We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Typical good quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Typical good quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here at the Marriott uptown for 2 evenings.

The rooms themselves were a typical room, the kingsize bed we had was very comfortable with a duvet coverlet on it which was quite warm. The room was cool though during our stay. We ended up cranking the heat up to 74 in the room and it took a considerable number of hours to start to get warm. Eventually it did. The bath was updated, granite countertop with open style new current vanity. Had a curved shower curtain rod and iron bath tub. Lighting was good for the ladies to do their hair and makeup without any trouble. The TV was an HD LCD style and had Direct TV service so lots of channels to select from.

As any big central city hotel, you don't get anything for free anymore though - no free breakfast unless you are on one of the concierge floors (17 or 18), no free parking and no free internet. The last one got to me; charging $9.95 per day for internet service? Come on; at the cost of the rooms you can't afford to throw in internet? The hotel is a typical high-rise; no problem with that but the parking is under the hotel and very confined turning if you are one that is afraid of parking and driving close; better choose the valet parking! It will run you $12 a day per car too. The 2nd night we were there the hotel was sold out and they only permitted 1 car per room so if you have more than one they shuttle the car off to a remote location but still charge for parking.

We actually did stay on the concierge floor so did get to visit the lounge on the 18th floor for a drink and small snack in the evening and a nice breakfast in the morning. This was very nice; again no free alcoholic beverages but they do have a full service bar and the wine options were some very good wineries in my humble opinion.

We did not try the restaurants within the hotel, but there is a sports bar and a regular restaurant for your use if you wish. We did try the business center which is free to use and you can use one of their PCs there which are hooked up to a printer for your free internet use if you don’t like paying the daily charge. I used it for maps and restaurant suggestions. We did not use any of the other services offered; but each time we went by the front desk, they had some type of little snack out there on the counters – either chocolates, cakes, etc. for you to participate in if you wish while waiting or just passing by. Nice little touch.

Overall an enjoyable stay; and typical adders to your bill as with any downtown hotel, so don’t be surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    277
    112
    32
    20
See reviews for
103
160
33
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I had a nice weekend getaway in Charlotte and stayed here . The rooms were updated, nice, and clean. All interaction with staff (phone calls prior to arrival and face contact at check-in) were positive.
The hotel itself was very nice. Some notes are self parking was $14 a night. The valet is $20 a night. The parking garage is under the hotel with an elevator to the lobby. I had no safety concerns.
There are a lot on ONE WAY streets in Charlotte and I think we passed by the hotel at least twice before we finally turned back on the correct street going the correct direction.
The hotel is in a great location. You can park your car and walk any where you want. We ate at the famous Chimas Brazillian Steak house for dinner, great food!
After dinner we relaxed in the indoor hot tub on the 5th floor. The hotel gym was very nice and popular.
I have no negatives about the room. Huge HD tv with swivel. Nice memory foam pillows and pillow top mattress. Awesome bathroom toiletries! I usual dont bother with toiletries because I bring my own, but they smelled so good I used them and took the rest of the bottle home. I would reccomend staying here with no hesitation. It is a couples, friend, and family getaway! Good Job Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAFRAGIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was in town for my daughter's dance competition at the convention center. This hotel was only a few blocks away from where I spent most of my days...only about a 10 minute walk to the convention center which was perfect. The food the hotel restaurant/bar was pretty good ( burgers and fries)I only had breakfast in the restaurant which was good. Had the buffet which had good options as well as an omelette station price was reasonable for what you'd expect to pay for a breakfast buffet ($12-$15) at a hotel. There are also a lot of options within a few blocks walk if you want to save a couple of bucks and there's a Starbux in the adjoining bldg.

You can choose to valet or self-park. I chose to self park as I normally do it saves a bit and there's no waiting when you want your car AND this property had one the easiest garages of any property I've ever had to navigate. I've been in some hotel garages where I thought I would never find my way back to civilization again. It may sound small but that's a big thing with me.

Overall I would stay here again. Nice hotel for the price and location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goneinsixtyseconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and the hotel is always welcoming and the service is always by good. The rooms are very typical for a Marriott. It is a very good location in the heart of the business district. I enjoy Cutters, the cigar bar on the first floor. There is much nightlife and restaurants within an easy walking distance. There are higher end hotels, but the Marriott is always comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Center City over St. Patrick's Day weekend. Location is good, as you can walk to many things nearby. Bars and restaurants are close. Room size was ample, but bathrooms a little small. Restaurant Champions inside has good bar food. There is a nicer restaurant that we didn't visit. I'd stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I was supposed to stay at another hotel but it wasn't check in time and they didn't know when they would have rooms available. I had 3 hours to get breakfast, get dressed and go to my work event which was only 7 mins from the hotel, so I couldn't wait for a room. I called the Marriott and asked if they had rooms available to check into right away and was told yes. I was given a rate of $379, I explained to the reservation agent at the hotel ( who was not so nice) that I looked online on the website and was given a rate of $97/gov rate. She rudely insisted that it wasn't available. I proceeded to ask if room was available and she said yes, so I made my reservation at $97. When I arrived at the hotel they checked me in. The available room
Was near the vending machine so I asked to move and they said it would be ready later. So I got ready and asked for directions the front desk lady was not very helpful and was kind of cold. I was kind of worried about how my stay would be. So I went to my work event and returned. The front desk guys David and Stephen were great!! They suggested where to eat and how to get there. The suggestion they made was amazing!! Then when I noticed that bravo was not a channel offered they told me that it is available in the lobby so I got to watch my shows!! I was happy!! Thy went above and beyond and provided great customer service! The beds are comfy and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for the PINk concert...awesome location to time warner center, easy quick walk...a ton of places to eat ( unless the ST paddy pub crawl is on , then it's a nightmare to find somewhere that isn't packed)!!!! STaff were incredible!!! Easy on site self parking, our check in clerk was lovely enough to credit the parking charge as we were military...then when I got hom we come tofind a charge from the Champion sports bar at the hotel on our bill, which we didn't visit...called hotel, no questions asked the front desk clerk credited it back to me!! How awesome and helpful is that!! Room was super clean, plenty of room, bathroom lovely, comfortable bed with sheets and a duvet...will Definitely return if headed back to Charlotte!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#27 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Property: Charlotte Marriott City Center
Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing