We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Overall The Hilton Charlotte City Center was good experience. The lobby was nice and hotel room was clean, though average. The housekeeping service was really nice and free water was great. The hotel allowed me to store my bags after checkout so I could explore the city which was nice. The hotel was conveniently located near the Convention center, stadium and public transportation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lajuana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Lajuana W: Thanks for your review! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient center city location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    446
    209
    81
    51
See reviews for
217
325
81
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least 20 times. My stay is always excellent and this stay was no different. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, the service is great. The only issue I ever experience at this hotel is a slow check in. I always seem to arrive when they are busy or they are always busy. If they could improve the speed of the check in the hotel would be exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Brian M., Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We are extremely glad to have you stayed with us so many times! Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and the rooms. I will be sure to communicate this to the entire team during our weekly meetings. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for couple of nights to attend a conference at the hotel's facilities. Rooms are nice. Location is great...right in the center of downtown with lots of place to got eat. The gym was phenomenal. All in all it was a good stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldinNH603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear coldinNH603: Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the gym to be phenomenal. Hope you enjoyed the conference! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms are much better than they appear from the hallways. The lobby is welcoming and staff is polite. Great location, close to EVERYTHING you need downtown! Our stay was a bit noisy, but I would blame the girls in the hall more than the hotel. I wish they offered a complimentary breakfast or an airport shuttle, but I guess that's reserved for a perfect world. Besides, the price is good and free wi-fi is always a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 81TeaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 81TeaBird, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding the team here and the hotel. We are extremely proud of our hotel and your words support that. I am sorry to hear that your room was a bit noisy; we do have a 24 hour security team that walks the hotel to ensure our guests have a quite and relaxing stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel offers a perfectly fine option for downtown Charlotte. I don’t have anything particularly great to say, but likewise I have no complaints either.

My room was large enough, stylish, and modern and had everything I need (inroom ironing facilities, wifi, a good-size work desk etc…).

Easy and convenient 5min walk to the Convention Centre… although it is an outdoor walk so consider the weather. Also a very short walk to lots of dining options and the NASCAR museum.

Onsite and undercover parking facilities available.

Free wireless internet for handheld devices and laptops. My coverage and speed was always good in the guest rooms and public areas.

My only disappointment was with the gymnasium. There is no onsite gym, but hotel guests receive complimentary visits to the YMCA gym (attached via skybridge). However, I wanted to workout on a Sunday, and the YMCA gym is closed on Sunday!

Because of the location and nice rooms, I would recommend this place, and I would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear manasicaje, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and its amenities and proximity to the convention center and other sites in the Charlotte uptown area. I understand you’re disappointed in the limited weekend hours of the YMCA. The Y is about to undergo a major renovation. During this time it will still be open for normal business hours and our guests will be minimally affected. We are hoping when they are completed with their renovations they will be extending their hours on weekends so our guests can take full advantage of this incredible fitness facility. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything a Hilton has to offer, better guest services and accommodations than most Hilton's or grand Hyatt. Location is excellent and the staff highly professional and skilled at customer relations. The only complaint is the price of sundries. A little steep $6 per small water.

Very clean, odor free and terrific food! Loved it!

Room Tip: Stay away from the backside air conditioners. They never turn off. Face the west or north. Upper roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmtaintor, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Chris M., Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte Center City. I am sincerely glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the team here. We are very excited to receive such reviews and I will be sure to communicate this to the team. In regards to the water, I am unsure as to what you would be referring to. We offer complimentary water in our guest rooms for all our guests. Please feel free to contact me at Lee.Taintor@hiltoncentercity.com and let me know where you purchased water for $6.00 so I can be sure to address this with our team. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was here for a weekend wedding. The room was perfect! Comfy bed, clean, and quiet. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown Charlotte and there were several good restaurants and bars near by. Hotel was also close to a little park where you can go enjoy an outdoor lunch while soaking in the sun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyy0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear cindyy0424: Thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor! It was great to hear that the room was perfect and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you return soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing