We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed of rocks” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
Ranked #80 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Danville, Virginia, Usa
1 review
“Bed of rocks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The bed was as hard as rocks. After a night sleep our bodies were sore. The room also smelled like stale smoke. We did not even want to shower because the bathroom was so disgusting! I would not stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kbel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnysingh7, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Kbel,
I am sorry to hear regarding the bed. Not all the beds are hard or soft. Everyone has their own choice.
I don't know if you informed the front desk regarding changing the room since bed was hard. We have some rooms with very nice soft beds. We can hold a room with soft bed if you had requested for on your reservation or called me.
I personally take care of the request of my guests and try to satisfy them.
I am sorry again for your inconvenience. Please see me when you are in town next time and I will give you a discount and try to get you a room with a soft bed.
Thanks again,
Sunny Singh, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    125
    85
    42
    36
See reviews for
108
107
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great! I needed something cheap for several nights and this place had everything I wanted for my stay. I will definitely choose this hotel again for my next trip to Charlotte!

Pros: The room was huge and it looked like everything was relatively new. The carpet was clean, the furniture was nice and the bed was super comfy. There was a new and clean mini fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and had a nice waterfall shower head. I expected the water pressure to be terrible with it, but the pressure was excellent. Breakfast was great, with waffles, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. The hotel itself was clean, well lit and close to several places to eat and only a short drive to downtown and things like the Southpark mall.

Cons: The staff wasn't super friendly but definitely not rude either. The cable tv didn't have the largest number of channels and the channel listing in the room was not accurate at all. The toilet ran on its own every once in a while which was a little annoying when I was in my room. The only real thing that really irked me about my stay was that I had NO view. My view was of an AC unit on the roof....terrible.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgirl_364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great place to stay in the city of Charlotte. Convenient - Great location close to train station with friendly, helpful staff. Good eating nearby. Free breakfast is limited.
Sadly the rate was a inflated for CIAA tournament.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clementine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Best Western. We traveled from Charleston to attend the Bobcats vs the Lakers which was also a great game. The breakfast was good, and location. The only thing that I would change is the cable tv service, other than that I would recommend to others and we would stay as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was very impressed with my room, very clean and the perfect temperature for me. Close enough to downtown but not in all the traffic hassle... Will definitely stay here next time I come to Charlotte!! The Staff was extremely friendly and willing to help with anything I needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jolena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
Address: 242 E Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#64 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing