We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 23, 2014 Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Ranked #79 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“March 23, 2014 Stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I use this hotel when i travel to Charlotte for work. It is conveniently located to the airport and numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and include free internet (wireless) which makes doing business easy. The complementary breakfast has a good variety to meet your morning desires. I have stayed here before and will stay again whenever possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello Robert,
Thank you for your kind words. You are our valued guest .
There is also a Blue Line light rail which runs behind our Hotel , which is a very convenient way to go to the Convention Center, Down Town, Nascar Hall of Fame and Time Warner Arena.No need to drive. The Woodlawn station is conveniently located right behind our Hotel.
Thanks again for your business and hope to see you soon in the near future.
Sincerely,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    134
    89
    43
    37
See reviews for
116
113
44
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The facility itself was fine with comfortable beds and quiet rooms. The very poor quality of the bed linens, and lack thereof, made for difficult sleep, however. The front desk staff seemed confused by the facilities own policies regarding the courtesy van to the airport but the van drivers were great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello David,
Thank you for the review. The linens are clean for sure. I can guarantee that. We had some problems with the chemical flow in the washer once and it discolored all the linens a little.
The van runs every half an hour from 4am till 2am on demand only. You have to call from the Airport at 704-525-5454 to request you to pick you up at Zone D in the commercial lane.
You have to write the time and the number of people in the book available at the front desk for your schedule next day to go to the Airport.
I am sorry for the confusion. This might help other people.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We knew we would return after our experience with David the shuttle driver and Davonda the desk clerk. Customer Service is extremely important. The room was clean and included all the amenities that were needed, the beds were comfortable. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello Mike,
Thanks for the kind words you have written for us.
Yes, David and Devonda are our great assets and working for a long time. You are welcome here anytime.
It will be great to see you back.
Please let me know if I can do anything else for you.
Thanks Again,
Sincerely,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a great stay at a great price. Rooms and beds were comfortable. Make sure you put a sign on the door if you want it to be cleaned while you're away (other wise it does not get cleaned). A nice start to the day is to have breakfast and watch the morning news. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this Best Western!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Kim,
Thanks for the nice words and glad that you had a nice time at our hotel. Thanks for being a valued guest and you are welcome anytime.
Thanks again,
Sunny Singh, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Doors lock and is clean, but that's about all this Best Western has going for it.

The place lacks customer service of all kinds, wait the shuttle driver was very nice and friendly.

We stood at the counter this morning for about 5 minutes waiting for someone to come back to the desk to help us, I got sick of waiting and stuck my head in the office and the receptionist was sitting watching TV.

I mentioned to her, that the walls and doors are paper thin and we weren't happy that we could hear everything going on in the lobby (phone ringing, night audit talking, etc) she just brushed it off and said "I worked last night, and I wasn't talking on the phone". The complete lack of just taking responsibility and apologizing was amazing.

And don't think I'm a snobby traveller, I have worked in guest/customer service for years, and this place is what it is, a bed, looked door and that's about it.



Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Theaussie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Mr Theaussie,
I am sorry that you had to hear the front desk. I am going to talk to the Front Desk staff regarding this. I apologise for all the inconvenience you had.
I am glad you liked the cleaniness of our Hotel. Please try us again and ask for a higher floor.
Hope to see you again in the future. You and all other people are our valued guests.
Thanks again for filling this survey so I can do better in the future.
Sincerely,
Sunny Singh, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEESBURG, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how up-to-date and clean this property was. The front desk staff was extremely cordial and responsive. I would definitely stay here again, should the need arise. Way to go BW!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Mr Thomas,
Thanks for the kind words. We try to keep this property as clean as we can. That's what the first thing the guests would like. We are keeping up the property and we do renovations time to time.
Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Sunny Singh, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My sister lives in South Park (one of the nicer areas of Charlotte). We had hoped to avoid charges for a rental car by staying in a place that was walking distance from her house. But none of the high-priced luxery hotels we looked into had pillowtop mattresses, which is a requirement because of my wife's artheritis. But the Best Western Sterling DOES have pillowtop mattresses, so we got the rental car and stayed at the Best Western. Besides having nights of good sleep, we also enjoyed the decor, the amenities, and the free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank HENRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you Henry. We try to be competetive as much we can and try to give more to our guests .
Thank you for your kind words and being our valued guest.
Hope to see you again,
Sunny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Address: 242 East Woodlawn Road, Charlotte, NC 28217-2202 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#64 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing