We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for downton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for downton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Every March, I visit downtown Charlotte for a conference. The Hilton was quick and easy at check-in, the valet was very helpful, the bellman was quick with our bags, and the walk to the convention center very short. The rooms are recently redone, the tile and glass showers, instead of bathtubs, were really nice. The beds were clean and comfortable and the rooms had an overall upscale feel. The doors to the rooms do need to be replaced. I especially enjoyed the executive level with complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the evenings and breakfast in the morning. The food was quite good and enough to make a small dinner, or decent breakfast. I recommend this hotel if you need to stay downtown, I would stay again.

Room Tip: An executive club level room will include the evening snacks and breakfast, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mksig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our Hilton in Uptown Charlotte! I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our guestroom doors. We are currently in the process of replacing all of the doors, and hope that you will enjoy the change in the near future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    439
    206
    78
    49
See reviews for
213
317
80
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

No complaints about the Hilton Center City. The bed was comfortable and the room was larger than expected. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uncvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback! I was very pleased to hear that you found our beds comfortable and your guest room larger than expected. We value appreciate comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were visiting Charlotte for a long weekend and found the hotel to be in a great location. It is very close to a multitude of dining options - all kinds of food and price points - as well as within walking distance of museums and sporting attractions.

Our hotel room was clean, a bit small, but it served us well. Good quality toiletries and complementary bottled water was a nice touch. We ordered room service one night (serves until late!) and it was quick and tasty.

The hotel's gym is actually the YMCA located in the adjoining Wells Fargo building. It was a great facility but it was unfortunate that it is closed on Sunday. In fact, be aware if you stay downtown over the weekend a lot of restaurants/businesses are closed as they mainly cater to the 9-5 business crowd. That includes the car rental place within the hotel.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay. Great staff; would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our Hilton in the heart of Uptown Charlotte! I was very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be great and that you had so many positive comments to share. Again, we truly appreciate your comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

As the name suggests, the Hilton Center City is in the heart of Charlotte's small downtown area, and minutes away from most of the activities there.
The Hotel is relatively new and modern, and the rooms have recently been renovated. The colours are somewhat unusual- purple and lime-green featuring prominently, but the design as a whole is very pleasant. The bathrooms are especially nice with large walk-in showers instead of tubs and a very modern and clean feeling.
Beds are comfortable and large.
There is a Lavazzo coffee maker and pads on hand.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful- one of the front desk employees lent me her own iPhone cable to charge my phone as I'd forgotten mine. And they always have time for a little small talk, in true Southern style.
There's plenty of parking in the buildings own lot, and all the downtown restaurants etc are easily reached by foot.
All in all, a very recommended place to stay in Charlotte.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocodiCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback! I was happy to hear that you would highly recommend our hotel to others. We’re very proud of the genuine warmth and hospitality that our team members share with our guests and each other, and we love to hear about the caring things that our team members do everyday for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Recently spent a early Valentine's weekend at the Hilton and as usual was not disappointed. Stayed on the Executive level and made use of the lounge privleges; bar & snacks in the evening, continental breakfast in the morning, free internet and use of the neighboring health club. Hotel is always clean and front desk service is courteous. This will be one of the anchor hotels for the Democratic convention later this year so expect even more sprucing up in the coming months. Have never had a bad experience at this hotel and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't pay for hotel parking; go across the street and park for $5 for the whole weekend or weekd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC-World-Traveler-Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! I was very pleased to hear that your stays with us have been nothing but great. Our executive lounge is something we are very proud of, and it’s a great amenity that we can offer as an upgrade to our guests. We’re all very excited about the upcoming DNC, and we’re getting ready for that to be a great time in Charlotte. Again, we truly appreciate your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were passing through NC on way to the smokey mountains and decided to see the city. Booked the Hilton as I have always had good experiences in staying with them across the world. However I found the service to be ordinary and indifferent. We booked a 'city view' room and was placed in a accessible room. With the bathroom not really appealing for our needs we went to reservations to see if we can change rooms. Server was efficient but disinterested and changed our rooms without fuss. However to be told "to grab our stuff to move to this room" was not the usual Hilton service we expect, no assistance for bags etc. room was a good size, comfortable bed, bad view but fine. The tv reception was sketchy... Good valet service though and a walk to most things. Would have stayed at the omni up the road if had time again. But we got a good price and served purpose

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our valet service and the location of our hotel. I was not happy to hear that we assigned you to a room that was not acceptable to you. I want to apologize for the inconvenience as well as for the way one of our team members handled the situation. We hold all of our team accountable for providing exemplary customer service.
Again, we truly appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our 4 Diamond hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
335 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Charlotte is a small walkable downtown. There is the Bank of America side and the Wachovia (Wells Fargo) side. The Hilton is more on the Wachovia side but close to center. You can walk almost anywhere from the hotel. Parking is easy - but stupid. There is a hotel deck so it's easy to find. The spaces are small and cramped but no worse that most downtown parking decks. The pain is that you take the elevators to one floor, walk through a maze to get into the hotel - then take another (different) elevator bank to get to check-in, then take the elevators again to get to your floor. If you have a lot of stuff - good luck. If you are in a hurry - good luck (these aren't the world's fastest elevators). The rooms themselves are pretty typical Hilton. The breakfast was average. There are places to eat within walking distance (but not right next door - be prepared for a 5-10 minute walk). Overall it's a good place if you need to stay downtown. If you don't then there are other easier Hilton chain options within a few minutes drive of downtown.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsimon, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your valuable comments. I agree that Uptown Charlotte is small enough to walk to many places and that our hotel has a great location within the city, which is desirable for many of our guests.
Unfortunately, we do not own the parking garage connected to our building. We’ve placed a lot of signage in order to better direct our guests to our hotel because we understand that the parking garage is not easy to navigate. Since the garage is in a separate building from our hotel, our guests do need to use two different elevators- one when in the garage and one when in our hotel.
We are proud to be the only 4 Diamond Hilton in Charlotte, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Property: Hilton Charlotte Center City
Address: 222 E 3rd St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Charlotte Center City hotel and enjoy our downtown location. Our Charlotte hotel is situated in the heart of the city across from the Charlotte Convention Center, within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and museums. Travel to the hotel from Charlotte/Douglas International Airport in just 15 minutes. Maintain fitness regimens at the local YMCA Health Club featuring the latest cardiovascular equipment, exercise classes and an Olympic-sized lap pool. Wind down in the hotel at the Coastal Bar, enjoying the atmospheric lighting and innovative cocktails. Dine in the Coastal Kitchen restaurant serving American classics with a new Southern twist. Retire to a contemporary Guest room featuring the latest multimedia technology on the 42-inch plasma TV. Get down to business at the work desk with an ergonomic chair or simply relax on the comfortable bed. Choose an executive room or suite for more space, great views of the city, and Executive Lounge privileges including a complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing