We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best hotel ever!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

As a consultant who stays 3 nights at a hotel every week, I have stayed at various Hilton properties in the last 7 years. This one by far is the best! I especially love the executive lounge on the 11th floor: food and beverage are great, staff is friendly and service is the brilliant. I have been most impressed by Edith who works in the evenings. She is the most caring and thoughtful person and she always takes great care of us. I have recommended this hotel to many of my colleagues and it has been very well liked. If you ever come to Charlotte, this is the best hotel that you do not want to miss!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetobeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Lovetobeontheroad,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We were delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. We were also glad to hear that Edith in our Executive Lounge took good care of you week after week. Thank you for referring our hotel to your colleagues. That speaks volumes to our Upper Management Team. We look forward to serving you and your colleagues again in the near future.

With Warm Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    377
    141
    78
    36
See reviews for
326
251
76
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I think 1 star is too high. If you're forced to stay at this hotel, I would not under any circumstances use the valet parking. They left my car doors unlocked which allowed a thief to access my trunk. They declined to make it right despite admitting their failure. Trust me: They're more worried about corporate policy than their customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcgambrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Gambrell,

I am writing in response to the feedback you provided regarding the circumstances surrounding your valet incident. In no way do we intend on any of our guests leaving our property with the impression that no one cares about their concerns. However, as reiterated to you, the hotel is not responsible for items missing from any car regardless if a guest retains our valet service or self parks in our parking lot. In a recent phone discussion with you, we have offered a resolution and are awaiting your response.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Love the concierge lounge and the hotel has very nice rooms with great flat screen TVs. Not too far from Charlotte and I have even stayed here when working in Mooresville. It's worth the extra drive for a full service Hilton hotel with a full restaurant. The breakfast is excellent too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LanierTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Lanier Tiger,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at the Hilton Charlotte University Place. We are glad to hear that our location is conveniently located to your work and that you enjoyed the breakfast in our Lakefront Restaurant. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to you choosing to make the Hilton Charlotte University Place your "must stay" location.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great hotel, Great location but the best part is the people who work there! Erin Brown is the best ever at details and making sure a conference goes off great!
Service staff all the way up to Regional managers are the nicest you will ever find!

Room Tip: Top floors have been renovated...ask according to whether you want new carpet smell or prefer non u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear ddowning,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that your conference was a huge success! I have shared with Upper Management what a wonderful job Erin Brown has done, as well as the Banquets Team and Culinary Staff, who also played a huge role in putting your conference together. We look forward to hosting your next conference in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Outstanding Hilton property! Bar, restaurant, pool, restaurants close by, hospital accross the street and less than 3 miles from the ampitheatre. Staff helpful, rooms large and extremely clean and beds VERY comfortable. 1/2 mile, if that, right off I-85.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IUandTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear IUandTerp,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. We were delighted to hear that our location is conveniently located off of Hwy 1-85, and close to the ampitheatre and surrounding shops and restaurants. We appreciate you letting others know what a wonderful property we have and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Friendly, close to everything in the area. Clean comfy rooms . Kind, helpful staff. From making the reservation, to asking for directions, this staff goes above and beyond to please. Even the amenities for the bathroom were outstanding and the coffe was top quality

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweinuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sweinuen,

Thank you for providing us your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to offer excellent customer service. We were also glad that you enjoyed the amenities in the room and that our location was close to many shops and restaurants. We strive to give each guest the Ultimate Stay Experience and we are so glad that you felt every team member went above and beyond to deliver quality service to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Very truly yours,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great staff, nice rooms, good location. I have been going to the same convention at this hotel for several years and every year I am surprised at how patient and kind the staff is under the most difficult of circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. Our staff is passionate about serving and they do go above and beyond. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to Upper Management

It is our goal that every guest has the Ultimate Stay Experience and hope that you continue to choose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location. We look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
The Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#44 of 178 in Charlotte
2,003 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Property: Hilton Charlotte University Place
Address: 8629 J M Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-8426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing