We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for Your Buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Lovely facility!! Super friendly staff! I'm a holiday inn employee and had stayed there using the employee rate and the front desk attendant STILL made me feel special :) Even allowed us to pick our room type! (King!! :D) Large, spacious rooms! And the televisions! EKK!! :) AMAZING! :D Our plan was to get up early but we ended up watching shows and wished we didn't have to leave! (ComFY Beds!!) It was funny, later on that night -3A.M- the fire alarms went off and everyone was evacuated! The staff was very cool and collective, directing us. I was grateful :) Encouraged to stay here!!
PS. The alarms went off over some silly person smoking, pfft.

Room Tip: Would recommend not staying on the highest floor, in case you ARE evacuated. That's a lot of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simply_Indefinitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Simply_Indefinitely,

Thank you for the amazing review about the Holiday Inn Charlotte University! We do our best to make every guest feel special when staying at our hotel. Glad we could accomodate you and hope you choose us in the future!

--Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 725 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 01.16- 01.19.14. The beds at this hotel were THE most comfortable beds. We were so thankful because they allowed for a great nights sleep. The hotel is modern, clean, and in a great location relative to UNCC. The staff was very kind, helpful, and professional.

I would say the restaurant is the only thing 'lacking' at this location. We ate breakfast there one morning. The buffet would compare to that of a free offering at the Holiday Inn Express, but here you were charged $12.95. We also ordered blueberry waffles off the menu, and I swear it was an Eggo-type heat/serve waffle for $8.95. Needless to say we didn't try again.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this location. I'm sure we will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The staff there is super friendly. Racheal and Kimberly are two of the freindliest and most help ladies in the hotel and they both make sure that their breakfast and dinner are always on point. I can't wait to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICUmgmt, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Kiehansen,

We are excited to hear you had an excellent stay with us! We will let Racheal and Kimberly know about your gracious comment. Looking forward to your next arrival!

-Holiday Inn Charlotte University Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've been staying here on Business for a few weeks and the lounge staff is amazing. After working all day they are easily the highlight of my day. The staff consists mainly of two awesome ladies, Alanna and T, that make sure anything you need is taken care of. These two ladies are the reason I come back here to stay.
The overall Hotel is clean and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear 68piper,
It is great to hear that our staff is one of the reasons you come back to our hotel. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University as your home away from home!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As part of a group staying there in November, we got the full look at the HI staff here, and they were sbsolutely top-flight start to finish. Any issues we had were addressed, from transporting us to a local mall (and the downtown arena) in groups, helping us with recommendations, answering questions and generally going the extra mile with anything we needed. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone heading to the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Tom M,
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that we could accomodate your group and that you had an excellent experience. Hope you choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for any future stays in Charlotte!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Business and traveling is part of our lives me and my husband. Before we came to Charlotte we were reading about some hotels in our area of preference so we decided on the holiday inn specially we heard it is newly renovated, we stayed in it few years ago it was an ok place. so this time was really different it was easy to notice the changes. i love the fresh feel of newly renovated hotels. very clean and comfy. but you would not like the place unless there is nice staff guess what all of them were nice and friendly.
the downstairs restaurant was perfect place to hold our meeting. calm, neat and comfortable. the staff were professional. what added to our pleasant experience in there is meeting the sean the restaurant director who made sure everything was good, very nice guy with great personality. Rarely you meet someone like that who knows his job and seems his enjoys what he is doing. very educated and modest. My husband was impressed with his knowledge on hotels and food business, we learnt several things from him during the short time we spoke to him.
room was nice and clean and the room service was good so no complains at all.
whenever we have trip to charlotte holiday inn at university will be our choice we wont be wasting time searching.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Lor M,
We are glad you decided to choose us here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for your stay. I will let all of the staff know, especially Sean, about the great review you've given us. We are excited that we will be your choice hotel when you come back to Charlotte and can't wait to see you in the future!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Freshly renovated,clean, moderne with a boutique feel.it really amazed me knowing that I've stayed here before, it's just like I've walked to a brand new hotel!!! What a nice transformation.

PROS:
Always clean and welcoming.
Free succulant breakfast in the concierge with heavy hors d'oeuvres every evening, very suitable for supper. Tasty and fresh.

Restaurant and concierge lounge crew very friendly and work hard to go the extra mile to make us feel at home. exceptionally treat each customer respectfully.
Restaurant Manager is also someone I can't say enough good about. he stopped by our table many times to check on us he just made us feel so special.

CONS:
Having been here over a dozen times in the past two years, I can't think of any. Even if I were able to, they are far outweighed by the beautiful facility, excellent value for the price, and professional yet personal attention to all guests and their individual needs. This hotel would really have to mess up big-time to drop even slightly from 5 stars.

THANK YOU, Sean and Carolyn for consistently superior value. This hotel is like the Chick-Fil-A of fast food, the harris teeter of supermarkets, and the Apple of electronics. Slightly higher in price but unsurpassed in value and customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Diane H,
This is an amazing review you've given us, and for that I Thank You! I'm glad to hear that we've exceeded your expectations and that you love our newly renovated hotel. I will make sure all of the staff knows how highly you spoke of each and every one of them and I'm sure they will be just as excited as I am about your review. We hope that you continue to choose the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for any future stay if you are in the area and are looking forward to it!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing