We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is no plus hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
Ranked #80 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is no plus hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

so bad i dont know where to start.i have stayed in other best western plus hotels and this one failed everywhere,outdated rooms un comfortable beds electric sockets/lights that did not work,rude uncarring staff. they ran out of sample shampoo.breakfast was cheap.airport shuttle driver could not drive one block out of his way to get me to my rental car company so i had to be dropped off and walk the block with no sidewalk over a train overpass.The blessing here was that on my walk i found Embassy Suites and spent the rest of my stay there as soon as my 2 days at bwp was over.my wife complained numerous times and left her number but the gm never returned her calls.as a us airways flight attendant told us its close to the airport but at the lower end of where there used to staying.

Room Tip: stay at Embassy suites south tyron rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Mr Steve R,
I am sorry for your inconvenience at our Hotel. I did talk to your wife and heard everything she had to say. Maybe you got the room which needed some work. We could have moved you to any other room. I don't know if you had asked the front desk.
We are a very busy Hotel with the Pilots and Crews staying with us and we have to go to Airport very often. Steve asked the driver to drop him off at the corner of Woodlawn and Tryon Street. The driver did not know where your rental car place was and he had to run to the Airport to pick up someone at the same time you asked.
I don't mind driving someone in my car and drop them off . I was not at the Hotel that day.
I am sorry again that you feel about our Hotel this way. We are always there to help our guests in any way. Yes we fixed the socket in the room you stayed.
Our breakfast is great. We everything but the meat item since the health department won't let us serve it. We tried in the past and was written up and fined by the Health Dept.
We are a very valued and a great Hotel for the price and location. Everything is free besides the room , tax and long distance phone calls.
I apologize again and hope you stay with us in the future.
Thank you for your review,
Sunny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    125
    85
    42
    36
See reviews for
108
107
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This plus property is convenient to the airport. The check attendant was efficient and friendly. I had called ahead to request a not so firm mattress and a room away from the street. My husband and I both have some health issues and the mattress comfort is important for us. The staff was very accommodating. The motel was very clean. The breakfast was complimentary basic continental fare. We did have a problem with the iron so you may want to check it out in advance of the morning rush. We requested a wake up call for 6:30 and the phone rang at 5:45 which was very disappointing. Those things aside we had a good stay and would recommend it if your in the area and are looking for comfort, cleanliness and a good value for the money.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracylee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is a great value for this area. The breakfeast was as expected. The eating area was kept exceptionaly clean throughout our stay. There were always seats and everything seemed well organized. The Female Desk Staff was friendly and courtieous. The rooms were clean and fresh. The bathroom could surly use an updating and the air conditioning unit worked fine, but if you need total quiet it won't work for you. Overall I would return.

Room Tip: Hotel is located on a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank det683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The day before(@4pm) we checked in I needed to change my room from a king bed to two doubles, on the phone the guy was short with me and there was a $10.00 upcharge. I called the 877# and did not get any help from there. The lady was clueless on what to do! she said I had to talk to the hotel. When we did checked in(945pm) the guy was short again. Checked out the bathroom and it was fine but we needed one more set of towels and he was just RUDE, did not put his phone down and kind of threw them on the counter. The room was clean and neat bed and pillows were fine we all sleep well. The breakfast was what I was expecting, she was nice and asked how was everything. lady at check out was fine(6AM) over all the hotel was fine for a one night stay If you need something to eat and drink McKoy's smokehouse just a cross the street two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisA917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is a very nice hotel to stay in for business. It is conveniently located right off I-77 and has many nearby places to eat. The value for this hotel was in my opinion excellent as the rooms were large and comfortable, clean and well kept and the continental breakfast did offer a good selection. The hours for the breakfast were also convenient as we had to get an early start and were still able to get a bite to eat before heading out. Would I stay here again? Definitely!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was very happy with the Best Western Motel. I slept good, enjoyed breakfast and the employees were very helpful with check-in and check-out. I have stayed there before and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for the nice words Robert. You are always welcome at our Hotel.
Please let us know if we can improve further in any area.
Thanks again,
Sunny Singh, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing to complain about, just convenient, clean, quiet, with comfortable king size bed, at an affordable rate, exactly what a long distance traveler needs. The breakfast is not what I liked, too many carbs, the boiled eggs sealed in plastic bags could not be fresh, I guess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Thanks for nice comments and you are always wellcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
Address: 242 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#64 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing