We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Ranked #63 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and very close to the airport. As usual, good hotel with comfortable beds. Front desk agent was nice, white lady that worked around 7:00 pm on a Tuesday. Van full of flight attendants just walked in and she took care of everyone very quickly. The A/C our room was very loud, only bad thing about the room. Would recommend to anyone staying near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Kishan1982,
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel during your recent trip to Charlotte. We do agree that we have a very convenient location, near the airport, uptown Charlotte and within walking distance of many restaurants. I do apologize for a noisy AC unit and we will be having our maintenance staff make adjustments to the units. Thanks again for being our guests and if your travels bring you back to Charlotte, we hope that we will be your first choice for accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    182
    131
    86
    32
See reviews for
110
100
61
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service, clean room, and welcoming staff. The breakfast food could have been much better and was not hot enough. Otherwise, great hotel!! The hotel is located in a very convenient area, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramius44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ramius44,
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and for writing such nice comments. We strive to have friendly service and a clean facility and it was wonderful to hear that we were able to meet your expectations in those areas. We will share your positive comments with our team. We were sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to your standards and by knowing this, we can implement some changes to improve our temperature of food. Thanks again for staying at our property and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
549 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in previous double tree hotels, so I was expecting a nice modern hotel. This was just plain.

To be fair, from the entrance you can see the pool and garden towards the back of the hotel. I guess the lobby and receptions are were ok and just like any other hotel. The cookie is always a plus but the staff didnt even indicate where the elevators were (not even after we looked confused where to go). After we asked, there was only one elevator on each side of the building.

The room was spacious, but the lighting was very poor even thought it had like 5 lamps in the room. The decord was bland and dark. The remote control was disgusting. I had to grab a face cloth and wipe it - I didn't want to get sick with all this flu going around.

The hotel didnt wow me which I was very disappointed because I typically have a nice time in double tree hotels. Especially when they are newly renovated.

The hotel is close to the airport and the shuttle is available on demand. Also across the street are other hotels and some food shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CecibelB,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms and we will address our staff in regards to the other issues you mentioned. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north myrtle beach, SC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Winter weather kept me in Charlotte for the night, but I got a room at this hotel and found it to be surprisingly good. Front desk staff are very friendly, rooms are comfortable and quiet, and room service is tasty and reasonable in price. My only complaint is that when I asked for a cabernet at the bar, they didn't offer options--just gave me the most expensive, a $10 a glass wine. Shuttle to the airport was quick and convenient. So...if you happen to find yourself near CLT and need a good place to stay, I'd recommend the Doubletree. Obviously, it was too cold to use the pool area, but it looked well-landscaped and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jimatthebeach,
I am sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate with your travel plans but happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel when you were not able to get home. I will certainly pass along your compliments to our front desk and food and beverage teams. We always enjoy hear ing that our service is friendly and our food is delicious. I will certainly pass along your recommendation regarding wine choices. Thanks again for your visit and I hope you were able to get home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lacking in many ways. It's obvious some renovations have been made, but overall it's shameful to be named a Doubletree. First impressions: the pickup time at he airport was insane. I was advised the driver would pick me up between the A & B section of baggage pick-up in 15 minutes. I actually had to wait 45 minutes in the freezing cold as the pickup location was not visible from inside. I later discovered that two people were so tired of waiting they took a cab. I observed the Hampton Inn, Homewood, and discount hotels make several pickups in the time I waited. Once the shuttle did arrive I had to walk to the D section to meet the shuttle. The other passengers had similar concerns about their wait times. Upon arrival, the hotel appears old and small. The entrance is anything but grand or welcoming. The check-in process was great but the elevators are few and generally speaking they are a ways from the common areas. The farmhouse Doubletree cookie was burnt and not edible. The rooms are not well maintained. The wall paper is tore or peeling in several places (see photos). There was several areas that had not been cleaned, even a large cob web near the celling. The room was dark and the main lamp was unplugged. The shower head was not functions correctly and the shower head leaked. The AC & heat unit in the room did not function well at all. It was always hot or cold, but never comfortable. I did eat at the restaurant and was surprised at how slow the service was. Almost an hour for a sandwich to come from the kitchen. The in-room menu is old and several of the drink options are no longer available at the bar.

I've stayed at the Hampton-Inn & Homewood suites in this same area. I recommend those much more than this location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Brandon M,
Thank you for your recent stay at our property and for notifying us of some issues that you had during your stay. I would like to apologize for the confusion at the airport when you arrived. Unfortunately, due to the snow storm, there were many flights that were cancelled and although we ran 2 shuttles continously throughout the night, it was difficult to keep us with the weather related delays and cancellations. I also would like to apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance issues in your guest room. Please know that these areas have been addressed with both our executive housekeeper and maintenance engineer. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations our regular guests have come to expect and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week as it's close to one of our clients. The rooms desperately need a refreshing- the wallpaper is peeling, the carpet shows wear, the furniture is a bit banged up and the bathroom was scruffy. The positives is that there is plenty of parking and the morning breakfast buffet was well appointed. I may opt to book elsewhere on my next business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL_GIRL_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear ATLGIRL06,
Thank you for staying at our hotel while doing business in Charlotte. As a management team, we utilize information such as yours as a means to improve upon our hotel. As you might have noticed, we are making improvements to the condition of our property and carpeting is an area that has just recently been completed. We are also expecting some additonal in room improvements to be made in the upcoming year. On a positive note, we are thrilled that you found our breakfast to exceed your expectations. I do hope that you will give us another try when working in the area again and I hope to meet you on a future trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Looks great on the outside, breakfast and food were good, but watch out for the noisy hallways, and thin walls. I had rain both nights, and a drip that kept falling on a tin roof outside my window, drip , drip ,drip all night long. Every time it would rain , it would wake me up, and nearly suffocated under three pillows.
Other than that, the beds were super comfy, food was good... and great staff made the difference.

AND to their credit -- when I recorded the annoying drip sound on video and showed it to the manager, they credited my whole stay ! Nice move!

Room Tip: Don't get the room near the elevator, put a towel over the 2' gap under your door to minimiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonkamanMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel, staff and restaurant food. We strive for comments such as yours and I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations in these areas. We are also going to investigate a solution for the dripping sound so that everyone will be guaranteed a quiet night's sleep.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments and if your travels bring you back to Charlotte, we hope to be your first choice in hotel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#62 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing