We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location for Panthers' games, a few minor problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #30 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Va.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location for Panthers' games, a few minor problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Booked two rooms less than a week before we stayed there -- the night before the Panthers-Redskins football game. Glad the hotel had rooms available, we did not get a great deal on the room rates, but at the last minute I'm not complaining. Rooms were quite clean, not too large, a comfortable bed. One room had a king, the other room had two doubles-the rooms were across the hall from each other, not next door as was indicated, but not a problem for us. Staff was uniformly helpful and friendly. The hotel housed a lot of football fans that night and the staff seemed at ease handling their requests.
It's an easy 5-10 minute walk to Bank of America stadium. It was great to wake up, have breakfast and walk over to the game. If you're heading to Charlotte for a football game, a downtown hotel is the way to go (downtown is called Uptown in Charlotte).
We checked out of the hotel before the game and when it was over, we walked back to the hotel garage, hopped in the car, drove out of the garage and we were on the interstate in about 5 minutes. When I think of the gridlock that defines leaving FedEx Field in Washington, D.C., this was a breeze.
The problems--the sink dripped and you could hear it in the bedroom, but placing a wash cloth in the sink muffled the noise. There was no hot water for a shower around 8 a.m. that Sunday morning, lukewarm at best. We did not call maintenance, as we were meeting friends for breakfast, and knew there would be time for a shower when we got back. The front desk did say we should have called and let them know-- the room was on the 10th floor by the way. The teen-agers in the other room said they had plenty of hot water in the morning. TV reception was fine after the first 30 seconds--lots of blinking at first. And no towel racks-just a few inadequate hooks. Aside from the lack of hot water Sunday morning, all else was no big deal.
$18 for parking wasn't great, but I was prepared for it from earlier TA reviews, and the $10 internet access fee seems nit-picking in this day and age.
We took the train (light rail) to dinner Saturday night, the track is at the back of the hotel.
The best of all -- walking over to the Westin Hotel (2 blocks away) on Saturday night, the Redskins were staying there, and getting autographs and photos of Chris Cooley and Santana Moss. Priceless.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    437
    204
    78
    49
See reviews for
213
316
80
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel overnight. It was clean and the room was well appointed. Room was not small or large - kinda medium sized. Bathroom was large enough (one sink). We didn't use any of the amenities or eat in any of the restaurants. The rate was fair but I do warn you of the $16/night park it yourself parking which is just next to the hotel. I find those kind of rates abusive in southern cities. We aren't used to being gouged like that.
Staff (we only saw two the whole time) was friendly enough. You can hear people coming and going from their rooms in the morning hours (as is the case with most hotels).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whalewatchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

I chose this hotel since it was only 2 blocks away from the Time Warner Cable Arena (formerly the Bobcats Arena). I was in town to see the American Idols Live Tour, and I was not disappointed.

I booked a room for only $89 per night with a Visa special being offered at the time. Imagine my surprise when I was upgraded at check-in to a 2-room suite! I guess it pays to be a Hilton HHonors VIP. The Executive Lounge was closed the weekend of my stay, so they offered me coupons for complimentary appetizers in the Coastal Bar and complimentary breakfast for 2 in the Coastal Restaurant or room service. Very nice gesture!

The suite itself was gorgeous, with a 40 inch plasma TV in both the living room and the bedroom. The Hilton "Serenity Bed" truly gave me a great night's sleep. It also looked like the room had been very recently renovated. (See my photos.)

I really do not understand why some of the other reviewers have complained about the parking situation. $18 per night is not unheard of to self-park overnight in a major city. In fact, that would be a bargain in Atlanta, New York, or San Francisco. I chose the $25 valet parking option, since it would have cost $20 to park for just 4 hours within a 5 block radius of the arena at which the concert I was attending was being held. It was so convenient to be able to walk just 2 blocks and be at the concert.

My only complaint would be the understaffing in the Coastal Bar. After the concert, the bar was completely full. The wait for a sandwich was approximately one hour. There was one bartender and only one server trying to wait on about 25 tables. They food was great, however, once it finally arrived.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel if you are attending a concert nearby or have business in Uptown Charlotte. I have stayed at dozens of Hilton Hotels, and this is definitely one of the nicest hotels they have in a downtown location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SC_Hawaii_Traveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

This hotel was very nice. It was a stop over on a road trip as there is not much to do in Charlotte. The hotel was a bit pricey (yes I realize it is a Hilton) but on top of room costs they wanted an extra $10 a night for internet and $20 for health club and pool privileges, this on top of paying additional for parking as well. I realize this is mostly a hotel for business people but my friend and I were a bit disappointed at the $10 for internet access. Only saving grace was free access to the business center where there is internet (although you can only access it for 20 minutes at a time before it logs you out).

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank augirl41184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

Very nice hotel but I wouldn't choose it again for leisure, unless I was planning to downtown...you need to pay for parking and I didn't find downtown Charlotte much for a visitor. Hotel restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night before flying out the next morning for our honeymoon. Check in took less than a minute; the staff was very friendly and really took care to make sure everything went as smoothly as possible. For example, I had a friend picking our car up from the hotel the next morning, the valet held the car out front while changed out of my tuxedo and brought it back down to put in the car. When my friend came the next day to get the car it was already out front and waiting. He didn't even have to call. My wife left also left a bag in the hotel and the staff retrieved it and held it with the valet ticket behind the desk.

The next morning we walked to the front, checked out in less than a minute and grabbed a waiting cab and were at the airport in 10 minutes.

Zero effort on my part; it was great. The room was well decorated, very clean, had an excellent shower, and was very quiet. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UNC_SOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

great hotel
good food
taxis in hotel very expensive
very difficult to get meter taxi
have to walk a couple of blocks for restaurant and nightlife

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — difficult to get meter taxis
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sumanthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#35 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing