We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to Complain About”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University Area
Ranked #121 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I don't find there was anything wrong with this motel. If you go into a motel with high standards and expectations of five star type quality, you will end up disappointed. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. They had a basic breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, and pastries, and had cans of soda for 75 cents each in vending machines. The rooms had refrigerators, and they were rather spacious. Not much else to ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff was friendly, price was right but nothing fancy. Breakfast was donuts and juice or coffee, nothing more. Bedding was nothing wonderful and bottom sheet would not stay on bed. Older hotel close in interstate, neighborhood was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had to go to Charlotte again in the last week of May. I have been staying at Days Inn, but they were sold out. I unwillingly, booked a room at Rodeway Inn. Building out look was impressing (brick) with nice parking lot. Rooms were "just okay", nothing much to say about bed, carpet and bathroom. The pool was closed and they do not offer free local calls. I should have booked Days Inn, as usual, where I get free bottle of water, local calls and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FallsViewNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We came to charlotte for a concert at the verizon amphitheater. For only one night, based on other reviews & the price we decided to stay here. The rooms were standard of an older hotel but clean with mini fridge. There was not a coffee maker but we called front desk & they promptly brought one to our room. The location was not in the greatest of neighborhoods but we did not feel unsafe. It was a little further to the concert than we anticipated but not too bad. We had to leave the light/fan in bathroom on to help drown out the road noise as well. Overall a good experience & would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank native2sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A really good motel run by some very nice, friendly people.

Basic facilities, but clean, quiet and a good sized room.

The owners went out of their way to make my stay a success - keeping the cleaners away from my room the following morning while I finished off some business, way past the checkout time.

Pretty basic breakfast as others have said, but no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I recently took a trip to Charlotte to attend a concert Verizon and to enjoy the " Nascar Experience" at the Clt Motor Speedway. I chose this motel based on the location, cost, and reviews. I am always a little concerned with booking a motel without seeing it in person because sometimes the pics you see online tend look better than the real thing. The room was very clean, i felt safe, a/c was cold, had a large bathroom and the employees were very helpfull and friendly. The location to the two events we were there to attend was excellent. The breakfast was basically coffee, juice and a danish but really did not expect much more than that. I would definately recommend the motel and stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

An older motel in a less-affluent part of northeast Charlotte, but the location was perfect as it was the next exit down from IKEA, our primary destination (where we went on a massive spending spree, I might add!) The motel was also only eight or so miles southwest of Concord Mills, though we didn't buy anything there - just nice to window shop. The motel premises seemed safe, the room and bathroom was clean, no complaints about the bedding - interesting though that the pillows were all rose pink, even the extras we requested from the front desk. Breakfast was pretty spartan as could be expected with a budget chain - just your usual donuts and pastries, coffee and watered down juice. Interesting to see an archaic Pepsi outside the office and a similar vintaged snack machine with integrated microwave (?strange?) in the lobby.

Room Tip: All the rooms open to the outside, and I would recommend staying on the lower floor near the office...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ec_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.4 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#113 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#115 of 178 in Charlotte
205 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University Area

Address: 1416 W Sugar Creek Rd, Charlotte, NC 28262-4942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When all your need is a solid deal on a simple stay book with the Rodeway Inn University Area hotel in Charlotte, NC. We are off Interstate 85 and near I-77. You'll find plenty of other sites and activities nearby, some of which include: University of North Carolina at Charlotte Charlotte Convention Center Charlotte Motor Speedway Charlotte hotel also provides easy access to numerous grocery stores and restaurants throughout the area. Our property provide a fresh clean room for a good night sleep a nice, hot shower with great water pressure to wake you up, and a good cup of coffee to keep you going. Amenities at our budget hotel in Charlotte include: Free grab and go breakfsst Free WIFI Free coffee Affordable rooms take your budget into consideration, so you can focus on the experience and not on your wallet. When your're ready to settle in for the night our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TV and more! Enjoy the best combination of cozy accommodations friendly service wonderful amenities and affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing