaurant.
Over all the hotel stay was nice, I think the hotel needs to invest some money into new wallpapering and carpeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Chargers Rule,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to relay your opinions regarding our property. I am pleased that our front desk team welcomed you back. We are making continual renovation improvements and we will use your suggestions for future improvements.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First I was met by the shuttle driver with an iced bottle of water that he kept in a cooler in the van for tired & thirsty travellers. As I was exhausted, hot & thirsty I was very grateful. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and pleasant and the menu selections in the in-house restaurant were varied, tasty, and reasonably priced. The pool looked inviting but due to the inclement weather (hail the size of golfballs!) I was unable to take advantage of this amenity.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the airport side as I could hear the planes landing & taking off but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Susan G,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your positive comments regarding our staff, restaurant and amenities. We will certainly share your remarks with our team. We hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Residence Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#62 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing