We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's rest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Ranked #70 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how up-to-date and clean this property was. The front desk staff was extremely cordial and responsive. I would definitely stay here again, should the need arise. Way to go BW!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank THOMAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hello Mr Thomas,
Thanks for the kind words. We try to keep this property as clean as we can. That's what the first thing the guests would like. We are keeping up the property and we do renovations time to time.
Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Sunny Singh, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

My sister lives in South Park (one of the nicer areas of Charlotte). We had hoped to avoid charges for a rental car by staying in a place that was walking distance from her house. But none of the high-priced luxery hotels we looked into had pillowtop mattresses, which is a requirement because of my wife's artheritis. But the Best Western Sterling DOES have pillowtop mattresses, so we got the rental car and stayed at the Best Western. Besides having nights of good sleep, we also enjoyed the decor, the amenities, and the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank HENRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you Henry. We try to be competetive as much we can and try to give more to our guests .
Thank you for your kind words and being our valued guest.
Hope to see you again,
Sunny Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was great, had a great location and easy access to anything in Charlotte. The train station was located a block over which made transportation very easy. Cassandra was excellent and went above and beyond anything we could have asked for. Great job all around!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Baine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello Baine,
Thanks for being our valued guest and your kind words. Yes, Cassandra is a great asset to us and she is working here for more than 10 years and knows most our repeate guests.
We try give our 100% to everyone who walks in our Hotel.
Yes, we are very conveniently located and you will have access to most of the places and things around Charlotte.
Thanks again,
Sunny Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Room was small compare to the other BW hotels we've stayed, but we are OK with it overall. Location was also OK. The problem we had was with the bathroom. The big bath towels looked grey instead of white, and smelled like they were used to clean caulk, or stacked wet for days after washed with cheap detergent. We had to use the small towels instead, which were whiter and smelled cleaner. The bathtub drain was also very slow. It was late at night so we did not bother to report and replace the towels, but just reported when we left the next morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lori_MWBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Going to downtown, it is a great price with wonderful staff they were finishing renovations on the room at the end of the hall. Only a 2 minute walk from train station to get to and from downtown without dealing with traffic. Now the bad news, we had two rooms one king bed one with double beds, all three beds were rock hard, debated sleeping in the desk chair or on the floor for a more comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hello Robert,
I am sorry that you have to sleep on a hard bed. Sometimes people like those hard bed.
We could have moved to a more comfortable bed. I don't know if you asked the front desk.
Again I am sorry for your inconvenience. Hope to see you again and we can help you a better room with softer bed in the future.
Sincerely,
Sunny Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have nothing nice to say, therefore I shall say nothing. The one redeeming feature is that the employees are very nice. Get this...they sent a van to pick us up at the airport with a nearly flat tire. The girl said, I told them about that!

Room Tip: Try the Hampton Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBaronVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

nice place, updated rooms with a pleasant front desk staff. Van service is slow but I would go back regardless. Check in and out was quick. Decent breakfast, waffles, juice, etc.....I stayed at Ramada down the road but will never do that again. I enjoyed my stay at Best Western, will make this my first stop when in Charlotte.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hello Mr Illenev,
Thanks for the nice words. Yes, we have very clean rooms and a decent breakfast including sausage and omlettes and many other items.
Thanks for being a valued guests for us.
You are welcome anytime .
Thanks again,
Sincerely,
Sunny Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#115 of 180 in Charlotte
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites

Address: 242 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2202 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $96 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing