We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #28 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Friendly staff, quiet rooms but the physical internet connection in my particular room was disabled and covered with electrical tape. The staff as a whole was very friendly and that is refreshing in a world where good or great customer service is becoming a lost craft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Ken L., Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We sincerely appreciate your kind remarks about our team. As for the internet connection, we recently converted to the new AT&T wireless network which offers our guests a very high bandwidth and connectivity reliability. The connection you are referring to has since been disabled and replaced with covers. I am truly sorry that this particular input was missing its cover and has since been replaced. We hope to see you on your next trip to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Recently stayed at he Hilton Charlotte Center City for a business trip. Was very close to both work locations, which was a plus. The breakfast buffet was fair and pricey. The drinks at the bar were pricey as well. That said, my room was clean, and it had an in room safe to house my laptop.

Don't leave the hotel late at night. Drunks and vagrants line the streets looking for hand outs and in some cases - trouble.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floors myself. Hotel does have a YMCA free for guests to use, which is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Phil A., Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your comments about the hotel and our team. As for the vagrants, with any downtown location there are a few homeless but being the second largest financial city behind New York we have an extremely diligent police department that maintains a great presence in the downtown area. It is an extremely safe area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The rooms are typical hilton, but very disappointed with the stuff that turns a hotel stay from fine to lousy. 1. bad technology for room key cards. magnetic strip goes bad, get to room and can't get in, have to go back to front desk (too few elevators for a 22 floor hotel so long ride) to get into room. 2. no fitness center in the hotel (crazy for a big hotel chain) but attached to the ymca through the mall. unfortunately the health club has limited hours (for example not open at 730 am on a saturday morning. 3. staying on the executive floor-- the executive lounge coffee machine is broken, no coffee available. and no one working in the lounge. called front desk from l and was told nothing they could do. Really?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brizillatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear brizillatravel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am sincerely sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We take great pride in our 4-Diamond service and it is extremely upsetting to see we did not make your stay an enjoyable one. I have shared your comments with our operations team so they can address each item with their team to prevent these types of issues happening in the future. In regards to our fitness center we have partnered with the YMCA as our fitness center for our guests to use complimentary. It is a great facility that was just renovated last year and offers our guests an amazing selection of equipment to use. I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us another opportunity to show you a true Hilton Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Rooms and service are fine. Centrally located for daytime or early evening activities. No snack shop available in the wee hours. No sleep timer on the TV. Weird lobby/restaurant configuration. It's fine but nothing to write home about. When traveling to Charlotte the Hilton is not my first choice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank joshuac24v15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear joshuac24v15, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am sincerely sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide 4-Diamond service and accommodations and I am truly sorry this was not the case in regards to your stay. We have a great gift shop open until 11pm then we do offer snacks and drinks for sale at the front desk after hours. I apologize this was not mentioned to you upon your arrival and will work with our team to communicate this to our guests. I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us another opportunity to show you a true Hilton Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, wonderful stay! I called the day of to see if a room was available, when I arrived they treated me like they we expecting us. Hotel was impressive and they offered to valet park or I could park myself. I parked myself and it was easy to do and had quick safe access to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 392dianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear 392dianem, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I enjoyed the Hilton very much. It was very accomdating. The atomosphere was very welcoming. I used the work out facilities and really enjoyed the many different workout stations and also the other excersize options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Joseph J., Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the YMCA. It is an absolutely great facility and we are proud to offer that amenity to our guests. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent room with great service. I was pleased with all aspects of the stay with the exception of the slow internet speeds, especially in the conference rooms and suites. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. Staff was helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Thomas B., Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, however I am sorry for the internet speed. We were able to identify a bad router that was reset and the system is currently working at 100%. I am truly glad you brought this to our attention so it can be fixed immediately. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,592 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#59 of 180 in Charlotte
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $134 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing