We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but in heart of downtown.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive but in heart of downtown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

High rise hotel. Expensive but right in heart of downtown. Parking below hotel but for a fee. Everything costs extra, even the WiFi and the bottle of water. Why do the most expensive hotels nickel and dime you to death? What do they think they are - an airline? I would not be staying here were it not for the meetings being held here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    300
    119
    33
    21
See reviews for
119
170
37
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way through and enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great location and the amenities are newer. The staff, as you might expect, were very accommodating and nice. The decor needs a little updating but otherwise everything was great.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better, but this hotel is pretty quiet regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WolffieCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great business hotel in the center of Charlotte. The hotel has really nice conference facilities on the 2nd floor. The rooms are medium sized US hotel rooms. The beds are very comfortable. The bath rooms are small but relatively modern. They have a nice buffet breakfast and a starbucks off the main lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This Marriott is one of the nicer hotels in the chain from my experience - very helpful staff and the location cannot be beat. "Uptown" Charlotte is a hidden gem that doesn't get much love, but it is a great place with fine dining, entertainment and nightlife.

The rooms at this Marriott were very nice and recently re-modeled. The beds were very comfortable and the room decor was modern/chic.

The hotel restaurant (sports bar) had decent food and a good crowd surrounding the ACC Football Championship Game.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! Right in the heart of Charlotte, this is the perfect place to stay. I checked in late, the staff was really helpful. The bed was very comfortable, the view was amazing and the morning was quiet so I was able to sleep in. I started my day with room service, which was affordable and prompt. I wanted to explore the city and they called a towncar so it was waiting for me when I was ready to go. When I got back to the hotel I got in the pool and hot tub which had lights that changed the color of the water! I ended my night at their in house sports bar with a fun staff and great martini's. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great time in Charlotte.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisa-lisa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here at the Marriott uptown for 2 evenings.

The rooms themselves were a typical room, the kingsize bed we had was very comfortable with a duvet coverlet on it which was quite warm. The room was cool though during our stay. We ended up cranking the heat up to 74 in the room and it took a considerable number of hours to start to get warm. Eventually it did. The bath was updated, granite countertop with open style new current vanity. Had a curved shower curtain rod and iron bath tub. Lighting was good for the ladies to do their hair and makeup without any trouble. The TV was an HD LCD style and had Direct TV service so lots of channels to select from.

As any big central city hotel, you don't get anything for free anymore though - no free breakfast unless you are on one of the concierge floors (17 or 18), no free parking and no free internet. The last one got to me; charging $9.95 per day for internet service? Come on; at the cost of the rooms you can't afford to throw in internet? The hotel is a typical high-rise; no problem with that but the parking is under the hotel and very confined turning if you are one that is afraid of parking and driving close; better choose the valet parking! It will run you $12 a day per car too. The 2nd night we were there the hotel was sold out and they only permitted 1 car per room so if you have more than one they shuttle the car off to a remote location but still charge for parking.

We actually did stay on the concierge floor so did get to visit the lounge on the 18th floor for a drink and small snack in the evening and a nice breakfast in the morning. This was very nice; again no free alcoholic beverages but they do have a full service bar and the wine options were some very good wineries in my humble opinion.

We did not try the restaurants within the hotel, but there is a sports bar and a regular restaurant for your use if you wish. We did try the business center which is free to use and you can use one of their PCs there which are hooked up to a printer for your free internet use if you don’t like paying the daily charge. I used it for maps and restaurant suggestions. We did not use any of the other services offered; but each time we went by the front desk, they had some type of little snack out there on the counters – either chocolates, cakes, etc. for you to participate in if you wish while waiting or just passing by. Nice little touch.

Overall an enjoyable stay; and typical adders to your bill as with any downtown hotel, so don’t be surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I had a nice weekend getaway in Charlotte and stayed here . The rooms were updated, nice, and clean. All interaction with staff (phone calls prior to arrival and face contact at check-in) were positive.
The hotel itself was very nice. Some notes are self parking was $14 a night. The valet is $20 a night. The parking garage is under the hotel with an elevator to the lobby. I had no safety concerns.
There are a lot on ONE WAY streets in Charlotte and I think we passed by the hotel at least twice before we finally turned back on the correct street going the correct direction.
The hotel is in a great location. You can park your car and walk any where you want. We ate at the famous Chimas Brazillian Steak house for dinner, great food!
After dinner we relaxed in the indoor hot tub on the 5th floor. The hotel gym was very nice and popular.
I have no negatives about the room. Huge HD tv with swivel. Nice memory foam pillows and pillow top mattress. Awesome bathroom toiletries! I usual dont bother with toiletries because I bring my own, but they smelled so good I used them and took the rest of the bottle home. I would reccomend staying here with no hesitation. It is a couples, friend, and family getaway! Good Job Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAFRAGIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Property: Charlotte Marriott City Center
Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing