We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These folks simply didn't care. I was left on the street.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“These folks simply didn't care. I was left on the street.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

That management team wasn't helpful at all.

I booked and paid for a "tonight only" discounted room on Priceline. As it turned out, I double booked myself in error at two different hotels for the same date, 10/3/2012 without realizing it. I showed up to check in and was told there was no reservation by the front counter clerk. And when I retrieved my confirmation email from my cell phone, I realized the mistake and asked if there was anything she could do. She said, "no, our system shows that the room was paid for by Priceline" and they wouldn't offer any form of discount, or refund, or comp a room for me even though I actually had never even stayed there.

I called Priceline and they told me about their no refund policy, but said it was up to the hotel whether or not they could help accommodate me considering my circumstances. The Priceline Customer Relations rep even spoke with the Holiday Inn front counter person at the hotel and they simply would not budge.

Although the booking error was my fault, I was really shockingly surprised that the hotel offered no assistance in trying to help accommodate me and basically just pocketed my money and basically said, "Thanks, now beat it dummy!"

I am done with that Holiday Inn and I caution anyone about staying there. Ultimately, I got a comfortable room at the neighboring Courtyard Inn. Ironically, the same deal I purchased on Priceline for the Holiday Inn was offered AGAIN the day I was turned away.

Holiday Inn is dead to me. They just got the last dollar from me they ever will. Their slogan used to be "The best surprise is no surprise". That's a laugh I'm not surprised they dropped it. They are full of surprises.

I give them a big fat zero on providing any level of valuing their customers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dbhart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear dbhart5,

I appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

When booking through 3rd parties such as Priceline, certain restrictions apply to this type of reservation, and as such, we are unable to make any changes or modifications or issue any refunds at a hotel level. In order to get a refund for your reservation you will need to contact Priceline directly.

To ensure the hotel is able to help you, it is best to book directly through us.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    133
    43
    22
    23
See reviews for
160
65
45
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I absolutely enjoyed my stay here. Each and every staff member was polite, courteous, and professional. From check in with Naomi, the manager's reception with Barbara, a few cocktails and dinner with Jessie, breakfast with Michael and a host of other staff that I encountered during my stay. I wish there were a king bed in the room, but with the outstanding service I received made my stay very pleasant.

Thank you,
Deanna B.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

hotel is being renovated and the new rooms look amazing. There are also lots of bars within walking distance and it's close to verizon. Great value! I'm coming back next month and I am thrilled to check out new places nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I I arrived at hotel early at 12:37pm. I had to wait a few moments to have a clerk help. I asked to check in early she said no after letting the person in front of me check in. I had to wait until 2 pm to check in. Even then she said they may not have a room ready.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear TexasGee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at check-in. Rest assured that this matter will be looked into and will take actions accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Charlotte.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent the night here Saturday night while attending a concert at the nearby Verizon Wireless Amphitheater (which i need to add as an attraction, my review of that will not be so kind).

Hotel has a nice lobby, bar, restaurant area downstairs. We were greeted very warmly at the front counter and recognized for being members of the hotels reward program. They couldn't upgrade our room so they gave us a free breakfast for two sunday morning which was one of those it wasn't necessary things that make you come back to a place.

Hotel was very clean and the room quite comfortable with a microwave, refrigerator and newer AC/Heater control unit. Desk and chair also included. TV was a bit "older" as so many are upgrading to larger flat screens but that's not a big deal to me really.

Place is a little to hard to find but has ample parking and all in all is a nice property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwbunger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my first time visiting this hotel and I was astounded by the great service i was given! First, Mary & Naomi were completely excellent. They deserve a raise, no doubt. The water with the fruit in it at the front desk was a great idea. Never seen that before. Then my daughter left her blanket that she had since 3 months in the room and they recovered it safe and sound. Excellent service, hands down! A.j. Alston (Savannah,GA.)

Room Tip: Go through hotels.com!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed last week at this beautiful property, and was totally impressed with every little detail. The property itself was gorgeous, and in a GREAT location- across from shopping/restaraunts/etc. Check in with Mark was ABOVE PAR, as well as with Jane. I felt so welcomed, as the front desk staff ALWAYS remembered my name, and were totally friendly every single time I walked by. The room was very spacious, everything was maintained and worked properly, and it had ALL I could have asked for. To be honest, I didn't even want to leave my room, because it was so comfy, but I had to tour Charlotte! That evening, I had cocktails at the bar/restaraunt which were made even greater by the company of Joseph, the bartender, and Al, his manager. Funny guys! The very next morning, I ate a delicious breakfast, even getting seconds at their amazing hot buffet! Shala, Stephen, and Lynne made sure to take excellent care of me! I recommend you stay here ANYTIME, and know that I will surely return, every chance I get. It's not often that you are treated as if you are the only person staying at a hotel, but that's just how I felt. (Kind of like a celebrity.) Exceptional people, plush room, great time, and an awesome meal... What more could you ask for? Talk about a home away from home? Well, I finally found it. Thanks Holiday Inn Charlotte- University Place... I miss you, but I shall return! Anyone reading this, I hope I gave you some insight, as you do not want to miss out on this tremendous hotel! Family, business, pleasure, STAY HERE! A+++
Truly Yours,

Mr. Leng

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Charlotte University Place
16.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
7.5 mi away
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte - South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Property: Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
Address: 8520 University Exec Park Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing