We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My least favorite Marriott Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I am typically a huge Marriott fan, but this time I was not impressed. I now realize I paid about double the price for a room as was a big basketball weekend. Valet service was not available the entire weekend, they said they were full several time; yet we saw plenty of empty spaces? They were kind enough to comp the overnight parking, which did impress me. The beds were comfortable, as always and we got a good first night sleep. The next day we were gone most of the day and returned at 6pm to find room was not cleaned. I called house keeping and they said they were very busy. (Really? If I'm paying double the price for a room and you booked all these rooms, make sure you have staff to support!) We came home later and found room clean, but noted an awful looking pillow case was used. Almost looked like someone stomped all over it and then put it on our bed. Overall, I was not overjoyed with my experience and will not be returning to that particular Marriott. Note: Most staff was very friendly as they normally are...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anajap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte M, Manager at Charlotte Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking your time to let us know about your experience during your stay in our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear, that your visit was inconvenienced by parking and housekeeping services. We sincerely apologize, as we strive to deliver the best hospitality experience to all our guests at all times. We hope that in the future, we will be able to have the pleasure of your visit again, and we will be able to show you the level of service that Marriott is well known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 842 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

I typically don't stay at full service hotels often, but during a snow storm in CLT my options were limited. First, this is a great location...walking distance to many restaurants downtown. Checkin was easy, i opted for valet because of weather. I think the cost was around $20. Checkin was easy, and room very nice. Small, but had everything you needed. The store in the lobby was large and had anything you might need. It is also a Starbucks. Room service was pretty fast and tasted good. Overall a great stay, although pricey for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGirl927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Met expectation as far as room, amenities, and staff. The elite lounge was very nice, with excellent snack options and service.

For most this is a non-issue and the remainder of this review should be disregarded. Full service Marriott hotels typically have a nice Entertainment bar to plug in devices (HDMI, Video, Audio etc). I actually left the Courtyard a few blocks away due to their policy not allowing any external devices to connect to TV). Unfortunately you cannot connect external devices here as well. Engineers tested and confirmed this after moving me to multiple rooms (side note - Marriott South Park had no issues with connectivity). So if you have family and want to keep kids entertained with any devices you want to connect to TV, go somewhere else. I feel that I live at Marriott hotels and I appreciate their consistency, but disappointed with this minor issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for Valentines Day. This was one of the only hotels with rooms available on Valentines Day. I was very impressed with the place as we entered the hotel. After check-in we had a drink in the hotel wine bar and then went to Epicentre for dinner (block away) so we didn't experience all the hotel had. The sports bar looked nice and the pool looked very cool. There is a Starbucks coffee that is located in the lobby so that was very nice. The room was very clean looking and bed was comfortable. My only complain was a musty smell in the room. It appeared there was a wet spot on the floor that could have been the cause. I would fault the hotel for this and it wasn't bad enough to complain. But if i was staying more then a night i would have had my room changed. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Having been stranded un Charlotte fue to the snow storm that hit the east, I found myself in this great hotel, getting the warmest welcome by the friendliest staff ever!
Rooms are spacy, comfortable desk to work, good linen, good mattress and down pillows. Ordered in room service and was again was greeted by good service and lovely teriyaki salmon salad and sorbets. Wish I could come here more
Often!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I were on our first "Staycation" since our kids were born 3 years ago. We spent the additional money to get a corner room with a King-size bed. We checked in only to find that were were given a standard room right by the elevator. One call alter, the staff apologized and instead of fighting with us, offered us the top floor presidential suite. The suite was fantastic and the staff all around was very attentive. It was nice to not have to worry about battling with the reservation team as happens most of the time when these mishaps happen. The room was wonderful and clean, and the overall experience was one to be remembered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff, and appointments are some of the best in Charlotte, and rank in the top three Marriott's I have stayed worldwide. Nothing left to chance. Great facilities, the YMCA is across a skybridge, shopping downstairs, great sports bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
2,109 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $156 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing