We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location - No Pool for Children Until Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 East Third Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great Location - No Pool for Children Until Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location for access to Times Warner Arena & Convention Center; Hotel was very clean; People were very nice; Please be advised that while guests have access to YWCA pool from the lobby, children (under 16) are not allowed to swim until the weekend (Check hotel for exact hours).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saaisalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Saaisalle:

I am glad to hear that you were overall happy with your stay. We are extremely fortunate to have the location we have in uptown Charlotte. Being one block from Time Warner Cable Arena and the convention center and 2 great points of interest for a lot of our guests and I am very happy to hear you were able to enjoy the city!

In regards for the pool, we do have access to the YMCA for all of our guests to use during their stay, however during the week the pool is closed for children. However, we do have a partnership with an area aquatic center that we can offer to our guests during the week at no cost. I will be sure to speak with the Guest Service Team to ensure they are all aware of this and are offering this to our guests who stay with us mid week with Children.

I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    382
    180
    72
    43
See reviews for
178
275
72
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for business and had two different rooms. My first room was on a lower floor and smelled like smoke and was noisy. The second night I had a higher floor with great room at end of the hall way. It was awesome! Each night I had room service. I recommend the cheese plate and creme brûlée. Having a YMCA to use was awesome. I worked out twice a day loved having a gym larger than most hotel gyms. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilvshoeslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear ilvshoeslane: Thank you for staying with us and for your review! It was great to hear that you enjoyed your room on the higher floor and that you loved using the YMCA. I apologize that the first room you were assigned smelled of smoke and was noisy. We are a smoke-free hotel, so I am disappointed to hear that someone might’ve smoked in a room. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team, and remind them to address any smells in our guestrooms immediately. We look forward to your return in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Wa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'm flying back to Seattle from a business trip to NC and had to take a few minutes to commend the fine team working at the Hilton Charlotte Center City on East Third. EVERYONE I met on staff was over the top genuinely friendly and helpful. I travel a LOT and this was the most welcoming across the board hotel team I've ever met in my career.
Towards the end of my work week I approached the front desk person Chelsea about using some of my Hilton points to host local relatives the last night of my stay so we could all get up early and visit Discovery Place and IMAX before my afternoon flight. I was hoping to book two rooms for them that connected so the two children could have a two-queen room connected to a Jr. Suite with a King bedroom for their parents. Chelsea walked me thru exactly what to book on the Hilton Honors site using my points and then she personally went up to the 18th floor to look at the rooms herself to be absolutely sure they were what we had in mind--- then she put a block on them for us. Over the top!
Every room service server was kind and cheerful and the kitchen was careful to never put gluten on my plates (allergic.) The valets were the best, patient with directions and so genuinely welcoming. This morning Purcell tucked us into a town car for the quick trip to Discover Place as the children had forgotten to bring coats. (It is otherwise walkable.) He was so cordial that my relatives thought we were long-time friends. I stay Hilton about three weeks/month and have seen a wide range of service levels...these folks rock. The hotel itself and rooms are clean and spacious with all the requisites: plenty of electrical outlets where you want them, good desk/chair/lighting, comfortable bed, great towels, good water pressure. I travel enough to frankly expect those physical basics from a Hilton banner. But the attitude of the staff cannot be created by a hotel designer. Kudos to the leadership fostering the welcoming culture at this property. Thanks to them this is my go-to hotel in Charlotte and I'll be telling everyone I know who travels to that market.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with spacious bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drea389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear drea389: Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback! It was wonderful to hear about your experiences with our team. I will be sure to share your comments with our team, and celebrate Chelsea and Purcell in particular for their genuine warmth & hospitality. We look forward to your return to our hotel in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Make sure you always check your receipt before leaving. We went to 2nd Chance Prom with another couple, but stayed in two seperate rooms. At check-in we told the lady we had rode together to only be charged one $18 parking fee. After we left the next day on the way home we compared receipts and BOTH of us were charged $18.00 parking fee. Called the hotel and they would not do anything due to we had already left the hotel. ALWAYS CHECK RECEIPT BEFORE LEAVING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TPolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear TPolk:

I am sincerely sorry for the double posting on the parking charges. I am absolutely sorry that when you noticed the double charge the guest service agent was not willing to help you. I will be sure to communicate with the team member and ensure that they are empowered and have the tools and training to exceed our guest’s expectations. I will also review your bill and remove any double postings.

I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us the opportunity to earn back your trust. We are extremely proud of our 4-Diamond service and accommodations and would love the opportunity to show you why the Hilton Charlotte Center City has been a 4-Diamond property for over 10 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one night on drive back home from Orlando. I booked this hotel, as I usually like Hilton's and am an HHonors member.
Check in was fine, however we were given no overview of hotel or facilities. We had our kids with us, and had to ask about restaurant and pool. Pool closed early at 8 pm.
Restaurant was ok, no kids menu! Or if there was, we did not receive one. It was late, we were hungry. Service was slow and waitress was rude.
Biggest complaint - we were told by Valet that it was a SECURED parking lot. We took that to mean it was not only owned by Hilton, but that it was underground or 'safe'. It is NOT. As the St. Patrick's parade was the day of our check out, we had to follow the Valet guy out to get our car as streets were blocked off. Car was in an OPEN lot, by a train track! Not what I call secure, considering we'd left some luggage in there.
Room was noisy. I know hotel can't help the outside street noise, but there were people making a lot of noise and fuss in the hallways. Also, clock in the room was not changed to reflect daylight savings, which happened a week prior. Couldn't figure out how to change clock so I left it but as no one had been in our room for about a week, would have preferred one not right by the elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MelMo10:

I would like to sincerely apologize for the guest service agent not explaining any of the amenities or features of our hotel. I will be sure to follow back with the guest service agent to ensure they are explaining all of the services and amenities our hotel has to offer.

In regards to the valet lot, our lot is extremely secure. We have in place a very extensive security protocol for our valet lot. I am extremely sorry we were not able to pull the car around for you. Due to the St. Patrick’s Day parade the front entrance of our hotel was closed for a few hours and during this time we did have to escort guests to the lot.

I hope the next time your travels take you to Charlotte you will give us the opportunity to earn back your trust. We are extremely proud of our 4-Diamond service and accommodations and would love the opportunity to show you why the Hilton Charlotte Center City has been a 4-Diamond property for over 10 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would recommend if attending concert at TWC Arena. Rooms are nice, staff is pleasant. My only note is to those walking to the arena. If you leave by the back doors, you'll have to skirt the entire hotel to get back in. We were there during the St. Patty's Day celebrations (done on a Saturday), so, the streets were full that late in the evening, but, other than this bit of worry, ,our stay was great.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a great layout with a chaise lounge and a huge desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear ctofine: Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments! It was great to hear that you found our rooms to be nice and our staff pleasant. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding accessing our hotel at night. At around 11pm every night, we lock all entrances to the hotel except for the main entrance on the first floor, and this is to ensure the safety of our employees and guests. We hope to welcome you back soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed her recently to go to the P!nk concert. Was a perfect location, just a few blocks from the arena. You could tell that this is an older hotel, fixtures were a bit worn and decor needed updating. Thought it was odd that there was no mini-bar/fridge in the room. But over all a nice place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lalouque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear lalouque: Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Hope you enjoyed the Pink concert! It was great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our hotel to be a nice place to stay. I wanted to let you know that we have mini fridges available upon request. If you let our Front Desk know that you would like a mini fridge in your room, we would be happy to accommodate you. We hope to have you return to our hotel in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#39 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
No photo provided
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#59 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 East Third Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing