We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Charlotte University Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #19 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Hilton University Place Charlotte while in town for a concert, the staff was very professional and courteous. The room was clean and fresh, we would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Reggie H,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations and were all very professional and courteous. Our hotel is centrally located for local concerts in the area, as well as in close vicinity to uptown Charlotte. We look forward to you choosing the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    348
    132
    70
    33
See reviews for
293
236
72
689
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Charlotte Hilton University, once again, as part of an annual 3-day conference for about 200 people. It is currently undergoing some very unobtrusive renovation, making a very nice facility even better. The rooms are comfortable, very quiet and well appointed. They seem to be trying to outdo everyone else with luxury bedding. The upgrade to the Executive levels was well worth the $10/day per room up charge, if it is available, as the very good, more-than-continental breakfast in the Executive Lounge even for one person is worth that, not to mention the evening appetizers and beverages, all part of the price. What has struck me each year we've attended this session is the quality of the hotel staff, at every position. I have yet to encounter even one that was not professional, very helpful and generally cheery. The hotel's care in hiring and training is obvious, consistent and much appreciated. I was especially pleased this time with the outside bell staff that greets guests in the driveway. One particularly kind young bellman noticed the difficulty my wife has in walking, and he very smoothly gave her his arm, and the kind of attention I just know he would give his grandmother. Delightful. The meeting rooms were fine, but the food and service at breaks and buffet lunch were better than expected, as was the food quality and pricing in the restaurant. Try the sweet potato fries and the crab cakes! Yes, the view of the small lake with water sprays, and two pure white swans, made meals there even more enjoyable in daylight hours. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that our staff met and exceeded your expectations. I was glad to hear that our bellmen went above and beyond to assist your wife in getting out of the car as well. As you know, we are still in the process of renovating our property to offer a better product for our guests. In continuing in that effort, we also had the maintenance work done on the outside windows as well.

Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. We were also glad to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience in our Lakefront Restaurant! I agree that the crab cakes and sweet potato fries are amazing! Hats off to our culinary team!!

It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

The renovation is "first class"------the fitness center is by far one of the best in the industry and restaurants are awesome. Clean rooms and facilities to incude an updated fitness center. The evening bar are staffed well and the restaurants have great food with great service. Yevette Mendez at the front desk is superb. Courteous, polite, caring and professional-----You are welcomed and feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for your feedback from my Departure Email. We were glad to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations, especially to Yvette. I will be sure to let her Manager and Supervisors know what a great job she is doing at the Front Desk.

Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This time we took the family to Concord Mills Mall, they have an aquarium now, so we took the kids and did a little shopping. And once again the hotel staff was wonderful and the new look of the rooms and decor was really impressive.
Thank God for their Guest Manager, Marietta Bryan, she is full of surprises and blessed us with restaurant vouchers and fun facts.
The area in that region is just exploding, thank you! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Jay D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms and that you and your family enjoyed the new Sea Life Aquarium at Concord Mills. I was glad that you enjoyed the restaurant coupons and recommendations I gave you. We look forward to you choosing the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location. Hope to see you and your family again soon.

With Warm Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Was at the hotel for a conference. From the front desk check in with Heather to check out with Heather - our experience was very pleasant. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel (staff) were very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, the meeting rooms are comfortable and our breaks/meals were tasty. If I had to say anything negative, I would note that the elevators weren't all working which created a back-up in the lobby. Not really a big deal though. We managed and everyone got where they needed to be.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear KEAE,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that our staff met and exceeded your expectations, especially our Front Desk Agent, Heather. She is definitely one of our shining stars at the front desk. Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We arrived early for a conference on Monday and the staff very graciously let us into our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating while we were there for the conference. The rooms were comfortable and appeared to have been recently refreshed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that our staff met and exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Attended Kiwanis Carolinas District Convention here Aug 23-25.Our Valet was Bernard and he was very patient with us as we arrived early before the rooms were ready. Parked all our stuff in a closed room and brought it up when our room was ready.

Room was on the top floor and had a decent view. Being recently remodeled, it was very comfortable. Also had free Wifi, small refrigerator, and safe.
.
The meeting rooms were good and everything went smoothly. They could have opened up the downstairs smoking area off a room to the left as you exited the hotel. Look forward to coming back here again in the future!

Room Tip: The top floors (11 & 12) come with some amenities other rooms don't have. One is the free ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald_Rubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Ronald Rubin,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated room and that our staff met and exceeded your expectations. Hats off to Bernard, our Bellman/Valet for going above and beyond to deliver you excellent customer service. Our staff strives to go above and beyond and to give our guests the "wow" experience. It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Property: Hilton Charlotte University Place
Address: 8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing