We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but hotel not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Marriott SouthPark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Ranked #47 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great staff but hotel not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found the staff very nice at the hotel. The room was OK, but pillows were too hard to sleep on, causing me major pain in a neck (literary). Internet is not free, you pay a lot and it is not even a WiFi. There was no pool or gym that I could use at the time.
Yet the worst was the parking lot, large so you will ask what could have been a problem. It was sap from the trees that stained my car beyond recognition, needed a car wash before the car was presentable again.
If you need to commute to the city centre for business, think about picking a hotel in the city, morning traffic is not exactly welcoming, it can take you up to 40 minutes to get downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    156
    44
    19
    23
See reviews for
85
103
15
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the beginning we were warmly welcomed by their staff who were more than friendly.

The room was very nice, perfectly clean and a bit of a view.

My only con: the pillows. Neither of us liked the two options: bulky and hard or too puffy and soft.

As for the area, it is located very close to high class shopping malls yet surrounded by lots of trees and parks. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I checked into this hotel on 3/11/13 and was greeted by a very helpful bellman. After checking in with no problems, I was escorted to my room. The room was horrible smelling and not up to par on cleanliness as other Marriott's I have stayed in. However, the following morning I was greeted by my housekeeper with a beautiful smile and fresh breath! LOL After stating my concerns about the smell of the room along with the lack of amenities in the room, Ms. AALIYAH (YES, LIKE THE LATE GREAT SINGER!) retrieved the items for me along with assuring me that upon my arrival my room would be ALMOST AS PERFECT AS MY HOME! And she indeed did not disappoint me. I walked into a beautiful smelling room and it remained that way until my final day. My room was thoroughly cleaned daily and we even engaged in small talk during one of the days I remained in the room while it was serviced. The small shops nearby are also a plus. The menu is a little pricey for my taste but I was referred to a cute little breakfast spot two blocks away (AGAIN BY AALIYAH) and it was great. **THE ORIGINAL PANCAKE HOUSE** Overall, with the front desk staff-Sue, Jimmy and Laura and Tony and Al I have no real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFOsaavychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

There were lots of problems with this hotel. My room was not ready at check-in. I checked in at 5:00pm and still had to wait 30 minutes for my room. The beds were very nice and slept nice, so i had no complaints there. They had a nice television in our room. The next morning my wife and I decided to enjoy breakfast. The food was average and seemed a bit pricey, but we were interested in convenience. It seemed to be a wonderful breakfast, not considering the cost. As a whole it seemed like the staff really didn't care. It was like they were not happy that we were there. We felt more like a nuisance to the staff during our entire trip. Based on their attitude alone I would rate this hotel poorly and would not go back.

Room Tip: across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallstreetredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have to say this hotel was a nice out of the way from freeways, etc. Very quiet, nice clean room and great front desk service. Great shopping center within walking distance, probably the best one in Charlotte. It is about 10 miles from airport but once we located it per GPS it's an easy drive to and from. We paided in adance for better rate which was not that much more than some other hotels along the interstate. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper80232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My sister and I celebrate our February birthdays together often shopping at Southpark Mall. This trip was special because of the extra attention of people like Laura, Tony, and Sue. Sending a bottle of wine to us, Sweeping snow from our car, and changing our room to better meet our needs, etc. all made it an amazing trip. We will be back soon.
Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Mariott, again, for a shopping weekend. Have stayed at another highly rated hotel in the Southpark area, but just prefer the location of the Mariott. You can walk to the South Park Mall from the hotel, although we drove because we didn't want to carry all those darn shopping bags!! The person who helped us on check out was super friendly and efficient- my daughter has decided she needs a bellman for everyday life! All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room is clean and comfortable, however the bathroom could use some updating. But all in all, I would stay here again and recommend to anyone going to South Park Mall. I found a shopping weekend special deal on line and received a $50 South Park Mall gift card which covered our lunch at the Cheesecake Factory! This also includes breakfast in the hotel, which is a nice hot buffet style breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#56 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#27 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Barclay Downs
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott SouthPark

Property: Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Address: 2200 Rexford Rd, Charlotte, NC 28211-3431 (Formerly The Park Hotel)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte Marriott SouthPark 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Charlotte Marriott SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing