We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient But....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manteca, California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient But....”
Reviewed May 23, 2010

the hotel is badly in need to a redo. The positive points are close to airport, shuttle available, restaurant open late. The negative is the hotel is dark and on the dirty side. Our room had an odor and a loud hum coming through the wall from somewhere. Would stay at another hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    181
    94
    39
    16
See reviews for
109
97
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I recently visited this hotel while in Charlotte on business. I booked through priceline which stated this was rated 3 1/2 stars which I think is an overrating. I would give it a 2, maybe 2 1/2 star rating.

I will start with the good: It is conventionally located close to Charlotte airport and minutes from downtown Charlotte. The beds were really comfortable and so were the pillows. It was one of the most firm mattresses that I ever slept on in a hotel. The place is overall nice but is dated. The rooms are fitted with a few chairs and a flat screen TV (about 32"). There is a free airport shuttle that will take you to the airport including the rental car agencies.

Now the not so good: The place needed a good cleaning. The room had red spots (maybe wine) on the carpet. A lightbulb was out in the bathroom. The tub drain was slow and the towel rack was inside the shower. The dining and room service is expensive. There are limited channels on the TV because they want you to pay for in room movies and gaming. There is no free internet and you had to pay 2.95 for 2 hours and local phone calls were $1.00 each. There was no refrigerator in the room. While the room was nicer you can tell some things were dated. The pool looked dirty and it appeared that a cleaning machine was on the pool deck for over 24 hours. The hot tub was covered with wood boards. The staff was incompetent and made an error on my billing which was resolved after making a call to the hotel when I got home.

I think this hotel is over rated in the star rating. I have stayed in much nicer 2 and 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandthud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I loved the hotel, beautiful lobby, nice rooms, great beds, friendly staff but the menu was limited and the options heavy on carbs. We had to rent a car to avoid eating the same menu seven days a week. The food is pricy , the selection very limited and not great, no fridges so that we could have healthy options in our room. The lunch buffet menu was better but we could not face the evening menu another night.

Travellers beware, we were advised by our limo driver not to cross the street to the local gas station at night, it was not safe. Also the cab drivers totally ripped us off. and even getting a cab seems to be at the whim of the dispatcher (checker cabs) and they do not accept credit cards
I would definately recommend the hotel but you need a car to get around and be safe

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherineOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

My husband and I are relocating from Boston to Atlanta and are traveling with our dog, so must stay at a dog friendly hotel. Sheraton is a dog friendly hotel that does not charge a fee and we decided to stay at this location while making our way down to Atlanta. The hotel was absolutely out dated, which is fine, however, they post warning signs all over the doors and in the hotel rooms regarding security. I guess this is not the best area of Charlotte, however we only witnessed one car break in while staying there last night. Also, the windows to not lock or close all the way, so you can really hear the planes taking off and landing throughout the night. I would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel. There has to be others that allow pets, like the Holiday Inn. I would avoid at all causes. Also - they do not offer free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alazaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Drove down from Statesville and stayed here 12/23/09 since we were flying out of CLT at 7:45am the next morning for a cruise. The lobby appears to have been recently renovated though I found it to be darkish. We opted for the park & fly. We had been told if you stay at the Sheraton the parking is free. NOT SO. We booked our room through Hotwire for $80 per night. We had to pay $20 to park there Thurs., Fri. and Sat. nights because we had not booked with Sheraton. (Learning experience). We requested a king NS room & were told that is what we had. We opened the door to our room and it was two double beds! We called down to the front desk & they offered to change it, but it was no big deal. The internet fee was $5.95 for TWENTY MINUTES! Forget it! The room itself was also dark; dark beige walls and ugly dark pictures on the wall. The carpeting was NASTY and in severe need of being replaced. In fact, when we opened the door from the hallway to the bedroom (Rm. 427), the carpeting in the hallway was different from the nasty room carpeting which didn't even MEET the hallway carpeting! A nice gaping line with no carpeting! The bathroom was okay.....lighting was better in there than the bedroom area. They are scrimping on their toiletries these days! Also, the blankets on our beds had seen better days! Worn and pilling! WORST BEDS WE HAD EVER TRIED TO SLEEP ON!! What happened to the 'heavenly mattresses' the Sheraton advertises? Certainly NOT at this Sheraton in Rm. 427!!!!! Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I was returning from a business trip to South Carolina that had been extended a day. To facilitate my return to Dallas, my travel agent booked me at the Sheraton Charlotte near the airport (CLT).

My requirements are pretty simple - a clean room, secure wireless internet access in the room, if possible a fitness center.

At check-in, the clerk told me there was internet available in the room for a fee. I corrected her and told her this was not right - I was told by my agent and read on the web site that internet access was free in the rooms.

I was told again NO, it required a fee. I asked to simply void my registration so I could move to another hotel that would meet my requirements. I was told again NO, you have already registered, we have charged your credit card, you cannot cancel your registration.

I asked for clarification on this statement. I was told in no uncertain terms "Sorry Charlie, you are stuck."

This is NOT the way to run a hotel or treat business travel guests. We call this a "bait and switch" tactic - I was told the hotel had free internet access in the rooms before booking. After the room was booked and my card was swiped, I was then told it was for "a fee" and my reservation was not nonrefundable.

Given this scenario, I got into my room where I found my TV did not work (was fixed a half-hour later) and the bathroom was not clean. The floor was stained and several electrical receptacles in the room were broken, loose or did not both carry electrical current!

Count me as "not going to come back to this place - it is a DUMP". Stay away - it is a 'bait and switch' hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM75205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I arrived late-ish, tired from a grueling trip and emotionally bruised from an encounter with a rental car company. I was greeted with kindness and made to feel welcome. The lobby was beautiful, the room impeccably clean and quite attractive (recently renovated). The wings at the bar were great (and the servers went the extra mile). The water was steaming hot, the bed soft, the pillows just right. I felt comfortable and slept well. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Airport North
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlotte Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlotte Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#67 of 178 in Charlotte
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel
Address: 3315 Scott Futrell Dr, Interstate 85 and Billy Graham Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28208-3551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Carolinas, Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel is just two miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport, accessible with our complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Charlotte Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Charlotte
Charlotte Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing