We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two months at this hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Moved from California to Charlotte this year. This hotel was our home for over two months. We arrived during renovations and were able to witness the transformation of the hotel. It is gorgeous! We were treated as family by ALL the employees. As a Platinum Member, I had access to the Concierge Room for breakfast and an evening reception which were fantastic, specially on Wednesdays. Front Desk employees Janet, Naomi and Carolyn, Concierge employees Lisa and Kim, Stephanie. Manager Brent, Manager Debra. Driver Kyle. Again, all deserve praise. We felt at home. The Valle Family

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rodolfo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Rodolfo V,
We are glad that we became your home and you were able to witness the great transformation of the Holiday Inn Charlotte University. I will personally let all the employees know about the amazing review you've given us. We look forward to any future reservations you will have with us and hope to see you soon!
-Anthony White, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 719 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

I normally stay anytime I'm in Charlotte for business. My most recent trip, I thought that I stepped in a completely different hotel. It is beautiful! And it's also a plus to see such a friendly staff who have learned who you are and care about your stay at the hotel. I can't wait to come back very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sarah W,
It is exciting to hear that you can't wait to come back to the hotel! We value every guest here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University and are glad to personalize each experience they have. We are looking forward to your future stays!
Sincerely,
Anthony White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great conference rooms, personnel, catering and everything you need to make your event extra special. This hotel has been totally remodeled and it is not your "typical" Holiday Inn. The service and the staff are exceptional. Would highly recommend for your next conference meeting. Their food was really well prepared, delivery was organized and presentation of the meal was excellent. Thank you for making our day a success!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Linda B J,
We are glad to hear your day was a success! We Thank You for your wonderful review and appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Charlotte University for your event and hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a block of rooms for 2-3 days for my daughters wedding. The staff was professional friendly and very helpful the breakfast buffet was very good all of ourwedding group loved everything about their stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettinasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Bettinasmith,

We appreciate the wonderful comments and are glad everyone loved their stay! I will gladly pass it on to the staff how great of an experience everyone had and hope you return for any future stays here at the Holiday Inn Charlotte University!

Sincerely,

Anthony White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here on business, as I usually do 3-4 times a year. The renovations are almost fully complete and the hotel is really nice. Now, they have a new entrance and new elevators, along with many little perks. Customer service was above par, as usual, which always makes me feel at home. The renovated room was first class, and it was good to get away from home for just a night and enjoy all the amenities. The next morning, breakfast was wonderful, as usual and really started off my day right. I want to thank all the staff and management for making this my home away from home. I look forward to returning very soon. Please stay here if possible- you won't regret it. All the best my fellow readers...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeL108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Luke L,

We are glad to hear that we've made the Holiday Inn Charlotte University your home away from home. I will personally let my staff know about your gracious comments. I am excited to say that our renovations are fully completed so we hope you will return soon to see them!

Sincerely,

Anthony White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here using rewards points but if paying would have stayed elsewhere. Don't get me wrong, we were comfortable and the staff was very friendly but there were two things that turned me off. First, the hotel was under renovation (and there wasn't a sign telling me that) so the lobby appeared in a state of disarray and dust. Second, they were charging $9.99 for a breakfast that is normally included in the price of a room at most other chains. We skipped the breakfast and ate at the Chikfila around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear 32Romeo,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are delighted to read you found the rooms clean and comfortable. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel staff was very hospitable. Eunice ROCKS! She was always greeting us with a smile, and was very helpful with letting us know places to eat and go for site seeing during the day. Breakfast was good every day. We were here for a church conference. The hotel is undergoing renovations, but the stay was still very nice. The beds are extremely comfortable. I wish there were vending machines for snacks. We ended up going to Walgreens and getting snacks for the week. That was actually cheaper to do. It was great having a fridge and microwave in the rooms.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Lisa J,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay! I will personally make sure that Eunice receives this great compliment you left her and we hope you return soon to the Holiday Inn Charlotte University!

Sincerely,

Anthony White
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn University Place
#52 of 178 in Charlotte
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $104 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing