We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Charlotte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #30 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the location is wonderful if your interested in seeing the city. Everything is in walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. I did think the price was a bit high for the accommodations, but overall was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Lisa L: Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was happy to hear that you found our hotel to be beautiful and that you enjoyed our Center City location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

A must stay location. I have stayed at many hotels in the area and find this to be the best overall bang for the buck. and the staff are awesome.Close to every thing you want to do. If you go on a football weekend you may get to see the other teams players.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Art H: It was great to hear that you found our hotel to be the “best overall bang for the buck” in the Charlotte area. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to have you return to our hotel soon! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Charlotte City Center for a business trip, and I have stayed here at least a half-dozen times over the past 5 years. One of the things I like is the convenient access to the YMCA which is adjacent to the hotel. You can access it from the hotel's third floor. The guest rooms are clean and good-sized, mine had a very nice flat screen with HD reception, a nice feature. The hotel is in a great location, centrally-located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of numerous restaurants, businesses, and attractions such as the NASCAR museum and Bank of America stadium where the Panthers play. I can recommend this hotel for business travelers and families looking to experience Charlotte.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msh305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Msh305: Thank you very much for being a repeat guest, and for your loyalty. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you would recommend our hotel for business travelers as well as families. We look forward to having you stay with us again. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I were here the weekend of Oct 19th 2013 and we were extremely happy with this hotel. Location was ideal to everything downtown. We walked everywhere. rooms was super nice for the money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Maureen B: Thank you for staying with us in October, and thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor! It was awesome to hear that you were extremely happy with our hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the Hilton that is closest to my office in downtown Charlotte. I had been urging friends and associates to use it for several years, but this was the first time I used it due to a meeting. The common areas of the hotel are very nice and the physical facility is quite attractive. The meeting space is good and well managed. In fact, I would say that the F&B is the best part of this franchise. Our meals for our meeting were well done, attactive and plentiful. Unfortunately, my issues were on the rooms side. On check in I was given room 1215. After carting everything upstairs, my key did not work. I went back to the front desk. The lady there told me that it was likely that the battery in the door was going out. If I had any further issues, I could call on the house phone in the elevator lobby and someone would be right up. I received my key and went up to my room. Later that night, after a large meal and several drinks, I want back to my room and the key would not work again. So, I did as directed--called on the house phone. And waited...and waited...and waited for 20 minutes until a very slow-moving security person tottered up the hall. I remarked that "I am not happy about how long this took you to come up..." All I got was a shrug. While I got into my room, the security person and her supervisor messed with the door for most of another 30 minutes. Then they left and came back another 30 minute later with a replacement key. All I wanted by that point was to go to bed. My perception was that they did not care. It was not a problem they could easily solve. They did not apologize or give me any idea of how long their repairs would take. No manager called. In short--annoying, slow, uncaring service for something we take for granted--coming in and going out of our room. The room was fine--very nice, in fact. But the experience ruined by what I think must be an ongoing problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear jgwynn – Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am very glad to see you enjoyed the food & beverage that the hotel offered for your meeting. Our F&B team is extremely proud of their quality of work and this shows in their care and presentation for our guests for each and every event we host.
I am sincerely sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your lock. I can assure you that this is not typical and I am extremely disappointed to hear the staff’s reaction and lack of response to fix the problem. I will communicate this to our chief engineer and director of security to ensure this type of problem does not happen again in the future.
I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us another opportunity to earn back your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend here while in town to see a Panther game. I was most impressed by the courteous front desk staff, and the lovely bartender. Both went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room was well appointed and spotless!!
We will return each time we visit Charlotte. Love it!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TaoFrisco_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

TaoFrisco_NC: Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for sharing your feedback! It was great to hear that you will stay with us again next time your travels bring you to Charlotte. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed hear for a 3 day trip to Charlotte and wanted to be able to walk most everywhere. The Hilton is conveniently located within a 5 minute walk to most areas in downtown Charlotte. The hotel is a little outdated but the rooms are very modern. I especially like the YMCA fitness center (connected to hotel near lobby) which is the gym you get to use by staying here. We went to the Giants/Panthers football game and the hotel wass full of football fans and an easy walk to the game.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Matthew N: Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Charlotte! I’m glad that you enjoyed our convenient Center City location as well as the YMCA connected to our hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again next time your travels bring you to Charlotte. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#35 of 180 in Charlotte
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#57 of 180 in Charlotte
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $116 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing