We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, SC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as a late Valentine's Day getaway and it was great. Close to the light rail and many resturants downtown. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. A nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    315
    121
    33
    22
See reviews for
129
180
38
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I traveled to Charolotte to watch Miami vs Carolina and spent two great days at this hotel. It is located right in the heart of the city, almost everything was in walking distance. The staff and appearance of this place is outstanding. If you are going to visit Charlotte, I highly recommend this hotel. In my opinion 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbgaines04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were in Charlotte for race weekend and could not have picked a better place to stay! The location was perfect to anything you could ever want or need in downtown Charlotte! It was close to bars, restaurants, and shopping which were all within walking distance. If you are in town for a Panthers game, this hotel is in a great location, only a few blocks from the stadium. The sports lounge inside the hotel was great and open late. We got back late one night and just wanted something light to eat, and Champs was the perfect place to go, and it was on site!! The only thing about the room I would have changed was to add a microwave and fridge because our left overs from the bar downstairs ended up going to waste....However, when I called and asked about a fridge the next morning, within 10 minutes they brought a loaner fridge to my room! Horse and buggy rides through the city departed from right in front of the hotel, so we took advantage of that as well. It was one of those trips that when we left we said "why didnt we come here sooner"!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwiz1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I've stayed at this property repeatedly on business over the last 10 years. Since August of this year, I've probably stayed 5-6 times. It's consistent -- but a few ups and downs.

Front desk is great. They are friendly and quick. They offer express checkin for Platinum members in peak hours.

Rooms are a little small, but functional. Recently redone, with new beds and large flat screen TVs. The Ipod docs in the clock radio are a plus to me --- i don't have to travel with my own any more! Generally, housekeeping does a good job -- attention to detail could be a little better, but no big things.

Room service is very hit or miss. Have had a number of issues with delivery time and temperature of food. You're probably better off finding something elsewhere --- even if it's downstairs at Champions -- who does a good burger.

Concierge Lounge is what sets this place apart. Staff is wonderful. They remember their guests, are incredibly friendly and always looking for ways to help. Quality / selection of food has gone down a little over the years, but service is still top notch.

This is usually my first choice in Charlotte (but I'm very much a Marriott person).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

An important business trip turned sour when I was told on arrival that the hotel had oversold and that because I was the last to arrive they had given my room away--a room I had reserved more than a month prior. Instead of putting me up at a comparable nearby hotel, they put me up in a smoking room at a crappy hotel where I got the worst night's sleep ever. Be warned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynrocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Beautiful room, very clean hotel. Our view was not so good, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We live in Charlotte and enjoyed our time uptown and the Marriott is very convenient to all the nice restaurants and bars. Very convenient to light rail, as well. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilarotes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke, va
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We travel to Charlotte approximately 8 to 10 weekends a year. These are 2 to 4 night getaways for my husband and I. We consistently stay at the Charlotte Marriott Center City. The staff has always been attentive to both our needs and wishes. The location is prime and centrally located to all the event sites we include in our stays. We love this town and all it has to offer. We would never choose to stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — Pristine comfort
  • Disliked — Everything is great!
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamarieturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#44 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#51 of 178 in Charlotte
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Property: Charlotte Marriott City Center
Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing