We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Inn Charlotte
Ranked #151 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The first thing I noticed when entering the « lobby » was the protective glass and document slider for the clerk, which is always the sure sign of a good pawn shop. But wait, this wasn’t a pawn shop! Still, I had to give an ID with picture along with my credit card before paying. Then we went out in order to find someplace to eat, only to find that the closest thing to a restaurant in the area we scouted was the Burger King part of a gas station/convenience store/fast food combination (there was also a New England Seafood but I’m allergic to seafood so that one was out). To the defense of the hotel we searched only 10-12 minutes.

After a most refreshing meal which greatly helped raise our spirits, we braced ourselves for the exploration of our room. I had trouble with the door key but once inside I was pleasantly surprised by the smell : there was none. This was to be one of the only good points of this stay : the room does not smell bad. The beds (we had a two double beds room) were ok, although the pillows were uncomfortable. There were rips and holes in the bed sheets and drapes. Thinking of changing my sombering mood, I turned on the TV and Rambo : First Blood was on. This really helped me settle down nicely altough it didn’t help my girlfriend. Another feminine mystery.
There were multiple burn marks on the carpet and the sink mirror was stained with multiple brownish water stains. The towels and accessories were clean, as was the toilet, however we found a long black hair (neither mine’s nor my girlfriend’s – from the cleaner’s or the last occupant?) adorning it. There was mold on the side of the bathtub and to complete the picture the bathroom door was partially destroyed as if it had been kicked in. Oh and the shower controls were inexplicably complicated.
Luckily the breakfast was extraordinarily delicious – some Eggo waffles and cereals. The last thing worth mentionning is the friendly neighborhood in which the hotel is located. In the sunny morning things look much prettier than when we came in at night. The surrounding area seems poor but I think I would rather spend the rest of my life living in one of its houses than spend another night at this America’s Best Value Inn.

Avoid at all costs, unless in the middle of a nuclear holocaust.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

The owners were nice enough, but this motel is a dump. They advertise the rooms as being newly renovated. All they did was paint the walls. The bathroom was not cleaned! There was soap scum and dirt in the bathtub and the toilet has urine stains on the base of it. Not worth the cheap rate! Spend a few bucks more at another motel or hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erixs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Our family used this motel to coordinate air travel; it is convenient to the airport. Two separate stays required some last minute changes, and the managers were eager to accommodate us -- this is a family-run motel with a personal touch. The rooms are a bit threadbare, but the amenities compensate fully -- spacious rooms, effortless wireless connection, comfortable beds, microwave and fridge, and a nice little swimming pool. The grounds are lovingly cared for with gorgeous flowers all around. Our family wishes their family the best.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank SylvanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Hotel Clerk (Bob) gave welcoming treatment and was helpful in referring me to a good restaurant in the area. Capable, personable service. Breakfast is available, but very light. The trade off is you save dollars while getting a clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O-A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Sam and his staff are outstanding. I have been staying at this hotel during the work week since June 2008. The rooms are clean and they have FREE high speed wireless internet and HBO. The rooms I stay in have King sized beds, microwaves and refrigerators. I am in the military and my duty station is two hours from home. I use the America's Best Value Inn as a home-away-from-home, and the staff treats me excellently. They may treat me this way because I am in the Armed Forces or it may be because they have outstanding customer service. I like to think it is the latter. Kudos!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmiovech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

absolutely the worst hotel experience ever! went for the nascar race, only hotel that had rooms available. if i used the word disgusting that would be an understatement! there were burns from crack pipes all over the room. bathroom had blood spattered on the back of door! paint literally peeling off walls. a drug dealer followed me into the room and offered me drugs! i could keep going. i never knew places like this actually existed! DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nascar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2008
Thank LG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Charlotte

Address: 305 Archdale Dr, Charlotte, NC 28217-4212 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Charlotte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: $59 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Charlotte 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Budget Inn Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing