We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The splatters from the toilet not for me!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Ranked #53 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“The splatters from the toilet not for me!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on other occasions, do not remember seeing what I was greeted with, The attachment tells the story. Now all guys know that when using the toilet, splatters do occur even with perfect aim. Then to see the towels and hand towels basically right beside the toilet, this was not a good impression for me. Heck, I went to the gym and got a towel for drying off from my bath. In addition even though lobby etc have gone through upgrades, the furnishings in this room are in need of some replacement, rather vintage. As others have mentioned, rooms need updating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    171
    55
    23
    25
See reviews for
97
114
20
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My Business partner and I have the Marriotts reward program so we always try and stay at Marriotts. We stayed as part of a group pricing with breakfast included, which, was a good deal. We had several other business partners that had booked for the same package deal but ran into several issues with this particular Marriott not accommodating guest that had been told a certain price. It turned into a fiasco. Also, we had planned a meeting one evening for about 30 people and the manager kicked us out of the room without any reason other than they did not want tables moved around. The problem was they had been doing renovations on the rest. and did not have a conference room so you had to use one of the two rooms that had been setup for a rest. I think that since they knew a large number of people had planned to come into the Charlotte area during this timeframe they really should have setup thing up differently.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A Large Group of business people had a "Block"-:Group" of rooms reserved for a 4-5 day stay for a very LARGE EVENT in Charlotte , when one of us when to call to conferm, that person was told ther was NO BLOCK of rooms held,and that the $119.00 was not available.
And that the rooms available were $189.00!!; Upon arrival to Charlotte, and speaking to other members in the Group, they all got the $119. price; called on weds. night and spoke to a different person, that person told us that the $119. price had expired,was a breakfast pkg. and is now @ $124.00!, but not a BLOCK, is a GROUP???; re-gave conf.# that was given us and now the second person did do some "due-diligence" found the original correct #,(off 1 digit), and now found group, but still insisted that price has exprired??; Now the GOOD Stuff;
When asked if all of us confermed the same day and the first person didn't do the right thing, and was found there WAS a Group-BLOCK; still insisted would have to pay more; NOW THE KICKER; when a reservation is made on a C/C , Usually the name on the card is on confermation, RIGHT; WELL, after all That, new Confermation given was In the original person to hold room with NEVER giving that persons NAME!!! DUHHHH!
And now the Cream-la-Cream! The main person to set up original reservations for BLOCK of rooms; asked to have a gatthering of a few members, was told ok, approx. 30 people gathered, and half way through meeting (@10pm), was told to VACATE the room in these WORDS in front of all," I need to speak to you NOW", from the hall, Nice!! Great Cust service , Ya Think! NOT

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed at this Marriott many times over the years but my most recent stay it was really showing its age - there are just some signs of wear and tear at the elevator (the floor numbers look like they were written with a magic marker), at the side entrance the key access point needs work, the hot water takes forever in the bathrooms, and the bathroom fixtures are old. The best part of this hotel is the gym (and this is the main reason I keep coming back) - it is large, has a lot of equipment and can handle numerous people at the same time. Apparently Rick Flair (the ex wrestler) is staying there now- he came into the bar drunk and picked a verbal fight with an innocent man. The bar tender and the rest of the staff clearly took Rick Flairs side on this which made the rest of us uncomfortable and we left. Just because he is an ex celebrity doesn't mean he should be able to treat people badly. One last thing, the hotel has an overpowering armotherapy thing going on - you can't escape from the smell of lavender. It is very strong in all the hall ways. Would be nice to tone that down a bit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanG096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A good hotel, you'd expect from a Marriott, remodeling restaurant in which a little inconvenient at the moment because it has a limited menu, staff very friendly and solves problems immediately.

Room Tip: Close to southpark mall one 5 minuts walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant_obrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I spent three nights recently during a business trip. Our company also had a regional meeting at the facility. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The only complaint I would have of the room is that the hot water took forever to warm up. You had to run the shower for at least five minutes before getting in. I used the wired internet service in the room, and it the service seemed fast compared to that provided by other hotels. There was WiFi service in the conference rooms which also seemed to work well. I would have given the facility a top rating, but I was a little disappointed at the service at the front desk during check in. My company had made a reservation for me, the hotel had lost it. I did present my company credit card, and, although there were many vacant rooms, I felt I was treated as if I was trying to pull something over on the hotel staff. They finally, seemingly grudginly told me I could "have" our company's discounted rate. They even stopped our event coordinator as she came into the hotel and told her about me. She then showed them the confirmation number she had for me (something I did not have at check in), and the front desk staff apologized to her. She immediately emailed me her apology (it wasn't her fault), but I never heard a word from the hotel staff. I expected a little better treatment from a Marriott, especially since I belong to their rewards program.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This Marriott is larger than your typical Marriott with some nicer touches in the lobby and main floor areas. It doubles as a small convention space though. Very close to the mall and short walking distance to Bricktops and Paco's Tacos both of which are good. The hotel has a nice workout facility with several treadmills and a few ellipticals as well as freeweights. It also has a small outside pool. Parking is free. Would stay here again. The Wifi coverage though is not good as I only had a spotty signal in my room. It was free though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#63 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott SouthPark

Property: Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Address: 2200 Rexford Rd, Charlotte, NC 28211-3431 (Formerly The Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte Marriott SouthPark 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Charlotte Marriott SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing